We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Besakih Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The room was spacious and comfortable well situated for shopping and the beach. Easy to get around with a walkpath running along the beach at the back of the hotel. Plenty of shops and restaurants close by and close to some major attractions. Sightseeing from here was easy. Shame the outdoor spa was not working. Breakfast was plentiful with good choices. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
Tea and coffee in the room is not replaced.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravellers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    220
    108
    34
    22
See reviews for
132
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We have just recently stayed at the Besakih Beach Resort. As previously said the rooms are fine. For the price compared to what you would get in Australia they are very comfortable. Things to remember if you come over are that they do not supply tea,coffee or sugar. Also no shampoo etc. They supply linen, towels, beach towels, shower caps and soap. So bring your own coffee if you can because theirs is very strong...even brands bought from the local shops. I would also recommend popping in a couple of coffee mugs if your a drinker. Cups supplied are very small.
Breakfast is basic and wore a little thin after 10 days. But everywhere around supplies the same. Bring your on cereal as there isnt anything like that in Bali really either. Food can be bought in ok.
Other than that the hotel surroundings are just beautiful. The pool location is suburb and we found the hotel restaurant really reasonable there are also many nice restaurants nearby. We met many lovely people while we stayed there and would definately come again...with a few extra home comforts:)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillybean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The Besakih has a good location right in the middle of the Sanur Beach strip and the main road. It also has a lovely pool right on the beach front (ideal for quiet night time swims). The hotel is on the cheaper side, so if on a budget it is not bad if wanting a hotel on the beach. However we were disappointed with a few things. The rooms and bathrooms are very tired. The bathroom needs a really good scrub and upgrade. The rooms smelt a bit musty and it was a bit dark is there is no main room light. The TVs need replacing, to something larger than a postage stamp! The standard room did not include complimentary toiletries, tea or coffee, which is a first for us. I must mention though that the garden and room service staff were friendly and one of the maids asked if she could have my liquid lipstick that I had thrown in to the bin (it was rather new but I did not like the colour). I left her another one the next day. I wouldn’t dream of using someone else’s lipstick, but it obviously was something she couldn’t afford and liked. The older reception and restaurant staff members were not friendly at all and seemed quite disinterested. The older male staff member at breakfast did not explain the set menu breakfast options (very basic) properly so we were left a little hungry. After a few days, a younger male staff members was more helpful and we received a better breakfast. We were tempted to upgrade to the only suite available at the Besakih, however they said the upgrade would be $160 USD to upgrade. We had already paid $80 for the standard room, and the Suite was $200 per night, so thought it would have been $120 or slightly better, but not the case, so didn’t upgrade. In summary, the hotel has a great location and not bad if on a budget, however I wouldn’t feel comfortable recommending this hotel, especially to someone wanting a romantic getaway or a fun hotel for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VessFlutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Now I like to always use Trip advisor to get the better picture of a hotel, We all know how lovely the glossy pictures of the travel books portray hotels....So I wasn't expecting too much for the standard room that we paid for, keeping in mind it is one of the cheapest around Sanur...What can I say the room was basic, but the location and pool area far out wayed the lack of up keep in the room..the bed was clean and we had a lovely little verandah to relax on...The staff were very friendly and as there was construction going on they were so apologitic and gave us a free upgrade and lovely bunch of flowers for the inconvenience (we weren't there much in the day and it went unnoticed anyways). Sanur is the best, quiet and relaxing, those who have been Bali before know what to expect from sellers in the street, but if you clearly said no thanks, you werent hassled like you do in Kuta where they believe No is Yes! Bonsi Cafe is great and you can eat on the beach, a little further away make sure you eat at Mossimo the best italian I have had..Over all if you know what to expect from Bali standards and how things work and you really looking for a peaceful quiet location Besakih in Sanur is great value for money and clearly has the best part of the beach, hope you enjoy as much as we did, we will be back next time with the kids

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liaethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We had to meet family there following a wedding. We first booked a bungalow but on arrival it looked damp and dingy so we paid an awful lot more money to upgrade to possibly their only suite. This was excellent but the rooms on the web site dont correspond with what you actually get. Staff were very friendly and we were treated very well but we got the impression this was only because we had paid for the suite! Internet by reception was very hit and miss but this was possibly the case in Sanur itself. As with anywhere, internet and laundry services were more expensive than outside of the hotel. The location was good but the sea and sands are nothing like plush photos you see of Bali, sea was green and sand like "rendering" sand. Several nice restaurants around either in the street or up the beach path. Which ever way you went day or night locals were VERY insistent you were dragged into their shops, or took a manicure or hired their taxis, this got extremely annoying the whole 9 days we were there. The best thing we did (have never done it before) was take all our washing over the road to the 4 hr laundry service the day before we left and for £4 had beautiful clean clothes to put away when we got home. So if this was the hi-lite of the holiday you can imagine the rest.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

After reading a few poor reviews we were a bit worried about Besakih but it turned out to be a winner! The location is magic with the pool and restaurant right on the beach front. Nothing nicer than sitting with a drink overlooking the pool and the balinese fishing boats parked on the beach. The rooms were older style but comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the variety good. Sanur is very quiet compared to Legian and Kuta which we loved. The beach path is great for an early morning walk or cycling. We ate at a number of restaurants on the main street but our favorite was the Bonsai Cafe on the beach front a short walk from the hotel. Would recommend Besakih for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

we stayed at the besakih for ten days,we loved it .close to restaurants and shops.the resort is kept very clean and tidy.breakfast is nice,but basic.we stayed in a bunglow room which was quite and clean.the staff were friendly and helpfull .we will stay there again next year,probably in a basic room after looking in one before we left(save $20), as they were nice too.pool was nice too, but there are some who reserve spots,didn't worry us i just tossed the towel off if was there too long.beach spots were just as good and cooler(same chairs) looking forward too next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougandsue92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.3 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 78 in Sanur
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besakih Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Hotel

Property: Besakih Beach Hotel
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Besakih Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the tropical splendor of the Besakih Beach hotel. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens 80 attractive Balinese Bungalows offer the ideal setting for you to enjoy the delights of the Bali Coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Besakih Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur
Besakih Beach Sanur
Besakih Beach Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing