We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparing this hotel after 12 months.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Besakih Beach Hotel
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Having first visited this hotel 12 months ago and then again a few days ago we noticed signifigant changes. It is indeed great value for a 3 star establishment. You cannot beat the position of the hotel. Right on the beach, lovely grounds and an adequate restaurant for snacks and light meals. The breakfast setup has changed to a buffet style where as before everything was brought to you. No shampoos or conditoners etc.. in the rooms and the staff seemed a little tense and less happy then before.We were greatly put off by what we called the 'Grey gatekeepers'. Every morning they get down to the pools and put there towels out and hog the lounges. No biggy until you try to get a seat that has been vacant for hours and get abused by the elderly contingent. This is of course not the hotels fault but there have been some sublte changes that all 6 of us noticed. Having said that ,it is a great place to start your Bali holiday and Sanur is quiet enough to relax,with enough action to keep you amused. The Wicked Parrot has a great live band where you can indulge in the 'Tower of Bintang'.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freckle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Besakih Hotel this May. Really relaxing with friendly staff and a great location. The adjoining rooms were BAGUS for the kids and really well priced. We spent most nights eating at Mona Lisa ( over the road) which was lovely and most lunches at Cafe Luhtu on the beach. It was a great holiday. Handy to have Hardys supermarket down the road as well!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mumlovesbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I'm amazed at the negative comments about this hotel, perhaps these people expect 5
Star acommadation for 3 Star price! I found this property very comfortable, pleasant and helpful staff, great location to beach markets and street restaurants.

Two pools, beautifully kept grounds, the only improvement I think could be addressed is the enthusiasm of the restaurant staff during the day, the hotel could make a lot more money if the staff occassionally asked guests lounging around the pool/ beach if they would like a drink/meal or snack without having the chase them for service.

The guests appeared to be predominately more mature in age, but perhaps it might depend on the time of the year as to the age demographic.

In conclusion this property is value for money and provides all the comforts needs for a wonderful Bali/Sanur experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nothappyjan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have been to staying at Besakih for many years usually to celebrate special family birthdays and anniversaries and also for our annual holidays.
We just love it here and have never considered staying anywhere else in Sanur.
The location, the service and the staff are outstanding....We love the" Welcome Home" greeting and yes we do feel like family!
We look forward to visiting again in a few weeks.....Besakih never disappoints in any respect and we highly recommend it (and no we are not old - yet)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank topher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our third time at this hotel and it didn't disappoint. It still has a beautiful garden, nice friendly staff and a wonderful private feel to it. All the rooms have either a balcony or patio. A nice touch is the clothes dryer/airer also all rooms have umbrellas available.

The hotel has a town frontage (set back from the road) so all the restaurants, bars and shops are a short walk away and Hardy's is about 10 minutes walk. The rear of the place goes down to the beach where a swimming pool overlooks the beach. A path walk can be taken in any direction for a good few kilometres. Access along this path can be made to the main road at anytime by following the numerous side roads or taking a short cut through the many hotels.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant which looks out to the sunrise over Sanur Beach and is more than adequate, but is not of a buffet type (as has been intimated by some reviews).

If you wanted to 'knit pick' perhaps the bathrooms could do with a makeover and some of the mould removed but this is Bali after all. Our air conditioner broke down whilst we were there but it was mended within a couple of hours.

The hotel provides towels for the pool and beach, unfortunately people will always use these to reserve beach loungers provide on the adjacent beach. On this visit unless you were up by at least 6am. any hope of a lounger was gone in what might be called the shadier, cooler areas. Many of the selfish guests that were responsible for this practice didn't turn up until 9 or 10 later in the day. We even witnessed the unsavoury spectacle of a guest removing anothers towel from a reserved lounger and replacing it with his, culminating in a near fight in what in the past we have referred to 'a bit of paradise'.

It did seem that there were a few guests that had been at the hotel for a prolonged stay and felt they owned their 'pitch' so to speak. The whole spectical reminded us of the old package type holidays in Europe, but in this case played out by some very arrogant Australian tourists.

This should not distract from the hotels charm, although it did seem that some of the security empolyed by the hotel were complicit in the 'reservation' proceedure, which did shed some light on how the late arrivals in the morning managed to get their towels there so early.

All in all though, no one should be disappointed with such a good choice of hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: We didn't hear a sound at night, can't think of any tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We loved this place. I think I've probably read every review on the Besakih Resort and they all have an element of truth. My husband and I stayed 8 nights here with our 18 month son. The Besakih is an aging girl, nearly 40 years old, with beautiful well-kept gardens masking some of her less glamorous elements.

The pool is by far the best-positioned swim hole on Sanur beach; overlooking the sand, surf and popular walkway. From the pool bar you can people-watch all day long; tourists, cyclists, hawkers and stray dogs amble by for your amusement whilst you down a Bintang.

The Besakih is dominated by older Australian guests who have been coming for years. One patron told me that his wife and he were staying at the Resort for the 44th time. That's dedication. My husband and I liked the vibe this created. The other guests were laid back, friendly, quick for a chat and a good laugh. It made hanging out by the pool and restaurant a real joy.

The Front of House and Housekeeping staff were friendly and very helpful. Most of the restaurant staff were lovely however we found the Restaurant Manager to be as welcoming as an Airport Immigration Officer. We didn't let that deter us from enjoying ourselves.

The rooms are really a bit of a down side for the Besakih. It's hit and miss whether you get one where the sewer pipes are OK, the damp is not too bad and the air conditioner isn't an ancient relic. Also there is no such thing a non smoking room - only rooms where people have smoked less in. And all the Aussie regulars at Besakih seem to be dedicated smokers.

The location of Besakih suited us perfectly as we wanted to be close to everything and had the added bonus of Cheeky Monkeys Learning Centre across the road, where our son spent the mornings playing. We also found a well priced laundry drop-off right next door which saved us the hassle of worrying about our smalls.

Will we back? Definitely! Perfect location, gardens, pool, staff, clientele and very well priced... the old girl just needs a bit of an extreme make-over in the rooms and we'll upgrade our rating to five stars.

Room Tip: Keep away from the standard rooms that back onto Danau Tamblingan as the only late- night pub in San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FurryGodmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Besakih however first with our young teenagers. Probably wouldnt stay here with the kids again (but on our own yes) as there seemed to be a lot of older couples and I didnt want my kids being too noisy and interrupting them. We had two standard rooms as we were told there were no rooms to accomodate all 4 but this was fine with us. Bathrooms a little old but very clean. Breakfast was basic but ample.This resort is in a great location with markets, restaurants, supermarkets all within walking distance, transport was never required.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank maggiebaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#38 of 82 in Sanur
481 reviews
0 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#19 of 82 in Sanur
1,592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 82 in Sanur
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
1.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besakih Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Hotel

Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No 45 | Po Box 3306, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Besakih Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the tropical splendor of the Besakih Beach hotel. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens 80 attractive Balinese Bungalows offer the ideal setting for you to enjoy the delights of the Bali Coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Besakih Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur
Besakih Beach Sanur
Besakih Beach Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing