We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and a bit rundown”
Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic and a bit rundown”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here because our favorite B&B was fully booked. The place is a bit old, but our bungalow was clean and sufficiently furbished with a little terrace. The pool is big and provides long chairs. The breakfast is OK, the staff friendly. The distance to the beach is a bit longer than other places, because the compound is at the end of a side alley. That makes it quiet at nights. We asked for a baby cot and got a nice one that could fit under the main mosquito net.

Room Tip: Bungalow 29. Away from the pool, more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsuzsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    182
    53
    19
    9
See reviews for
94
192
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is quite a nice, no frills place to stay in Sanur. Just a short walk down the lane to shops and restaurants
We stayed in standard rooms- the price was very reasonable for what was provided; AC, mossie nets, nice bathrooms and quiet location. The staff are not as friendly as other places we have stayed in Bali over the years.
All in all, good basic accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We arrived late in the evening to a quiet, tranquil location with absolutely no noise interruption from the street (granted the location of Bumi Ayu isn't in the most raucus part of town!). This theme continued throughout our stay.

We stayed in an upstairs room, overlooking the pool. Our room was basic, but comfortable (remember - you're in Bali, do not expect western standards!) Aside from the water pressure in the shower being very weak, the room was fine with a comfortable bed.

The wardrobe locked and had a seporate security drawer with keys that you could take with you - this gave us peace of mind.

The staff were lovely, but every time you walked out of the hotel, you would be accosted by the hotel associated drivers trying to sell you tours and "deals" and transport to wherever you want to go. My advice - for short distances, get a meter taxi. The hotel reception can order these for you. If you are traveling longer distances, sometimes it pays to bargain with the drivers, especially if you are likely to be stuck in traffic for a long time.

Bumi Ayu is about a 10 minute walk from the beach, and a good 20 or so minute walk from the happening part of Sanur. Overall, it's a very sleepy place, so if you want to party this is not the place for you. Kuta and Seminyak are a good half an hour or so away by taxi, depending on traffic.

The food was average, but the kitchen did bake amazing breads. You're in no shortage of choices though, with plenty of restaurants on the beach and main part of Sanur.

Try and be patient with people who approach you, bargain hard and be prepared to walk away - I guarantee you'll find someone happy to take your offer next door.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The hotel was average in term of services, the bath room had some insects there. The cotinental breakfast was litte bit under average. The location was good, close to some restaurant and close to beach.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericsaptaputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed at the Bumi Ayu Bungalows for our second time, as we were looking forward to enjoying the quietness of the hotel again. The Hotel was quiet and just how we remembered it. It is a good, Basic Hotel. The pool (which was one of the main reasons we went back) does require maintenance. The pool does require a more consistent filtering and cleaning process and this is evident with the heavy buildup on the surrounding tiles, this has become quite thick and cracked. Sharp in some points to where I actually cut myself getting into the pool.
Other than that the hotel is still well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Pool front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTravller-CHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a good little hotel and I have stayed here many many times. The reason I always go back is you feel so welcome. The staff are ALWAYS friendly including Front Office team both ladies and gentelmen.
The Restaurant attendants are great and nothing is a problem if you need a variation from the menu, and the Room boys are very freindly.. some characters actually..... if you know Cendra.. he is an assett!
He always remembers you and differnt things about you.
The food in the restaurant is nice and we have never had a bad meal. It is really nice to have come back from a long days shopping in Kuta and just kick back and order to your room, or at he lovely little dining area behind the pool.
The rooms are spacious which adds to yur ability to sperad out and relax and all have a lovely balcony on which you can sit out, read or enjoy a drink or two.
The hotel is up a side street but this is no issue at all as you soon get to know the local vendors, including the lovely lady who has set up shop/warung just as you turn the corner and the man selling coconut juice who always greets you with a smile and hello.
It is not really too far from the beach should you need the feeling of sand in your toes or enjoy the atmosphere and activity that is pretty vibrant there, restaurants, massage ladies, bars to name but a few.
The other guests at B.A. are friendly and it is easy to strike up a conversation with them, so you make friends very easily and share you local tales which is fun.
I really love my trips to Bali and in particular my stays at Bumi Ayu.

Room Tip: really your personal choice depending on if you want to be near the pool, or in a more quiet locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2travelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very nice garden with a clean and well maintained pool. Luxurious as a standard, but not as friendly as you can find elsewhere in Bali.
We stayed in a superior room: good value for money, nice views on the poolside. Other guests were mostly calm and somewhat older.
Just outside in the street you can find a very cheap and good warung: lilla warung!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#36 of 78 in Sanur
466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#34 of 78 in Sanur
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Property: Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing