We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better places for this price!”
Review of Sanur House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanur House
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There are much better places for this price!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

There are 2 Rita in Sanur. One on Bumy Auy, where I stayed. Beautiful villa for 250 IDR per night. Air con, hot water, but:
1) Old and grey color sheet=cannot see is it really clean or not (was replaced by another same :(,
2) Blanket was without cover - everybody use it - it is not hygiene...
2) toilet a bit broken,
3) shower hose was leaking here and there, while use
4) bath tube in a condition that you would not have a wish to stay there without slippers (or similar shoes).
5) I have never seen so many mosquitoes anywhere else in Sanur.(I have been 18 days in Sanur)
6) There is a kitchen with gas stove, but no facilities provided. We were advised to buy in supermarket everything from plates to boiling pot..
7) Location is not excellent - you have to go about 15 minutes to get to the beach, but ok to get to nearest restaurants and shops.
All of these are acceptable, EXCLUDING construction site just behind this villa № 4 and near by villa (I guess № 3). People were working there from 8am to about 7:30 pm... You really cannot stay inside the room... we were so tired and slept in the first day, but second day was too much....
By request to return money back and go out (we payed 3 nights, but planned to stay there more than 2 weeks... we are lucky that decided to pre-pay only 3 nights) - the owner pointed out to the contract, where it says 50% fees for cancellation...(he got out of the room withing 70 seconds as it was impossible to keep conversation because of the noise).... however he offered nearby room for 200IDR without hot water..
All things are same, excluding, that construction site was a bit far, but road was near by - quite noisy, especially at night, when everything is quite around. This road is active at night as it is the only road which connects main beach road with bypass road withing about 2 km around this place...
Resume:
You cannot get out without loosing money. Do not pay in advance (they are not asking you to pay for all nights, when you move in - use this option).
Rooms are dirty, bed in poor condition and quite small, not so good mattress, shower/toilet in poor condition, much more mosquitoes then in other hotels in Sanur, construction site or quite busy road just near by, no kitchen facilities in spite of there is a kitchen.

Yes, I have seen all this stuff around when I moved in, but construction site probably had got a lunch break, when I signed the contract :(

There is another Rita close to Hardys supermarket - I haven't been there, but there is a big construction site, which were active even at 9pm (every day I was walking around). I still would not recommend you to go there.

Answer to review "you get what you pay for": here (-8.685386,115.262502) you will pay 125 IDR for similar room. Also, somewhere there you can find a room with free wifi for 200IDR with hot water and air con.
I stayed in other hotel for the rest of my holidays (Semarandana), a bit more expensive, but MUCH better (check my review).

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel (either on bumi auy or Danau Tamblingan road) until at least 2015 when next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
30
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

RITA HOME STAY
This venue is pretty with a marvellous balinese garden. I stayed there also 3 years ago, the staff is ok, but rooms' upkeep is quite absent: walls partially ruined, often broken toilets. It's pretty bad. Breakfast pancakes are almost inedible and there's little fruit and 2 slices of bread. Last but not least, if you want an extra cup of coffee you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aridius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The only positives about the location - quite central, aircon and the garden setting outside.

I paid 250 IDR per night and there was no toilet paper or towels or sheets. There was nobody there to ask for these items. The room was dusty and dirty. No hot water.

I met people who stayed at better places for a little more or even the same price.

The owner was quite unfriendly and wanted me to pay on the spot as I checked in which was quite strange!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Marika_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The place and room was clean and fresh but many other things could be much more better, for example hot water or drain in the bathroom were not running well, do not expect a luxurious place or excellent service, we had to ask daily for toilet paper :) even though they cleaned up daily too but they did not put a new toilet paper when it was finished. It was OK they gave us directly every time we asked for. Great to stay for long term with family and the place itself were quiet, very central in Sanur and safe. The breakfast was OK and good service in the restaurant. Overall we were liked to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nohero_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stay in this hotel many time when i need to do something in the south, they always have rooms. no breakfast but bathtube with hot water, clean beds and fridge with water for free.
i do put excellent because they have mosquitos so just need to take a moquito net with you or spray the room with baygon when you go out for dinner.
very close from star cafe who has excellent breakfast and food

Room Tip: ask for the room on 1st floor, the have a nice balconey and are more quiet in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#28 of 78 in Sanur
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 78 in Sanur
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#25 of 78 in Sanur
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#42 of 78 in Sanur
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanur House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanur House

Property: Sanur House
Address: Jln. Bumi Asih 23, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Rita Homestay)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanur House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali: Where the traditions remain untouched. Stay in a beautiful and peaceful paradise in Sanur just off the beach close to many world-class cafes and restaurants. Sanur House brings a contemporary ambiance with a mix of Balinese traditions and nowadays finishing. Our rooms are perfectly designed to be spacious and fresh. Enjoy life the way it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sanur House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanur House Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing