We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review based on no response”
Review of Semarandana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Semarandana
Ranked #14 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Review based on no response”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Am putting in this review based on the fact that there was no response despite numerous emails sent through their website address. Was keen to try out the place due to the good reviews here and after looking at their website. As they are new, one would think that they would be happy to have inquiries and respond even if they were full. Would have been good for future stays but not if they can't even be bothered to track their mails and respond.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OliveGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
49
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had to find accommodation for our last night in Bali due to a cancellation. I found this place down a long drive off the Main Street. Great position close to shops and the beach. Fabulous room very modern and rooms face out over the pool. friendly staff. Quiet resort. Got up too early to have the breakfast, would highly recommend couldn't, believe the price!

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sidari14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were in Bali sanur for 2 weeks, the last second week were in sanur got lucky found a new guess house with very good price and excellent architectur. So peacful and friendly people. Close to the beach, spa and restaurant. Good AC, and mattress. Was excellent staying in semarandana. Thank you Mr kadek and Ibu Wayan and the guys. We recommend your guess house to all our friends, one of them will stay at your place soon. Good luck.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadek-king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in Semarandana's standard room (300k/night) 3 times, total 4 nights. We made it our homebase because we liked it so much. Trips (which were not booked in the hotel itself) were to lembongan and ubud.
The hotel is very new, spotlessly clean, has a very good bathroom (shower but no bathtub) and the matress is superb. Great AC, fan and refrigerator. Simple breakfast included. Location is quite in the middle of sanur in a calm ally.
The hotel building itself is very appealing, it looks really peaceful and is calm. Good pool for sunbathing and plashing is also there.
There are plants all around the inner courtyard, but it doesn't really feel like a garden. But its still very green.
The staff is young, friendly and familial, but still keeps that comfortable, professional distance.

To sum it up: Great hotel with far above average value. Not so suitable for families with more than two kids, because theres not too much space to run around. Standard room already feels luxurious.
Can only recommend

Room Tip: Standard room is absolutely enough. Deluxe rooms just has a 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We had a look at three different other accommodations in Sanur before we arrived at Semarandana. When we arrived, we were immediately impressed by the architecture and setup of the house stay. During our trip across the whole island, we have had several accommodations and on first sight, Semarandana did not seem to be any less quality than other much more pricey hotels/house stays. We stayed for 6 nights and it was simply great. Very well maintained, new and spacious (deluxe) room with all facilities included (safe, minibar, airco). The staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging things. We were able to rent a motor cycle and they arranged a metered cab for us to bring us to the airport. The only negatives we could think of was that due to its small setup, it could be quite noisy. You could hear the phone ring at the reception when being in bed and clearly hear people coming home in the middle of the night when they were not very quiet. Furthermore, although quite common on Bali, the breakfast was quite simple and limited. Including some more bread variety and fresh juice would already be an improvement. Nevertheless, the price-quality of this place is so good, we can simply not fault Semarandana for these minor issues compared to the high quality of other aspects. Also, location is very close to the good bars and restaurants without having any issues with the noise coming from the Main Street.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GuiTo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed for just one night. Booked a superior room for IDR 320,000 (the standards were full) and got upgraded on arrival to a deluxe room since someone extended their stay. The room was very nice with wardrobe, safe, fridge, flatscreen TV, large comfortable bed, good A/C, clean and good looking bathroom with a great hot water shower. There's a small pool which I didn't try. Breakfast was about average. Staff were friendly and the location, just off the main road in Sanur was fine with lots of nearby bars and restaurants but no associated noise pollution.

I've stayed in 4 other places in Sanur and Kuta at about the same price and this was easily the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walkjivefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A Balinese friend told me about the soft opening prices of the hotel. My suite was 400,000/night instead of 520,000. I usually stay at Prima Cottages in Sanur for the same price and Prima is highly rated on trip advisor and it's a reliable standby that's showing it's age e.g. ventilation screens have holes near ceiling that let in mosquitos but it's decent and clean with a friendly experienced staff.

Semarandana is pretty close to the beach and it looks like a Venice Beach modern hotel. The room was clean and modern looking. Didn't realize the towels were in a drawer under the sink until inquiring at the front desk for a towel after drying myself off with the bath mat.

The only window was the one at the front of the room that looks out over the pool about 1 metre from the room's front door. If you're lucky enough not to have any partying Russians or Bulgarians it's probably for the best though it was quieter after the police came to make them get quieter. Basically if you want privacy close the curtain and enjoy the dark room. We could hear guests shuffling furniture until 1 am in the room above but that's not the hotel's fault.

The hotel is brand new, the staff is young and probably friends of the Balinese owner who is an architect. I like supporting locally owned hotels more than big chains. There are more run down guest houses nearby that charge the same price as this place. The architect made an efficient use of a very small lot, not a problem if you don't mind seeing everyone come and go. We had a hilarious British couple next to us, e.g. sitting 1 metre away from our front door on their front area by the pool and that was fun because we were in the mood to socialize. The pool is small but clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheZenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#35 of 78 in Sanur
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
3.1 mi away
Puri Maharani Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semarandana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semarandana

Property: Semarandana
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 60D, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Semarandana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Semarandana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semarandana Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing