We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel and service you can get in Sanur!!!”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best hotel and service you can get in Sanur!!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2009

If you decide to stay at the Griya, you should book one of the Suites. They are fabulous and the price-quality is very good! The staff is very friendly and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machapuchare01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    532
    131
    44
    15
See reviews for
384
765
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Griya Santrian is a great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Lots of great restaurant's to eat at close by! I have stayed at the Puri Santrian, but i think Griya is much nicer, and is a better location. The room was okay a bit tired but clean,service can be a bit slow other than that every thing else was great! A great little place to eat at is the kaya Manis, down at the cross roads near The Mango Bar and bbq, JLTandakanNo 6.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suthowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

My partner & I recently stayed 8 nights at the Griya Santrian. I was worried initially before arrival, due to the fact that they could not confirm we would receive a room with double bed (subject to availability upon arrival). However when I mentioned it was our anniversary, they were sure to upgrade us upon arrival from a garden wing room to a beach wing room. Although the beach wing room was part of the only wing that is not rennovated or newley built at the griya, its size & cleanliness were second to none. The room was so close to the pool & beach and the beach wing is by far the best location in our opinion througout the hotel (as well as the deluxe beach wing- new wing). The hotel is also in a great location, with the beachfront restaurants & the markets only a 2min walk away. The Griya is definitely the best standard beachfront hotel closest to the restaurants/market of sanur. The customer service was amazing. nothing was too hard or a problem for the staff at the griya. Our opinion of the griya was reflected greatly by the number of return guests staying at the hotel & the praises often heard around the hotel. We are planning on joininng the long list of return guests & returning ourselves next year! Our sincere thanks to the griya and the staff for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NabLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The hotel's location by the sea is perfect--beautiful, relaxing, and calm water that is great for kids. The 5 min walk to town makes it easy to eat at a multitude of places, change money, get transport, buy water and drinks and more. The facilities were well kept and high class, and the food offerings were quite decent, and very reasonably priced. In fact, surprisingly, the food and drink prices, transport costs, and exchange rates offered at the hotel were not substantially marked up, and in many cases were the same as outside the hotel.

So basically all of the physical offerings at the hotel were really top-notch--clearly designed by someone(s) that cared about offering a nice product. But as for the service, that's another story. The staff lounge around, and will rarely be there without being called first. In the evenings, they enjoy themselves--watching TV at the bar or perhaps taking in the ambiance of the poolside as they lounge in the chairs--making the most noise out of anyone. Ordering food and getting your food can take an eternity. With a completely empty restaurant, getting a main course delivered took 40 minutes. Getting a smile or greeting is a rarity. And to top it off, my 2 1/2 year old was yelled at, and I mean really yelled at, for splashing water on the pool bar counter that runs along side the BABY pool, not more than 4 inches above the surface of the water. And after the barman yelled at my boy and then turned to me, 30 meters away, and yelled for me to tell my child to stop. Sheez! Oh yes, and don't dare get out of the pool and sit at one of the tables that are not more than 4 feet from the water--you'll be barked at for getting the seats wet!

After a few days, it was apparent that the place was geared mostly for cocktail-sipping, pool-lounging, sun-soaking, advanced-age European guests that would never be seen doing strokes in the pool. And kids were not the norm.

So bottom line is, if you have a family and you love swimming, the offerings in Kuta are probably better. If you are traveling without kids, and lounging around and reading a book are your thing, this place is probably for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tongalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portishead
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed here for 2 weeks and loved it. We stayed in the superior room near the bar pool and were really impressed. The room was very modern - huge bed, great bathroom and massive walk-in shower room. Cleaned every day really efficiently.

The grounds were really impressive and very well kept - choice of 3 pools and right on a great sandy beach. The food was good if slightly more expensive than the beach cafes nearby and the restaurants in the main town.

The staff were really friendly and we booked the bike ride round the rice fields which was an experience cycling down the busy roads - but the guide was fab and took is to lots of local sites.

Sanur was great for a honeymoon as it was fairly quiet but there were lots of great places to eat and go for cocktails etc.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portisheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We stayed for 6 nights in October for our honeymoon. We booked the suite, and couldnt fault it. It was absolutely wonderful! The location is great, dont expect a heap of shopping, but restaurants are great and griya is very centrally located, only a short walk from hardys which is handy.
Pools are beautiful, very clean, we had no trouble finding chairs for the pools when we were there. Beach is not fantastic, but just being and looking at the beach was nice. Very quiet at night. breakfast was also very good.
I would highly recommend for a relaxing holiday!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed in one of the garden rooms at the back of the hotel. I thought that as they were at the cheaper end of the budget that they would not be so nice!! They were beautiful and peaceful and brilliant for the kids because there is a small pool close and you can sit and watch them from your cottage. The staff are really friendly and professional, the Manager really cares. I had two reflexology massages at poolside and for less than £10 what a relaxing experience!! We ate out most of the time and all the restaurants are very cheap and pure healthy eating!! I went with my 8 yr old daughter and 20 yr son and both were very well catered for in Sanur. My son went into Kuta a couple of times with local boys and really enjoyed the club scene. I can recommend the river rafting, a fun experience even for my daughter. We use to local drivers for day trips around the Island.
You should pay around 500000ir for the whole day which is about £40. One guide said he would take us for the whole day but brought us back around 2!! Also unless you say they may take you places where they are obviously getting a commission on so if you dont want to go say from the outset!! Although it was great for me they like to take you to Silver galleries, art galleries etc.
Also on the beach to the right make sure you know up front what to pay for the pedicure and nails as i paid well over the odds on the first day as i was slightly green!! They will insist that you have them done there and then and you wont understand the exchange properly. I paid 280000 each for my daughter and i !! Some Australians said they paid just 80000!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel, the gardens are beautiful, the carvings are spectacular and the pools are clean. The sea is very warm but not always great to swim in.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank juliehug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing