We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Taverna Suites
Nearby Hotels
Sudamala Suites & Villas(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Segara Village Hotel(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Griya Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prama Sanur Beach Bali(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kejora Suites(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Sanur(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Bali(Sanur)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$518
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$513
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
135
145
74
49
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
145
74
49
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager agungsunken bathprivate gardenwatching the sunriseboutique hotelbali stylebeachfront locationsmall hotelrestaurants and shopsbamboohawkersminibardriveroasispavilions
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Everying looks a bit old on this hotel, the rooms are small and if you go there with kids, ask for a room on the ground floor, because the stairs are not safe for them. The pool looks terrible compared to other hotels in the area. Waiters at the restaurant were friendly, but the food is not that great.
All in all, a hotel I wouldn't recommend (thank god we only stayed one night)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel has cottages. The success of your holiday will be determined by which room you will be allcated. Rooms 3 and 4 are very badly located. Although the garden is big, the cottages/rooms are very close together. There us hardly any privacy when sitting on the terrace in front of the room. Guests will pass directly in front of your room/terrace.
The rooms are romantic looking. The bathroom doors are wooden and make a terrible noise which gave us always the giggles.
The ac did hardly work.
The bed is located on a step up area, which is very tricky as the rooms are also not well lit.
The breakfast is very simple, the croissants were hardly baked, no low cal sugar, no choice of tea (the indonesian tea is very tasty, but not available), the coffee is tastless filter and the juice is not fresh and comes out of a carton. Why is the breakfast so poor while we pay 130 us per night.
The pool is deep and not suitable for small children.
We did not eat here. Most of the guests walk to one of the many restaurants close by.
The property has a neglected look which could easily be fixed on a small budget.
The staff is friendly enough and willing to please the guests.
We are seasoned travellers 50 plus and will not come back.
I will also write a review about our stay on beautiful Lembongan.


Anyway,the overall ambiance is romantic.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 and 4, situated in very narrow passageway, next to kitchen area. Dark, not private.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here with our young daughter. The staff were great - always on hand, friendly and attentive. The grounds are lush and superb and the atmosphere very relaxed, in keeping with Sanur in general. Accommodation is in thatched cottages with a rustic, Mediterranean style. The pool is good (but too deep for the youngest children), and the access to the beautiful, sandy beach very good - fun for paddling, sandcastle building and beach-combing. The breakfast included in the rate is very good - you make a choice every morning, and thus the wastage of so many buffet breakfasts is avoided. The Italian-inspired restaurant is good, although more expensive than many neighbouring (and equally good restaurants). The cheapest bottle of wine is USD 35 a bottle - a shame that they can't live up to Italian traditions on this score. We had a family superior room on the 2nd level with 2 bedrooms and an amazing, large veranda. The one minus was the disgusting smell from the toilet. You need to keep the bathroom fan on all day (they should really have told us this) and why, oh why can they not use toilet fresheners?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMPOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at La Taverna for 2 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was tastefully decorated and spacious in comparison to standard double hotel rooms. The outdoor area was a great place to sit and enjoy a cold beer after a busy day laying by the beach. The staff were very helpful and even helped arrange a boat transfer to Lembongan. I would disagree with the last review in relation to the food - I found it to be good value for money, the towels were clean and yes the toilet smelt a little (but not offensive) but don't most toilets smell in Bali? You are after all staying in a third world country. If you are sick of staying at the same old hotel accommodation I don't think you can beat La Taverna.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganandMoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Like most things in life there's good and bad...

The bad...
Funky smelling bathroom. The toilet smelled weird.
The towels have seen better days.
The rooms are in need of renovation, a lick of paint so on.

The good...
The staff! I was amazed by how friendly, caring and just genuine the staff were. I've stayed in five-star hotels and gotten nowhere near the welcome feeling of La Taverna. We holidayed with our twins (22 month old twin girls) and the staff were just amazing with the girls - they really were! I was blown away by just how amazing the Balinese are with children.
The grounds are beautiful!
The pool is great for kids
The beach is also very good - downside though is that the touts sit right on the edge of the beach.

I would very happily return to La Taverna - it's a great value hotel, beautiful grounds, great staff, good food (not great though!), beautiful beach, fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nettsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews