We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gili Cat Fast Boat”
Review of Gili Cat Fast Boat

Gili Cat Fast Boat
Ranked #20 of 80 things to do in Sanur
Attraction details
Leiden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gili Cat Fast Boat”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

In september 2013 i used Gili Cat Fast Boat from Padang Bai to Gili Trawangan.
I already booked my ticket via internet and was impressed with their service,
fe i received a reminder email before departure.
Trip was smoothly both ways and in time.
I was told by an Indonesian passenger that Gili Cat is absolutely the best when using
fast boat service.
Also included in the ticket price was transportation from and to ferry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    74
    52
    14
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so that professional”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

On the way to the gili's the boat broke down and we were 30 min floating in the heavy ocean. Thema we turned back to have the engine fixed. We arrivéd 3 hours late.
On the way back to padangbai the boat was 1 hour late and the driver was speeding to make up time. 4 people had to trow up and were really ill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roel22-11-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT use Gili Cat! Worst service ever...”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked Gili Cat to travel from Bali to Gili Trawangan and back again.

It all started out ok, the driver picked us up from our hotel on time as we had planned. Once we arrived at Padang Bai for our departure we had to wait for over one hour in the beaming midday sun as 'things were running a little late'. Once we finally boarded the boat one of the team of three staff briefly instructed us in the safety protocols - quit literally 'if something goes wrong the life jackets are in here (points to overhead storage) and you jump and you swim!(followed by a giggle)'...

After 15 minutes the boat came to a stand still, in the middle of the open seas. It became clear there was an unexpected issue with an engine but nobody informed us of the situation. The three young guys working the boat began to scramble for tools and shouted at each other in Indonesian. So, now we have a boat full of people, sitting in the middle of nowhere for over 30 minutes in the hot sun. They finally got the boat running again and returned us back to Padang Bai where we were told to wait for them to get their mechanic to fix the boat. We waited for another hour during this process (now over 2hrs behind schedule).

On our return trip with Gili Cat, back to Bali, we were once again told 'things were running a little late' and were made to wait around again for 30 mins. Once boarded on to the boat we were given the same lame safety advice. After 10 minutes into the journey the driver of the boat handed the wheel over to a young lad to drive! And now the worst ever boat journey begins... Bumpy, thudding, stomach wrenching ploughing through the waves - it was obvious that this new, younger driver had no idea of how to drive the boat and how to handle the waves. People began to exclaim at how bad the journey was and at how sick they had started to feel. There were young children on board who had become quite distressed and uncomfortable - all the staff did was mumble to each other in Indonesian and laugh and joke. This continued for almost 2hrs.

The initial driver (older and more experienced) took back control of the boat just as we arrived in to Padang Bai, 2 mins before we pulled in to the harbour, making it clear to us that the other younger guy had no right to be driving the boat.

Also, the staff at the office are not very friendly, they were quite demanding and rude.

There are lots more boat transfer operators, so I would recommend using a different service. We paid 2.500.000IRP which is way too high for a service as shambolic as this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LorraineJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good and fast trip”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Take a travel pill is all I can recommend before stepping on to this boat or one of the other boots to the isalands!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wouter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“shady organization”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

be careful....

we paid for this boat, but when we arrived they had overbooked and put us on a different boat with more stops and considerably slower

should have booked the slower one for less money

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkbait98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gili Cat Fast Boat also viewed

 

Been to Gili Cat Fast Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing