We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let dogs spoil your holiday!!”
Review of Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't let dogs spoil your holiday!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I have just come back from an 8 day stay at Bumi Ayu Bungalows. This is not our first stay here but the first we have been dissatisfied with. The hotel itself, the grounds, staff and rooms are well worth the asking price. The breakfast if included in price does become very monotonous same every day. The rooms are very clean with small, but new, flat screen tvs but no dvd to watch one of the cheap movies on a quiet night in. The fridge freezer is a small unit but keeps the Bintangs nice and cold. The pool is always well maintained and pleasant to sit around and make conversation with other guests. The beds are quite new and still firm and comfortable. If you would like your breakfast, lunch or dinner in your room or by the pool you only need to ask. These are the positives and most of the aspects of this hotel are positive the BIG NEGATIVE though is the luck of the draw as to which room you get. We stayed in room 37 which is one of a series of rooms running along a minor access road and living in the laundry complex on the opposite side of the road are several dogs which love to spend the night howling like wolves and then engage in full on vicious fighting with any other dog which may venture past. If you want sleep in these rooms ensure you are deaf or bring plenty of earplugs which don't really work because of the volume of these dogs. I came for a rest and went home extremely tired from a lack of sleep. What can be done about these dogs I don't know but I believe intending patrons should be made aware of what there in for. A substantial discount for one of these rooms on the $60AU we paid may be a good start. A tip for the cheapest BINTANGS in Sanur see Ketut at the little shop on the left at the very top of Bumi Ayu lane just before the main street and don't forget to buy her little boy who i named Maganum his favourite icecream a magnum. Oh the large bintang price 21900rp what a bargain.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms along the road/laneway to the northern side of the hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank balifanron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    183
    53
    19
    9
See reviews for
94
193
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
broome
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great property at a very reasonable rate. Staff are very attentive. Included a good breakfast & tea & coffee making in the room. Our room was large & clean. Beautiful gardens. Just need more pool lounges & foam covers as not enough for guests. Will stay again next time. Great little eatery called Lilla Warung along the lane to Bumi Ayu.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The rooms were average, outside bathroom, hot and cold water. The pool area is nice, although they didn't have enough lounge chair for everyone, we had to lay on the ground the first day but when we told them, the next day they brought more in. Breakfast not bad. You're a short walk to the main road and from there the beach. It's kinda off in a strange area but you avoid the noisy street. Safe place though and they will call a taxi for you if you'd rather not walk.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swinters88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Loved the friendly relaxed atmosphere. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Room was just perfect with easy access to pool. Very clean and fresh. Great pool in garden surroundings. Close to all that Sanur has to offer. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and can't wait til our next stay. Thank you for the great hospitality.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EdersP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with friends, 3 nights at the start of out trip, and 2 at the end. Proof of the value of this hotel is the fact we were all looking forward to spending our last 2 nights here.
Rooms are clean, tidy and spacious, staff are all friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant is great value, and the pool was fantastic! We would happily stay here again next time we are in Sanur!

Room Tip: Very nice rooms are 43 and 45!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Bumu Ayu Bungalows and we found that the service and accommodation was still good. The shower had little pressure although it was at a good temperature and the cistern needed attention or it ran continuously.

The rooms are basic although everything is supplied. The grounds are inviting and friendly. the pool is clean and well used.

Breakfast is included (continental) and can be upgraded at breakfast time. They will allow late check outs with a very small fee (if after 1800 (6pm)). Even fresh linen was provided for the last day

The staff are friendly and their English is exceptionally good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pinkducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have just returned from the Bumi Ayu cottages.This was a cheap holiday and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised.Large clean bedroom and bathroom.The king bed was very comfy with nice soft pillows.I liked the laid back feel to this place,no fussing about signing for pool towels and a no fuss check in,they didn't bother us taking copies of passports or wanting a visa card .So it was fast and no fuss.We travelled as a couple but checked out their interconnecting rooms for families which were great.I like to have quiet at night for sleeping and although there was noise from dogs and motor bikes this usually went quiet after 9pm although Sat night was more noisy until very late.The family rooms would probably be better as they are over the other side.
Aussie electrical plugs can be borrowed form reception for a small deposit.i pads ,laptops work fine around the pool or outside the room,sometimes a little slow but ok.I noticed a few people on trip adviser commenting about the walk to the beach.We didn't find it a problem as you can take either road down or cut through a hotel,no one stopped to ask us but if they do just say you are checking out the hotel for a future stay (its good to have a look anyway).A very good resturant is the Mona Lisa which is about a 3 min walk most nights it was full and seemed to be a favorate.There are lots of good massage places and shops. If you decide to go into Kuta try and go before 10 and return before 3 as the road gets very busy and can almost double the time of the journey (something to bear in mind when u are flying back and getting a taxi to the airport).I would also like to say that the staff and cleaners were very friendly however I didnt find the reception very friendly or helpful,the lady on check in was ok.
.No one even asked if we had enjoyed our stay and when we were leaving for the airport we couldnt see our driver ,I asked the man on the front desk if he had seen him and he said what is his name,I replied that I wasnt sure but we had booked him with them and he just shrugged his shoulders and walked off (most unusual for Balanese who are always so helpful and want your stay to be a good one).I have based my reveiw on my stay here and I found it to be very good value and would be happy to recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaabbbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#36 of 78 in Sanur
466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#33 of 78 in Sanur
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Ayu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Ayu Bungalows

Property: Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Address: Jalan Bumi Ayu no: 8X | P.O. Box. 3511, Sanur, Denpasar 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bumi Ayu Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Ayu Bungalows designed in a comfortable Balinese style which is surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens. This beach-front bungalow style hotel offers many great modern hotel features, including a large swimming pool with kiddies pool and Pondok Bar, Coffee Shop, and Kubu Restaurant serves up various yum-for-tongue cuisines for both breakfast, luncheon, and dinner.Bumi Ayu Bungalows rooms are designed in bungalow style. All rooms are fully air-conditioned & completed with private living room, IDD phone, refrigerator, safety deposit box, and satellite TV, while the bathroom is equipped with bathtub and shower with hot and cold running waters within.Facilities available: daily laundry and room services, postal service, money-changer, babysitting, medical facilities, parking area, lobby lounge, tour information, and the on-request transports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bumi Ayu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Bumi Ayu Hotel
Bumi Ayu Sanur
Bumi Ayu Bungalows Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing