We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“TOPS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“TOPS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I changed our hotel to Griya - best decision. We stayed in a deluxe room near the beach and I walked around the hotel with a big grin for the week taking in everything. I dont think the photos do justice to the place.
The best part about the hotel is having breakfast on the beach - unbelievable, bintangs on the big lounges near the beach, cocktails in the pool bar, the excellent service from all the staff, position of the hotel and being the best hotel to stay in Sanur.
We ate at the hotel, Mona Lisa, Bonsai (on the beach), Pregina Warung, Cafe Smorgas and the Village.
The best Spa place is the pink shop called Natande Spa opposite Hardys.
We will definetely be coming back to Griya.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    502
    127
    42
    13
See reviews for
359
710
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

My friend and I travelled to Bali on the 5th Jan my 6th trip her 1st we book the Griya because it was on the beach and not to big (I have stayed at the Mercure-and enjoy that too) on arriving it was night so only formed an impression while dark but very satified with our room- we had read some negative reports - but we were happy we stay at the Griya for 14days the staff were fantastic the service was great the retaraunts and pools were great if anyone is going to bali Sanur I dont reckon you could go wrong with this hotel while there we had a look at other hotels the Griya still came up trumps in our eyes

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janCarnarvonwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Lovely hotel, we stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms which was close to the pool, it was very spacious, airconditioning was brilliant and decor was very trendy.

The service was great also along with te internet service.

Only bad part was that they didn't include breakfast at a"reasonable" cost - You could have it, but it was way over priced. It was far cheaper to walk out the front and wander along the beach or the back road to find something to eat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Pros:
Griya is beachfront and has a good beach area with ample beach chairs right in front.
The lounge area on the beach board walk is great for a sundowner
The gardens are lush and well kept. Rather attractive by day or night
There are three well kept pools so you can choose the busy pool or stay by a quiet one at the back.
Rooms are very clean.
Free Wifi
Breakfast is excellent, so are the cocktails ;)
There is a good selection of restaurants, bars, cafes, shops, services all within a short walking distance

Cons:
The rooms are quite dark, and you need to have a light on during the day. If you are on the ground floor people can easily see in unless you close yourself in with the block out curtains.
Service is a little on the slow side, during happy hour we waited 25 minutes for our drinks, we needed towels once for the transit room shower and it took about the same amount of time. The transit shower needs a major overhaul, but at least they have one.
Staff are friendly enough, but not as friendly as we've come across in other places in Bali.
We booked a beach wing room, and ended up three rooms back from the beach which is great, but we were also very close to the pool bar and one night they had a band playing until 11, we complained and i think a few others did too, as they stopped at 10.15.
We were there in the lead up until New Years Eve, and they were planning some massive (compulsory) gala dinner. In the days leading up they had built a quite an amazing scene in a large hall of flying gods, temple settings etc. but they had music and band rehearsals and i really felt sorry for the people with rooms right nearby. You could tell they were exasperated.
The large pool had a bit of a "Club Med" feel, which isn't my style. It seemed there were quite a few regulars who knew each other and stayed there many times (so many must like the hotel), I usually went to a rear pools which was good as often I was the only one.


Overall the hotel is quite ok, I think if i wasn't there in the period leading to new years I would have had a much better experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed at the Griya Santrian for the 1st time (but not the last) with 5 friends early Dec 2010 and had a great time.Having been to Bali many, many times over the years I can honestly say that the Griya Santrian was a pleasant surprise.

Had a Deluxe Room on the Ground Floor which was maybe 25 metres or so from the pool/beach/restaurant so that worked out well.The room itself could not be faulted.The best thing about it was the typically firm mattress (which I love) and the very efficient aircon which toiled away without complaint keeping me at a very comfortable 18C.

Gardens as mentioned by others here were immaculate.The staff were all very efficient and friendly and always ready for a greeting especially if you give them a smile and a "Selamat Pagi" or an "Apa Kabar".

Breakfast was very nice and more than adequate in choice.Just sit there beachside and look out over the ocean and remind yourself every now and then how lucky you are to be experiencing such a wonderful place!

Free internet in the hotel lounge area (just past the reception desk) is a godsend for those who need to check their emails and keep abreast of the happenings at home.They only have 2 terminals and you might have to wait 15-20 minutes but hey,don't forget,you're on holidays so you have plenty of time don't you?

The hotel restaurant was quite good and reasonably priced considering some hotel restaurants reputations.We only ate there the 1st night as we got in somewhat late and were a bit tired so decided the easy option was to eat-in this one time.Meal was delicious and competitively priced.From memory,entree,main meal plus 2 (or was it 3?) beers and it only cost me about 11 or 12 Aust Dollars.Eating out is an absolute delight.There's loads of restaurants outside on the main drag (both left and right) which cater to most tastes,quality is 1st rate and they're all cheap as chips! Shopping,bars and massage places abound at very reasonable prices.Beers are about 14,000 to 15,000 rupiah and a typical 1 hour Balinese massage about 50,000 rupiah (some places as low as 40K and as high as 100K).

At the outside border of the hotel beachside you will find the boardwalk (or "the footpath" as I called it) which goes along for miles.If you don't want to walk to the main drag to eat out you could just walk along the boardwalk as there's loads of restaurants here as well.All top quality and low prices.For those of you who don't want to add on the "breakfast included" surcharge when you book your holiday,there's a little place a couple of hundred metres down the boardwalk that has an "all you can eat" breakfast for 50,00 rupiah. Seriously,we're only talking about 5 or 6 dollars here! Down a short way from the hotel (still on the boardwalk) you will find a heap of market stalls where you can barter for the usual tee-shirts,shorts,singlets,dresses,hats,jewellry,shoes and so on.All the stuff you find in Kuta but without the noise,congestion,heat and most importantly the hassles.Prices are competive,if not cheaper,with those in Kuta.

For those who want a bit of adventure without travelling too far away from the hotel there's kayaking,jet skis,scuba diving and sailboat rides 50 metres away on the beach.The guys on the beach will of course ask you if you want to do this or do that but we found that if you were polite in saying "no thanks" that they respected your decision and left you alone.That's not to say they wouldn't ask you again tomorrow though.If the surf break is working the sailboat guy will ride the wave for you so just hope it is working when you go there.Great fun!

All and all the Griya Santrian is,in my humble opinion,the perfect place to base yourself if you're going to Bali and you want a relaxing type of holiday or if you love Bali but have had a "gutful" of Kuta.Everything you need is at Sanur and everything you need in a hotel is at the Griya Santrian.Refreshingly,Sanur and the Griya Santrian reminded me that yes,I was indeed in Bali and loving every minute of it! Thoroughly recommend the Griya Santrian if you're after a change of pace and a relaxing time in Bali. I for one,will definately be back here sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bazwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

My partner stayed in Beach room for week at Griya Santrian. It was a great place 17 years ago and glad I went back.. The rooms are roomy and have everything you need, and a great price, especially in off-peak..
3 pools to choose from to suit your mood, with the best pool bar around and all the staff are friendly and are helpful in all ways.
The rooms all are housed around peaceful gardens, and plenty of places to get some sun..
Can't find a bad word..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We will definitely stay here again, had a deluxe room 29 steps from the pool. We just relaxed, shopped, read, swam - the hardest thing we had to decide each day was "where do we have dinner!' Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Southall Travel, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing