We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !”
Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #45 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Our experience at La Taverna was most satisfying. Met at the airport by Ketut right on time. Whisked away with cool face cloths and bottled water, worth the 250,000 Rp at 10pm and desperate for real food, a shower and comfy bed. The restaurant staff, in the process of closing for the night, must have felt sorry for us and happily agreed to feed us. I was impressed and grateful. Our room, 14. I booked Garden Deluxe (call it what you like, i'm motivated by price and facilities) to accommodate 2 adults and 1 child. On the first floor, with a small outdoor sitting area. Bathroom with a shower. Yep, squeaky wooden doors. Day bed (hard as a rock, but she got used to it) set up as the single for our daughter. Love the shabby chic decor. Everything in the room worked as you would expect it to. Except for the inside lock for the main door. There wasn't one. Quite strange, but a brolly across the handles did the trick. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and bountiful. Spent most of our time pool side. Bit of a beach snob me, wasn't keen to wade through the seaweed for an ocean swim. Lunch and dinner options - Indonesian and Italian - tasty and on par with any other hotel for price. Across the road though is a cool Warung called Little Bird - well priced with an impressive menu. La Taverna staff were friendly, happy to engage with you for a conversation, but still attentive to their duties. Our experience of travelling with a child in Indonesia is like travelling with a rock star, the parents the entourage. Our daughter responded in kind when greeted by name every morning. Experiences like that, make a holiday memorable. We enjoyed our stay here so much we rebooked for the tail end of our trip. This time room 32, more spacious, on the ground floor, larger outdoor sitting area. Shower over sunken bathroom. Very cool hotel, relaxed atmosphere, not your typical conveyor belt luxury at all, elegant without the attitude. Both our stays were weekday so we did not experience the 'invasion' - quite the opposite. Lovely tranquil time. We used a blue taxi back to the airport, about 50,000 Rp as i recall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LJC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for La Taverna Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Beachy vibe, ticked our boxes.

Most beach holidays we have walked 5-10 minutes to the beach, so to be on a beachside location was such a bonus for us. As a family with young child, interconnecting/family rooms were essential and the choices are limited; we need separate rooms or my daughter and husband will kill each other and we are on holiday after all. In this price range the choice is Besakih or La Taverna which are in a similar area and much the same price range. We stayed at La Taverna and visited Besakih – luckily, for us, the correct choice was made.

Room – family room 24/25 – 1st floor, good sized balcony with table, large sofa, fridge and plenty of room for the inflatable crocodile and all the other beach paraphernalia. Into Master Bedroom, cupboard with safe and plenty of storage plus a hanging rail for your clothes, really wide but not long king’ish size bed, bedside lights, nice pebbly floor that doesn’t hurt your feet. Via two very small creaky twin doors into the bathroom – to the left a sink and toilet, to the right a sunken big bath with a shower above. Shower has new head and plenty of force behind it and placed so you do not soak the bathroom when you shower. Downside is there was no mirror in the bathroom and no-where to hang the towels. Upside is I asked for a mirror and within an hour a huge one was fitted above the sink – so folks, I think if you are unhappy here, just ask nicely and they sort it out. Ok, back to the room – via a single squeaky door to the 2nd bedroom, plenty of room here. Two single beds (also quite short, but let’s be honest the locals are not exactly tall!), drawer unit and hanging rail for clothes. Only downside is no reading lights in this room. 2nd bedroom also has a door to the patio/stairs which we kept locked (but useful if your have teenagers coming in later/different times). No ventilation in the bathroom, but the aircon dealt with any odours. Coils left on patio but not good quality and did not stay alight – Circle K next door sold them for pennies, so not complaining. Sound proofing from the floor above/below is superb – can’t hear a thing – we checked this out because downstairs had babies/little ones and we were concerned we may be disturbing them – not a hope.

Breakfast – they need to produce a menu at this point. The verbal menu is often lacking in most of the options, we only found out by mistake that pancakes were available as part of the included breakfast. Also ingredients not very consistent – one day the rice would come with an egg on top and the next day there would be no egg. Some days we were offered chicken rice but others only vegetarian rice suggested. The moral of the story is speak up, be very specific in what you want and you may be pleasantly surprised. Wish they pressed their own juice. I found the noodles to be greasy and tasteless, but am very fussy, so feel free to ignore this point.

Grounds – lovely, beautiful and well kept. You are very near all your neighbours, but La Taverna seems to attract a similar mindset of client, so everyone is chilled. Plenty of gazebo’s to sit and read in.

Pool – nice and large and fairly deep in the middle – not really suitable for very young children. I’m five foot tall and could only stand up on one small corner of the pool or sit on the entry steps. This is perfect our 11 year old. Sunbeds around the pool were not hogged and generally available, although if you love your sun, it might be difficult to locate poolside sunny lounger. But the beach is steps away and there are plenty of comfortable sun beds.

Beach – Sandy. Security keeps the “personal shoppers” at bay. You will get a couple of half hearted lads peddling their glass bottom boat rides but not the pushy types. We loved the High Tide/Low Tide change. At high tide you swim around, at low tide you go rock pooling/exploring the shallows, this made the beach very interesting for our daughter. Plenty of pretty shells available and a vast collection of miniature hermit crabs to terrorise. Sun beds are well spaced and comfortable with the usual table and umbrella in between.

Beach promenade does go in between pool/restaurant area and beach but adds to the people watching and all beachside places have the promenade going through. Security make sure the hawkers are kept well back.

Hawkers on Sanur Beach – not as full on as Legian – slightly half hearted, will walk and talk with you but don’t grab hair/shout abuse/not scary and once you go past their market they stop dead. As we are bright white English folk with florescent ginger hair, we look like a new arrival everyday, so probably get more hassle than bronzed folk. Hawkers tend only to operate near each of the beach markets, so there are bits of the promenade without hawkers. We hired bikes (essential to ring your bell at all times) and they don’t hassle you then. The main road really did not have any hawkers apart from the usual calls for transport. Bemos were regular and easy to flag down – although none of the drivers we met spoke a word of English but fingers indicating thousands of Rp solved that issue – still haven’t worked out the Indo word for stop, but would be useful for next time.

Taxi’s are easy to find and if not Blue Bird, then agree price prior to departure.

Eating out in other places – the usual disparity between the cost of eating on the road as apposed to the beach existed – as did the quality of the food. Better food and prices on the main road, but the view/sounds of the beach can make up for overcooked seafood. Plenty of choice within walking distance on the beach and the road.

Night market a short walk away fabulous value for money – suggest us tourists stick to the cooked food as no sanitation and please look away from the bucket of black water they wash the plates in. The usual Indo fare of Nasi Campur, Satay, Noodles, Rice and calorie per Rp donuts/pancakes all freshly cooked to order – the three of us stuffed ourselves silly for less than £5.

We would stay here again. A couple of tiny gripes. On Sunday, non-residents invade your pool, one of the children approached my husband and bit him! Slightly surreal, so we stuck to the beach on Sunday. The “free meal” we got included in the room was Indonesian or Italian – we foolishly opted for the Indo option, which was greasy and lacking in any flavour. Italian option looked good on the next table.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holidayonastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Ah, its so good to be back in this Italian family-run boutique hotel. This time I'm in the Park Suite where the founder often stays. Private pool in front with private garden and direct access to beach. The resort-feel has been stunningly improved by founders daughter and partner (who used to conceptualize fashion shows for leading designers in New York). They have not thrown out the heritage of the place but instead have enhanced it and given it the passion normally reserved for vintage cars. Its an ideal place for honeymooners, young families and empty-nesters although when I arrived there was a group of gorgeous Japanese dancers here to express movement on the beach to welcome the full moon and could have the private beach all to themselves. The cuisine is fantastic as is the hospitality and prices remain good. It is a real gem for this part of Bali and really feels like home from home. A great place to use as a reunion for friends or family.

Room Tip: Your experience really depends on the quality of room that you book, but it never feels over-crowded...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Back at La Taverna for a very relaxing week in this charming old hotel. Staff were friendly and attentive. My room - a Garden Deluxe, was comfortable and had a nice big private balcony and cable tv - which is new. This really is a special place and watching the sun rise early morning while sipping coffee in the beachside restaurant is something truly special. I liked the new bamboo pool bar and I have to say they have one of the best music collections of anywhere I've stayed.,Bali seems quite quiet at present which suited me fine. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oswaldS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here previously, really liked it and recommended it to friends and family: comfortable, quirky, fantastic location etc. On this visit, I was disappointed and can see why reviews are so divergent. I had room 7 this time - classified as 'superior' - the lowest category. These rooms really should be classified 'budget' and the 'deluxe' rooms classified as 'standard'. The room was nice and perfect for 1 but would be cramped for 2. The shower drainage was bad and when the aircon was on in the room above it was impossible to sleep as it reverberated above the bed.

Normally quite an elegant and tranquil place, La Taverna was crazily crowded when I arrived on a Sunday afternoon. There were little children everywhere and the beach and pool area was strewn with toys, towels and clothes. Turns out that they open the pool, restaurant and beach facilities to day guests and it gets over-run on weekends with expat (and other) families. This totally changes the ambience and makes it extremely unrestful for resident guests - be warned.

Some other tips - the other breakfast options are better than the granola, the taxis at just outside reception are a rip-off (negotiate a better rate with those out on the street), the ongoing construction work continues (but was reasonably unobtrusive), and the nearby Beach Cafe serves the best chilli prawns - and black sticky rice - ever.

In summary - La Taverna straddles a very fine line between shabby and chic. Quirky is great but that can't replace quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at La Taverna for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The location is excellent, right on the beach, and the staff very friendly and willing to help. Our room was a family deluxe (two large interconnecting rooms) overlooking the gardens. It was comfortable (beds especially) and equipped with everything you needed, except for TV. The staff said those were being installed. There were some other renovations going on to upgrade some of the rooms but the noise was minimal and didn’t bother us. The food was good – better than the other places we tried on the beach. In particular the breakfast was varied and never boring. You can really feel the feeling of “old Bali” in this hotel, which is exactly what we wanted and we saw that not many places have it. We would definitely go back for a relaxing, quiet holiday, far away from the confusion of other areas in south Bali.

Room Tip: Family deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed in La taverna for 3 nights in January and had booked a family room (two bedrooms).
We arrived in the middle of the night to a hotel room that had no mosquito nets, the rooms were small and in the main bedroom there was nowhere to sit down except for the bed.
The bathroom was situated between the two bedrooms, the door to get into the bathroom from either bedrooms were very small so during the 3 nights we kept on hiding our heads.
The rooms were in need of a make over and we were very disappointed by the rooms.
The outside of the room had a terrace but under a very low cover and there were always tons of mosquitos hanging around so this was not an inviting place to sit down.
The two bedrooms were upstairs and the stairs were very narrow and steep, not the kind of stairs you want to walk up and down with small children.

having said all of this the breakfast was great, big and lots of choice, we also enjoyed the pool that came with this hotel.

We stayed in Bali for 2 weeks and this was our first hotel it was also the most expensive hotel of all places and i would argue that the room was the worst of all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanette418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#70 of 78 in Sanur
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#31 of 78 in Sanur
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gazebo Beach Hotel
Gazebo Beach Hotel
#62 of 78 in Sanur
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: £72 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing