We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sativa Cottages Experience Sept 12”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This property is very good value for the price.

We stayed here in late September 2012 for 4 nights.

The room is basic but sufficient, and again for $60 AUD, no problems.

The food is okay. We had breakfasts included and thought the range and quality was satisfactory.

The bath is very large, we did not use it. The cleaning standards could be higher.

The staff - most were friendly enough, some a little surly.

Sat on the verandah overlooking the pool which was nice.

Overall, the hotel is good value for what it is and served our purposes just fine.

Thankyou to the staff.
Best regards, Matt and Aysha

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

When we started our trip through Bali for 3 weeks, we begun at Sativa Cottages. The bathroom was a bit out of date, but the friendliness and size of the gigantic pool made up for the bathroom. Enjoyed the breakfast as well: No limits in what to eat and really fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthijs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had 6 upstairs rooms for 12 people. We were all in Bali to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and Sativa staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome.
The hotel is well designed so that the stairs seperated the rooms, thus ensuring privacy. The rooms were large, spotlessly clean and furnished with tv, fridge, kettle, sofa, desk & chair plus balcony furniture. The bathtub was enormous & although everything was a little old it was all functional and the air conditioning was excellent.
In the middle of shops, restaurants & sports bars it was a 5 minute bemo ride to the main supermarket, a 5 minute walk to the beach, had an ATM almost next door and was quiet at night. We loved the big pool but there was a scramble for sun loungers & umbrellas in the mornings - afternoons it was mainly deserted.
Great breakfasts but didn't have any other meals in the restaurant. My husband & I went back to Sativa for 1 night before leaving Bali and were in a downstairs room which definitely wasn't as big & got no breeze on the balcony, but was still equipped with everything. Of all the rooms our party took there were no complaints about anything - so, a big thumbs up to Sativa and the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Me and my friends went to visit Bali for couple of days and we stayed at Sativa Hotel. The room was a bit old and could use some renovation, but for the price and service, it was a good deal. We went there in March and it wasn't high season, so if you want to party it's not the right place where to go. In this case, go to Kuta!

Room Tip: Try the Balinese night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalucaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Sativa for two weeks in August. This hotel is a good budget priced property within walking distance of the beach. We had an upstairs room which was a little worn around the edges, however, it was spacious, clean and the airconditioning worked very well. The bath tub was enormous and a little difficult to step over. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone with mobility problems.

Breakfast was simple but adequate. I would recommend ordering something from the egg station. It's the only guarantee of getting anything hot. The restaurant staff are friendly but not very attentive.

Pool area was lovely. Not enough sun lounges if you account for the pool hogs who drop a towel on a lounge and then don't use it for half the day.

Wireless Internet was cheap. About 50,000 rupiah for six hours usage. Only complaint here was the fact that it dropped out quite often and there was only one very helpful guy at reception that seemed to know how to reset it.

Very annoying guys selling things from their stalls at the end of the driveway. Buy something small from them first off and they won't bother you again.

Nice lot of restaurants around the hotel and a short taxi ride down the road towards Hardy's. Try the Indian across the road. Great Onion Bahji and Chicken Pakoras.

Overall a great little property for the price you pay. We are looking at booking again for July next year.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs pool view room. Nice breeze and you will be able to access the wireless Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My husband, one year old daughter and I all stayed for a week in July 2012.
We had an upstairs room which according to the reviews are bigger, so quite nice. It was a little annoying lugging the stroller up the stairs though.

The rooms are clean and basic - queen bed, old style tv, fridge and bathroom. The bathroom has a shower bath and the bath is VERY big. It has very wide sides and one time i slipped over trying to get in. I wasn't badly hurt, but was very wary from then on and put a towel in the bottom of the bath each time I got in. Our daughter loved the bath, as at our first hotel in the trip, we only had a shower.

The rooms are very clean and quite roomy. Plenty of room for a porta cot for the baby and room for her to play as well as store the stroller etc.

The pool at the hotel is lovely, quite a good size and was upkept very well. They did run out of pool towels a couple of times though.

Breakfast was included and was quite average - cereal, fruit, bacon, eggs, toast, pancakes and juice etc. The bacon was deep fried I think - I didn't like it much! They were happy to cook eggs to order any way you liked, and the pancakes were good. Very basic, but quite edible. Having said that, if I stayed there again, I may not get breakfast included, and just walk down the street to a restaurant instead.

The staff were very friendly and happy to help. We needed a power plug adapter and they lent us one no problem. The inhouse spa is quite cheap and they had some half price specials on.

The hotel is very quiet. It was quite full when we were there, being summer for the northern hemisphere, so many Europeans staying.

We did hear some noise at night from the sports bar in front of the hotel, but we were in a room at the front and I'd say that you wouldn't hear it from most of the hotel. It wasn't super loud, just a bit loud to relax on your balcony, but you didn't hear it inside if the tv was on etc. It was quiet by 11.30 or so anyway.

The hotel is down an alley - I got the impression from some reviews that it was a bit of a walk, but it was like around 50-60m, not far at all and is really just a driveway. It's just basically behind the shops on the street.

The street is pretty quiet as it's a one way road and is at the end of the main Sanur area. It was a bit of a walk to find places to eat because we wanted to try lots of different places every day. But not too far really.

The only annoying thing was that int he driveway to the hotel there is a couple of market stalls and the blokes wouldn't stop asking us to buy at their shops. And it was impossible to avoid them! Once we bought something small they left us alone though.

Had a good time, would stay again probably.

Room Tip: Apparently the upstairs rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethaniej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Definitely worth a try.

For what it is and you are paying for a definite good place to stay at. Breakfast was the basic egg anyway bacon rice noodles fruit thing. We stayed 5 days so it does get a bit same same but it is there. House keeping is excellent. Our room was spotless, linen changed daily, bathroom could have used a good bam BUT was clean. Aircon was good fridge struggled a bit as it was old but once we got the knack of it it was fine. Room was big. Good size with a lounge and a very good balcony. Tv was hmm a sad old 42 inch thing. Not a big deal but definitely needs a flat screen. In house movies are available.

Pool was great, a little bit too much chlorine for my liking but spotless. It is an older place and it did show but again for what it was I was very happy.

Food wise the in house menu was ok reasonable prices and a decent variety. Service wise very good.

Overall the layout is a courtyard surrounding the pool. We had quiet a few kIds when we were there. Thankfully all were great. It could be bad if the kids were not behaved due to the layout.

Staff were attentive and efficient could not fault.

Location wise is great. Not in the thick of things but close enough to everything.

Only con I had was Internet. Had to pay 25k per 3 hrs and the biggest annoyance was only one device could login at a time. Very annoying as we have multiple devices. But hey we are on holidays so not the greatest thing to worry about.

Overall I can recommend Sativa. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor just to get away from the pool. In saying that the lower levels were fine and had there ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanJungle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#30 of 82 in Sanur
448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#40 of 82 in Sanur
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#47 of 82 in Sanur
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#41 of 82 in Sanur
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sativa Sanur Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sativa Sanur Cottages

Address: Jl Danau Tamblingan 45 | off Jl. Cemara, Sanur, Denpasar 80031, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £32 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sativa Sanur Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sativa Sanur Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sativa Sanur Cottages Hotel Sanur
Sativa Sanur Hotel
Sativa Sanur Cottages Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing