We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Besakih Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My wife and I stayed in a 'bungalow', which is a free-standing building, with bedroom, en-suite, a foyer with tee/coffee facilities, and a veranda. This was a mix of old-fashioned and modern - old fashioned charm, with a modern efficient air conditioner. Hotel guests were mainly older Australians (with a smattering of younger ones), so we felt quite at home. The garden is beautiful, so it was a pleasure walking around the grounds. Best of all was the local area, which was relatively free of hawkers, so it was actually possible to walk around the streets and the beach without being driven mad. The restaurant was excellent - about average prices, for maybe above average food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arafurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Besakih Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

We arrived at the Beaskih in April for 6 nights, loved it so cancelled our Lombok tour and extended another week at Besakih before our final 13 nights in Legian.
The location is fantastic, the paved pathway along the front extends for a fair stretch along the beach. Our morning walks lasted for 2 days.... The staff were all great and very friendly. The price was more than we normally pay for Bali however on researching before we left Ausralia Sanur appears to be more expensive. I would have no problem in recommeding Besakih to anyone from singles to families.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I was quite hesitant to go to Bali as first timers but came away wanting to return again ASAP.
I read reviews on the Besakih and expected a run down very average resort.
Yes the rooms are basic and a bit run down but we really only went there to sleep,
The atmosphere of the resort is fantastic. Lush green gardens and two gorgeous pools. The location is great. Right on the beach within walking distance to the markets and lovely restaurants. Walking along the beach walkway in the evening was just idylic with the dim lighting and sound of the waves. The value for money is great as everything is so cheap.We have travelled to a few different holiday destinations but this is the pick of the bunch.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Six of us travelled to Sanur and stayed at Besakih. First impression was very good, looked clean and like a nice tropical beach resort. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We occupied 3 rooms between the six of us. Our room was fine however my sisters room was very average. The bathroom was smelly and did not pass the clean test, very old and needs a major reno. Our room however was one of the newer ones but furtherest from the beach and closest to the road absorbing all the nightclub music :-(
There are 2 pools which were clean and lovely to swim in. The hotel restaurant provides and lovely breakfast and the service is great.
In terms of location its nothing like Kuta, very quiet although most of the pubs are open late they dont attract the Kuta crowd. It sits on the beach front and has beautiful surroundings.
Overall yes I would stay at this hotel again but definately needs a revamp.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reef0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Ideally situated on Sanur Beach. Great grounds, pools, and close to markets restaurants and shops. Breakfast was good, room very clean but a little tired, staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomadAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

excellent food at the batu baka resto - good portions
clean room, adequate.
friendly staff - very helpfull
nice and quiet - dont realize how many people are there until you eat at the resto

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank ecomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My wife and I have just returned from staying at the Besakih. We have stayed here many times and every time we leave I say " next time we will stay somewhere different" The fact is we did stay at the Griya Santrian next door once but, we just get drawn to staying at the Besakih because the staff are so friendly and the location is so good. The rooms are as basic as you can get and that includes the newly refurbished ones. The rooms do get cleaned everyday and you get clean sheets everyday. The breakfast is not a buffet and the choice is very limited.There really are no luxuries here. There is nothing pretentious about the Besakih, they know they are not a four or five star and they don't try to be which is evident in their prices. The meals, drinks etc. are very cheap in fact cheaper than most of the restaurants on the main street.
The Besakih has two wonderful swimming pools. One of the pools is located right on the edge of the beach, this is a great spot to relax and watch the day go by.
You will find that many people staying at the Besakih have stayed there before. I was speaking to one guest who said it was the 38th time he has stayed there. The hotel is generally frequented by mature guests. I really don't think the Besakih is good for the younger or party animal types.
If I do return to Sanur I am sure I will scour the internet looking for places to stay and probably finish up staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delboyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#30 of 78 in Sanur
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#33 of 78 in Sanur
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besakih Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besakih Beach Hotel

Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan No 45 | PO BOX 3306, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £53 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Besakih Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the tropical splendor of the Besakih Beach hotel. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens 80 attractive Balinese Bungalows offer the ideal setting for you to enjoy the delights of the Bali Coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Besakih Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Besakih Beach Hotel Sanur
Besakih Beach Sanur
Besakih Beach Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing