We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value family hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at this hotel in the past 8 years, and we would thoroughly recommend it to families looking for a good value holiday in Bali.

We have 4 children and have always struggled to find hotels that can accomodate large families. We either have to get 2 or more rooms (which becomes quite expensive) or rent a house or villa - and then miss out on all the facilities that you get in a hotel. The Paradise Plaza Suites provides the best of both worlds.

The hotel is located a few blocks back from the beach. You can walk to the main shopping/restaurant area of Sanur in about 5 minutes, and to the beach in about 10-15 minutes. The hotel has an area assigned at the beach with deck chairs and towels. There is a shuttle bus that runs between the hotel and the beach throughout the day.

On our last visit 3 years ago we felt the hotel was in need of some modernisation. We were pleased to see on this visit that they have commenced renovations. Since our last visit they have refurbished the lobby/reception area, the restaurant which now includes a poolside bar, and were in the process of renovating the kids club. They have also started renovating the rooms - we stayed in a recently renovated 3 bedroom apartment with loft. The kitchen was new and the bathrooms have been retiled. This apartment is extremely spacious. There are 3 very generous bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. The master bedroom upstairs is very large and having it seperate from the children's rooms is great. There is a large lounge area and a self contained kitchen and dining area.

There is a large main pool as well as a children's pool at the back of the hotel that has a water slide. The water slide is a real hit with children up to the age of about 10. There is a kids club that has air hockey, table tennis, billiard table + video games and other activities for younger children.

The food in the hotel is reasonably priced, which means that you can order room service or poolside service for the whole family without worrying about breaking the bank. As an example, club sandwiches, burgers, fish & chips, pizza and pasta are all about US$7.00 per dish. Larger meals such as steaks etc are US$9.00 - $15.00 per dish. Soft drinks are about US$2 each, beers about US$4 each and cocktails are about US$7.00 - $10.00 each.

The Paradise Plaza Hotel (owned by the same company) is located about 3km away. It is more appropriate for couples without children, but if you stay at the Plaza Suites you can use the facilities at the Hotel as well. There is a shuttle bus that runs between the two hotels. Every few days we would have breakfast at the other hotel for a change of scenery and then use the pool there, which is really nice, but very different to the Plaza Suites. The gym at the Plaza Suites is a little basic, but apparently the one at the Hotel is very good (although I did not use it).

One of the great things about the hotel is the staff. They are extremely friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. We hadn't visited the hotel for 3 years, but still many of the staff remembered us and the children.

I would rate this as a 4-star hotel. While it does not have the glitz of a 5-star hotel, it is great value for money, very relaxing and the kids will love it.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Request a room that has been renovated. As of September 2013 not all of the rooms have been renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJFCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the TripAdvisor website. Your testimonial says is all. Yes we have recently renovated a number of areas at the Suites in the past few years and we do appreciate you highlighting this. The kids club and waterslide is a huge hit and by the end of the day the kids sleep very well. We also appreciate the comments with regards to the staffing.. The staff are our biggest asset and yes nothing is too much trouble. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    449
    95
    23
    10
See reviews for
1,031
39
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Paradise Plaza Suites. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment and it was large and spacious. On the positive side - the room, the staff, the kids pool. On the downside - the breakfast buffet, food pricing, the lack of pool towels and distance from the main Sanur area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if you want a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review on the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites on the TripAdvisor website. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the breakfast and we do hope that you took advantage of our back gate, as it is a mere 7 minute walk to Hardy’s and the surrounding shops. We also offer a free shuttle bus as well to take you to Hardy’s and to our beach site. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room as well as the staff and the kids pool. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We, as a family of 7 (2 adults, 13,14,16,17 +19) spent 2 weeks at the Plaza Suites in the 3 bed loft apartment. While other reviews complain about the food (buffet each morning was varied and plentiful), the back gate closing too early, the prices for drinks or food were too dear at the resort (eat elsewhere though resort is convenient) or it was too far from the town or beach, we say rubbish! We walked everywhere or used the free shuttle. It's only a single km from the gate to the Main Street. The staff were all happy and welcoming, the beer was ice cold and the weather was a treat. The only complaints we had were that the downstairs bathroom had rotted wood around the door from the shower which did give off an odour otherwise the setup was spacious and clean and the upstairs bedroom had no curtains to block the light out. It was very quiet inside the room and the view of the pool from our balcony was great. Definitely a bonus for families with younger kids though ours being a bit older, enjoyed it immensely for their 1st overseas trip.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank drukaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites on the TripAdvisor website. We do very much appreciate your comments on the breakfast as we do have a good variety for all of the family. The back gate does close at 6pm as it does get quiet dark walking down the path. Our food and beverage pricing structure is very competitive when comparing to other hotels in Sanur, we also hope that you took advantage of the 2-hour happy hour each day. We are pleased you had a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox head australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a fantastic resort for families staff very efficient and other travellers friendly we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this resort even though its on a main road you don't hear the traffic so much we took a budget corner room which I would not recommend dark dinghy and unrenovated so just spend the extra dollars and take a renovated suite they are extra large and very tasteful

Room Tip: Take a renovated suite !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites. The budgeted corner rooms as you have highlighted are for walk in guests who can view the room before they pay. We do not advertise these rooms on the internet or with our travel agents. Yes the 2 and 3 bedrooms are very large and tasteful. We do hope to see you again at the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you are traveling as a Family this was a great place to be based. We stayed 10 nights. We had 6 people in our room and it was very spacious and a great base. We had a 3 bedroom 3 bath rooms. Our room had an upstair area so if you have issues with stairs it may not be suitable. My kids are 15, 13, & 8 Its location is not really close to any thing but you can do a short walk (10min) to the shops and there is lots of local shops and Supermarket. It felt very safe to walk with the family. Room service was good but they didn't do dishes. Which really isn't a problem as we didn't eat in the room. Buffet breakfast was huge and great selection. The water slide was a big hit so were the mock tails. 10min free shuttle bus to the beach with reciprocal rights at the hotel on the beach so no need to carry towels and beach chairs are provided. The shuttle also took you to a night market that is small but a great place to eat and very cheap. My daughter who is vegetarian would have liked a better menu selection (but thats an issue every where) We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Transport was easy to get and cheap if you barter before you start, the hotel will let you know what the rates should be. The drinking water dispenser in the room was great and enabled us to refill our water bottles each day. My only real criticism would be uncomfortable pillows and in the upstairs room there is a window with no window coverings so sun light will wake you early if you like it dark. Lots of families due to school holiday fantastic new friends made. I would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ToniMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the TripAdvisor website. Yes the rooms are very spacious; with 165sqm for a 3-bedroom it is plenty of room for the entire family. We also offer 3 bedroom units on the same level as well for families with smaller children. We are very pleased that you had a great holiday and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just returned from our fourth trip to this hotel and we will keep returning as it ticks all the boxes for us as a family with three young boys (7,4 and 8 months). We love the spacious apartments with Kitchenette, dining and lounge area. Yes the apartments are slightly tired but we always found them to be very clean and any problems we have ever had (which has not been many in four visits) have been rectified immediately. We enjoy being able to put the boys to bed and then enjoy a movie or sitting on the balcony without having to creep around sleeping children! Also having a fully functioning kitchen is great for the odd kids lunch or dinner we want to throw together. My kids love the waterside and camp splash and I have to disagree with a previous recent review, as I find the staff at camp splash very attentive and on the ball where watching the kids are concerned and because the hotel is not huge they get to know the kids really well and vice versa.I can't praise the staff at camp splash highly enough! Love the 'adult' pool area too lots of beds and we really enjoyed the addition of DJ music during happy hour this year as it really added atmosphere. Also you can grab a poolside foot massage etc. which although is more expensive than spas outside of the hotel they are still very decently priced as is all the food and drink at the hotel. Breakfast offers plenty of variety and staff are very attentive. This hotel as they clearly state is not on the beach but there is a very convenient shuttle that takes you there and many many taxis on hand (approx $3 to the beach). Also there is now access out the back of the complex so it is just a short stroll into town to the supermarket, shops and several decent restaurants. I can also highly recommend the baby sitting services, Ayu and Yugi are truly wonderful and have been helping me with my boys for four years now! Overall a really pleasant place to stay which is great for families with kids of all ages and above all truly great value for money.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the first floor over looking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoppi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites. I also would like to thank you also for your comments with regards to the attentive kids club staff. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. You would have seen some significant property improvements throughout the years that you have been staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed last year, but the travel agent booked us somewhere else this time. After staying at the other accommodation for 5 days we had enough of mediocre service and booked back into this hotel.

What a change, it was like coming home. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent information on what to do/where to go in Bali. Great place for children. If you want a quiet holiday this is probably not the spot for you but we love it. There is now a "happy hour" every day (2 drinks for the price of 1).

It is on the main road and some reviews have made this a negative, but it is really not an issue. Once your there you don't hear the noise and eventhough it is not on the beach, there is now a back gate for you to walk to Sanur and from there you can walk though one of the resorts to get to the beach. The gate closes at 6pm which makes the walk back from Sanur quite long and I would suggest taking a taxi after that time. There is the shuttle which comes and goes regularly but we found that it was quicker to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icb1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the TripAdvisor website. We are very pleased that you decided midflight to change your holiday plans and return to the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites. The back gate has been a huge hit with only a 7 minute to Hardy’s and the surrounding shops. We hope that next time you will book again with us, as we would love to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.1 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites

Property: Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Address: Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai 83, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable family accommodation in one of the most popular family resort in Bali and has been voted as Top 25 Hotels for Families in Indonesia by Tripadvisor 3 years in a row, 2014, 2015 and 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel Sanur
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing