We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“value for the beach”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is my first time stayed at Sanur beach hotel, and the first impression was that is a old resort with many facilities. The rooms was oke, accommodate my whole family (2 adult and 2 child). But, I don't expected much for this hotel, beside the location pretty far from Kuta or Nusa Dua.

This hotel is great choice if you want going to Gianyar or Ubud area, or East Bali.

Room Tip: many room that I can't get the tip, but lucky if you get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugiphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    993
    357
    114
    50
See reviews for
655
1,104
125
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed there in mid June'12. 2 adults, 3 children in 2 separated ocean view rooms, we couldn't get connecting rooms. Actually we did not book ocean rooms, but after got in the rooms, we found that the view of the rooms is only a kind of workshop besides this hotel, not even garden view. We came for holiday, not only to see such a "terrible" view, so we decided to upgrade our rooms. Of course we had to pay more.
This hotel seems pretty old, could be seen by the old furniture and fixtures. Maybe as a way to be more efficient, they put some lamps off, made the corridors a bit dark, not a smart problem solving I guess, could made the guests especially children feel uncomfortable and afraid.
Breakfast is quite various, standard taste. Room amenities, the quality and also packaging need to be improved.
Actually this is a huge hotel, with a lot facilities but outdated, need refreshment or upgrade. Maybe because a lot guests stay here for compulsory as they are staffs of Garuda Indonesia, hotel management does not need to think or care so much?
Personally I think that Sanur is more comfortable for older people, not quite interesting for children. So hotels here need to be more welcome to children, create more activities for them in order to attract families with children.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view rooms in higher floors, to get better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismoyofx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Lovely old hotel right on the beach.Our choice for 8 nights including the compulsory New Year's eve dinner ( which was amazing) was this well appointed hotel that 30 years ago would have been 'state of the art '.It is in the planning for an upgrade.Lovely rooms with balconys ( low rise complex).Delicious huge buffet breakfast.Really delicious hotel restaurant dining ( although expensive for Bali standards with 21% tax).We didn't really eat that well outside as we forgot to take Lonely planet guide with us to help with rest choices....food is very important to us.They have the biggest pool around with a swim up bar. Not many aussie tourists..lots of German/russians and Dutch so we did feel like we were in a foreign place.All staff lovely and would definitely stay there again.Good value for money and a little quieter.Take the shuttle bus into Hardy's supermarket(4kms) and walk the streets there to eat as it is a little more up market

Room Tip: we had 2 garden rooms on the ground floor as wanted the boys to just run out straight to breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Sanur Beach Hotel for two weeks on our stay in Bali. The hotel is a large beach resort in a good location within Sanur, a fantastic location right on the main street with endless restaurants and shops. I was very much happy with our choice of location, Sanur is the perfect balance of amenities but at the same time is quite a small 'town' and not too brash or overdeveloped, the opposite to Kuta.

We were booked into the standard 'Superior' room. The rooms here are very average but more than adequate. The Superior rooms are, as far as I can tell, the most up to date and have been refurbished within the past few years - the decor is tasteful but simple.

A nice touch is the complimentary two bottles of water that are left in the room every day. The television has a very good range of channels, and the hotel have recently installed free wifi throughout the whole hotel (more on that later). The rooms only have a shower, which was fine for me but you might want to upgrade your room if you require a bathtub.

All rooms have a balcony, our room was in a fantastic location overlooking the gardens swimming pools and the beach in the distance. Its important to note that some of the rooms overlook the other side of the hotel with the car park and the driveway. I would have been incredibly disappointed with one of those rooms.

The hotel is set on a large area with beautiful gardens throughout. There are two swimming pools, and directly adjacent is the large private beach arear. The swimming pools are fantastic throughout the day, apparently the biggest in Bali, there are always plenty of sun loungers around. However one criticism would be that although there are plenty of sun loungers, there are *not* enough with shade or umbrellas. This is a problem for me as I try to stay covered in the middle of the day.

The beach is really impressive, very wide and sun loungers throughout. There is a small public pathway between the hotel and beach, but the beach is only used by hotel guests. Complimentary towels are available from the hut on the beach so you dont need to bring your own.

There are plenty of places to eat within the hotel, although you are really spoilt for choice since the hotel location opens out onto the busy Sanur main street with endless choices of restaurants and shops. During the day the hotel has a stall making nasi goreng and satay. There is also an ice cream hut right on the beach. The beach bar is a fantastic place to relax in the evening before dinner. The hotel in total has three restaurants, of which we had dinner at two - the food is consistently good quality, but we actually found them to be very quiet, we would assume the location of the hotel means most people eat outside the hotel. Breakfast is included in the rate, the choice is really fantastic, certainly not worth missing.

There were a few disappointments with the hotel.

First of all the wifi, it did work but it was constantly frustrating - we found that the system kept asking to re-enter your room number re-connect.

Secondly there were several occasions where the staff were *incredibly* frustrating. It sometimes felt very difficult to get the attention of staff on the beach or at the bar, and you were usually left sitting there for 15 - 20 minutes before you eventually had to go and flag someone to come over. Similarly on one occasion we found it impossible to get the attention of the staff in the restaurant, who seemed to be more interested in setting up the tables for breakfast the following morning - I was literally waving at the staff and they seemed to not notice us.

Lastly is the amount of shade for the sun loungers. The hotel can easily fix this by simply getting a few more umbrellas to cover *all* the sun loungers.

In comparison though, most of the staff did seem to be very friendly and delightful to deal with. The customer service manager, Johnny boy, in particular was fantastic, and always asked us how our stay was and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable - he offered to send us a complimentary fruit bowl to our room or buy us drinks in the hotel.

Generally we were very happy with our stay, the hotel has just the right amenities, the location is fantastic, and the price we got was very good value indeed. There are just a few points that the hotel can improve on, such as the wifi, umbrellas for sun loungers, and consistency of service from the staff.

Room Tip: Request a pool-facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a nice property with big swimming pools and on the beach. We stayed in a sea view room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The service and food was very good. The room was a good size and comfortable. Beware of making local phone calls from your room....they charge $1 per minute! We ate at the Indonesian restaurant at the hotel and the food was delicious.
We were there over New Year's Eve and the only downside was that we were forced to pay a ridiculous price for the New Year's Eve dinner and event. It cost about $175 per person and did not even include alcohol.
The main strip on Sanur is nothing special .... Just the usual tourist shops, restaurants, sports bars blaring music. However better little restaurants and bars can be found off the boardwalk on the beach.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view room it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeniatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was our first stay in sanur in over a dozen visits to Bali. and we are really glad we chose the Sanur Beach Hotel for our 10 nights over the Christmas period. 5 adults and 1 child. Although the rooms are in need of updating, they are very clean and are a good size. I do believe they have commenced upgrading the bathrooms in many of the rooms. The staff were all lovely. Very friendly and very accomodating. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The Breakfast Buffet was the best we have ever had in bali. There was never an issue getting pool lounges as there are 2 big pool areas, both within footsteps of the beach. there are also many sun lounges on the beach itself. Having the private beach of the hotel without getting hasseled by hawkers was fantastic. Plenty of water sports to enjoy right on the beach at the hotel. Great restaurants both on the beach as well as along with road with bars and live music. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definately be back. I am a convert from Legain to Sanur. Loved It.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My family 2 adults and 2 children 10 & 13 stayed at this resort for 7 nights.
The rooms - beds were very hard ,air conditioners in the rooms were very noisy when on high, bar fridges not very cool and you didnt get a top sheet the room was too hot for a dooner but slightly cool without a sheet ,daily service for the rooms was ok but minimal eg sometimes the supplies were filled sometimes not.
Service and general resort were good both pools were plesent to swim in and we had no problems in getting chairs, what I didnt like was the smoking around the pool and in the resturants.
Breakfast was extensive and good we ate out around Sanur for all other meals resort is in a good location.
Free shuttle to Hartys every hour the fitness centre is closed and they are looking for new people to run it or so we were told was dissapointing and not menioned to us until my husband went looking for it.
Massages on the beach were $7:50 for 1 hour Retro cafe on the beach and to the right of the resort was good for meals.
Overall I found my stay here relaxing the resort was ok.

Room Tip: 4th floor is non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJJAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prama Sanur Beach Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Property: Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan P.O. Box 3279, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Sanur Beach Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanur
#11 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#16 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prama Sanur Beach Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 star Hotel, with two large pools located right by the beach. Magnificent lush gardens and Hotel grounds with ample choice of restaurants & shops in Resort as well as just a stroll away.Suitable for the entire family from kids to grandpa... Just 20 minutes from the International airport. There is so much activity and things to do in lovely Sanur, the preferred address in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prama Sanur Beach Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Sanur
Beach Sanur
Prama Sanur Beach Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing