We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived here for 5 weeks :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe Locca Homestay
Ranked #20 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lived here for 5 weeks :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful! I stayed in the dorm during my yoga teacher training in Sanur in may. The staff is SO sweet, they clean and bring new sheets daily. The kitchen could be cleaner, but that's always the case with home stays, usually the guests anyway. There's a tv and DVD player to watch a movie if you want (outside, so it might be warm), and a nice little pool with comfy chairs surrounded by a green lush garden. So cute.
Great location, great price. Down the street from the best restaurant- "Warung jawa Moro senang" if you want authentic Indonesian.
It became home for me, I would recommend it to anyone.
Miss you cafe locca!!
Mary

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    57
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
21
75
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I arrived late in the evening in Sanur, and needed a place close to the beach where my parents were coming to visit for two weeks. I walked in to the reception and found that the staff member present was very friendly and the price of the dorm was really good. The air-conditioned dorm rooms are at the perfect temperature, the bathrooms are always cleaned and bed sheets are made daily for every bed. The staff members are always helpful, and always present at the reception and every morning, water, tea and coffee are made available for guests. There is a swimming pool, a kitchen and private rooms (which I also had a look in!) which are also good value for money. The place is close to the beach and in the main area and, quite frankly, after 6 months traveling this is the best hostel I have stayed in. I believe it to be backpacker friendly, couple friendly and mature traveler friendly - and I only every met nice people there, the other backpacker hostel in the area (Big Pineapple) has freezing air-con rooms and boiling fan rooms with uncomfortable beds and a not so friendly atmosphere and seems to attract people who are only there to party. The staff members were also never at the reception. I strongly recommend Cafe Locca to anyone wanting a good deal and a relaxing, safe stay! (there are good quality cupboards with locks for valuables).

Room Tip: There are two dorms, one is upstairs at the front, one is ground floor out the back next to the swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaJohnVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The small run down neon sign on the street doesn’t look to flash when you arrive but then you walk down a driveway and make a right into a small paradise. For the cheap price we paid it was unexpected. Nice pool, with sun beds around, lots of green around the garden and rooms. Rooms had AC and were clean. Mosquito net was good. Room was cleaned daily, a big cupboard with a lock so you could store your things. We also booked a round trip from Sanur – Nusa Lembongan – Gili T and back to Sanur then transfer to Seminyak, though the receptionist and managed to haggle them down from 1,200,000IND to 1,000,000IND per person. The negatives, there is TV and speakers next to the pool, because it’s a small secluded place if someone is watching TV late you will hear it. Also the breakfast is not good at all. They leave you eggs or pancakes in a takeaway box outside your room. Even if your quick and eat as soon as they ‘deliver’ it, its already cold. All in all a good stay for people on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_ron126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hostel offered good value for money: clean rooms, friendly staff, lovely (small) pool, nice garden

The rooms are basic but totally fine for that price. The walls are very thin so it can be noisy if people are staying late outside at the pool.

The location is quite nice - just 1 minute away from the main "shopping/dining street" and about 5 minutes from the beach

WiFi was very slow and unstable unfortunately, sometime it was impossible to open even a simple web page

Breakfast is included an quality okay, but you cannot really make a choice unless you are outside the room when they serve it (the breakfast is usually just placed on the table in front of your room around 8-9am in a takeaway box)


In total, I would say it's good value for money and nothing major to complain about, unless you are picky with your breakfast and need really good internet

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34CarinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

You'd be hard pressed to find better value for money in Sanur - or perhaps even all of Bali - than Cafe Locca. While in Sanur I had a look at many other places in the area and could not find any that matched the quality of Cafe Locca for the price (especially in terms of cleanliness).

The private air-con king bed rooms are quite new, clean, comfortable, and a good size with attached (very clean) bathroom. They contain lockable wardrobes, a table and chair, a bar fridge, and an outdoor furnished verandah overlooking the pool. The pool and surrounds are a useful size and well maintained. There is a small communal kitchen with stove, fridge, and utensils, plus undercover dining area available for guests to use. There is no TV in the rooms, but a communal TV and DVD player are available in the dining area for guest use. The rooms are serviced daily. The reception staff have passable English - adequate for meeting basic needs. All staff were very friendly and accommodating.

This is a small hotel well located in the southern part of Sanur that offers 5 private rooms and 2 backpacker dorms. There are plenty of nearby dining options (Warungs, restaurants, bars, and a few street vendors as well), the small beach is a 5-7 minute walk away, and of course, the tourist shops are everywhere too! The private rooms are set back about 50 metres from the street, so you don't really get any street noise. However, given the backpacker setting and how close the private rooms are to the communal areas, it can occasionally be a bit noisy at night if the backpackers are having a 'night in'!!

For the price, you certainly won't be getting absolute perfection, but your money will definitely be going a long way at this pleasant little hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nice place to meet fellow backpackers from all over the world. As my main purpose was to dive, I didn’t get to mingle as much as I want to. Rooms were clean, and enough space for everyone, but the idea of sharing one bathroom with 8 persons can be quite a task. lolx. So normally I woke up early just to use the bathroom and then get back to sleep. is hugeeeeee which I think it make it up alittle.

I love the pool! Just chill the morning away and is always clean! Patio to dry your stuffs but sadly is not enough for all the backpackers.

Its towards the end of the street so might be a hassle locating it and really have to walk for a good 40mins to sanur night market, and about 20mins to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed there one night in the dorm, but it was in the front (streetside), so it was pretty noisy and I did not sleep well. The very small bathroom was very simple and I was glad that the 8 person dorm was not fully booked since I could not image 8 people using this bath. The staff did not tell me anything about the pool or the backside of the hostel, so I unfortunately could not enjoy this. For low budget traveler I guess this hostel is ok, but I will spend some more money next time.

Room Tip: ask for backside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.5 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.0 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
ARTOTEL Sanur
ARTOTEL Sanur
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.4 mi away
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Locca Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Locca Homestay

Property: Cafe Locca Homestay
Address: Jalan Sudamala 8 | Bali, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Locca Homestay,located in south Sanur,almost on a doorsteps of famous Pura Blanjong,where u can find the oldest stone inscription found in Bali,dating to AD 913(Prasati Blanjong).We are located close to beach (5 mni walk)and many restaurant or shops and best pub in Sanur-Linga Longa.Double/twin newly renovated rooms located in spacious garden and free wi-fi internet makes perfect place to stay,we also have dorm rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cafe Locca Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Locca Homestay Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing