We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great poolside / garden and good value”
Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very nice garden with a clean and well maintained pool. Luxurious as a standard, but not as friendly as you can find elsewhere in Bali.
We stayed in a superior room: good value for money, nice views on the poolside. Other guests were mostly calm and somewhat older.
Just outside in the street you can find a very cheap and good warung: lilla warung!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Bumi Ayu Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Off the main street down a lane which seems to get longer every day.
On arrival the service was not overly friendly, but not rude.
Rooms were nice and the pool area was good. Not too busy - no loud-mouthed drunks and has nice lush gardens.
There isn't really much to add. We would stay there again, but would not go out of our way to make sure we stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galvo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

my husband and i stayed recently here and thought it was very nice.We have been to bali many times and cannot find anything negative to say its very clean in a good possition about 100 mts from main st.the pool is very clean loungers need updating but this is bali its very good value.after the hustle of kuta its nice to stay in sanur.I wouldent hesitate recomending this little gem to anyone.we shall be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in superior delux huge room great bathroom andreally comfortable bed
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JUDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed 6 nights in the Superior Deluxe room, which was huge and beautifully furnished; had everything you need. Breakfasts were good, a bit better than the average inclusive breakfast we'd experienced at various hotels in Bali. Large clean pool, with small childrens pool in the middle, with many sun beds, set in beautiful tropical gardens.

It's about 10 minutes walk to the beach, the staff will tell you the shortcut walking through Werdapura. Though if you're feeling lazy you can get the free hotel shuttle bus there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nasturtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed there one night, guesthouse area is spacious, has a nice lush garden with its own restaurant area. It is located well at the back of the main Sanur street, so it is very quiet, I was very tired from a 30h sleepless journey so cannot comment much during the night but I think there was some barking dog farther away.

I paid about 57$ online for the basic room which was more than sufficient for my need (sleep). I found it a bit expensive but cost has gone up significantly in recent years in Bali, for this you would have paid less than 10$ a bit more than 5 years ago.

The room is very large with large bed, a bit dark (and so is the bathroom), there is a tv which I didn't use. As in many places in Bali the trickle of water in the shower is a bit disappointing but you get over it quickly once you leave behind your developed country habits of wasting precious natural resources.

Wifi connection is free but extremely poor quality. You are better off going to get a drink at a bar/restaurant nearby and sit comfortably while benefiting from their free wifi.

It is extremely well located, it is a 5min walk to go to the beach from there. A 2 min walk takes you to the main road which has many many restaurants, massage places, shops and is 5mins away from the Hardy's supermarket which contains absolutely everything you may want even when living in Bali as expat. (mix of local + imported food/products)

I highly recommend stopping at the Porch Cafe nearby (at the Flashback guesthouse) which does awesome espressos and desserts and has free wifi. Menu selection is limited but high quality and you see them cooking and baking everything.


Basic rooms around tend to go for around 200K IDR in smaller gueshouse (23$) and 350K IDR (40$) for slightly higher end (hot water, AC, tv, which I really don't need). For people budget conscious that want to put their money somewhere else the extra cost is definitely not worth it IMHO.

If you are staying for a long time and used to travel I would encourage you to book something like 3 days, settle in a bit then look around and you will get much better deals. Within 5min walking distance in Sanur you probably have 50 places to visit ranging from basic to high end.

Room Tip: Do not think about going to Kuta. Prefer Sanur for a more quiet place. Kuta is hell.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bearadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We visited Bali last year and stayed at the Bumi Ayu Bungalows. We enjoyed our stay so much that we had no hesitation in returning this year for 5 days at the beginning and 4 days at the end of our second holiday in Bali which has just finished. Readers of this review may wish to look at our last year’s review “Perfect in Every Way”
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297700-d450825-r76216581-Bumi_Ayu_Bungalows-Sanur_Bali.html
which goes into more specifics than this review will.
There is nothing in our earlier review that we would change and there is not a lot we can add to it. We were not disappointed and had no regrets that we chose to return this year - for us the Bumi Ayu Bungalows were once again perfect in every way and we can see ourselves becoming part of significant number of guests who return year after year.
Last year we had nothing to compare Bumi Ayu Bungalows with but this year we stayed in two other hotels in other parts of Bali and of the three places where we have now stayed in Bali, Bumi Ayu Bungalows remain our favourite and with regard to such yardsticks as comfort, cleanliness, service, friendliness of staff, food, value for money etc it would rate highest.
We would emphasise that we stayed in super deluxe rooms (nos 18 & 19 this year). We did however get the opportunity to take a look in one of the superior rooms. The room itself was fine but the bathroom could have done with refurbishment or at least some basic maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lonekaurilodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I know of a few people who have stayed in this hotel but this was my first visit. The room was really nice, clean and opposite the pool. Everything in the room was in good repair and the hotel provided a decent supply of drinking water. The hot water was "hot" which was a pleasant change from some places I have stayed and paid much higher tariffs only to endure cold showers. The room was serviced daily. There was also a nice verandah area to kick back on. The staff were friendly. The hotel was quite busy but all the other guests I met were also really friendly and enjoying their stay. The room price was very reasonable given it was peak season and included a continental breakfast. You could however pay a couple of extra dollars if you wanted a full breakfast. The menu was a mixture of western and local food and the portions were quite generous. The hotel is located quite close to the main street and a short stroll to Sanur Beach. There was also plenty of parking if you have your own vehicle. I really liked the atmosphere of this hotel and will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: There are older rooms and more modern rooms so book according to your budget and preference.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsudarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#37 of 78 in Sanur
476 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#33 of 78 in Sanur
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing