We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #41 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed 7 August 2012

La Taverna is a nice hotel in a peaceful garden setting on the beach in Sanur, however it was by far the most expensive place we stayed in in Bali/Lombok/Gilis and not the best place we stayed either. The rooms are a little quirky, which is great, the staff are very friendly and helpful and it has a great location right on the beach. The breakfast is lovely although the restaurant seems way overpriced. I have no complaints per se with this hotel (although if I had to find one it would be that the towels were rubbish - thin, old and threadbare!) Its just that we had such great experiences with accommodation at half the price or less for the rest of our holiday that this place seemed decidedly average in comparison. Sanur is a good place to stay before your return journey home though as its only half an hour away from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amarillo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel would have been lovely back when it was built in the 1970s--a great location on a nice stretch of beach in Sanur. But the owners have not put much money into maintaining it and keeping rooms up to date. It feels like a place the hobbit would live, with moldy rooms, unpleasant smells coming from the bathroom drain, and pretty Balinese room doors that do not fully close (leaving several inch gaps in some cases, that allow mosquitos and heat into the rooms. I moved rooms as the initial upstairs deluxe room I was given, while lovely in an earthy way, had all sorts of problems--too hot and sunny for the air conditioner to begin to cool, a safe that one could tuck under one's arms and walk out with, windows without screens, and a double entry door with a three inch gap when "closed" (a large padlock was used to keep the door shut). The second room I got was on the ground floor, and was dark, with poor lighting and red lampshades and moldy smell. When I was at the front desk I heard two other customers also complaining about the urine smells in their bathrooms. They were clearly disappointed as the online descriptions of the place make it sound far more lovely than it is. Indonesian friends were shocked when they heard that I had paid above $100 for my room and told me I could have had a real 3 star place for that amount of money. Even the staff at the hotel were apologetic about the subpar accommodations, given the price I had paid. And because I had booked with Priceline, a reimbursement was out of the question. The staff, I must say, was the best thing the place has going for it. They went the extra mile to try to make up for the poor maintenance of the place. They were lovely, polite and more helpful than any Balinese staff I have encountered...but they could not do much about the fact that they are employed in a hotel that has not been properly maintained. For the same amount of money, you'd be much better off going to another Sanur place.

Room Tip: If you can't get an upstairs room, skip this place. Also, be sure to book directly with the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

La Taverna is the perfect little hotel centrally located in Sanur. It is right on the boardwalk and is the perfect place to relax especially if you're tired of the crowds of Legian, Kuta, and Seminyak. We welcomed the tranquility of Sanur and La Taverna was the perfect sanctuary. We were in Bali during the rainy season so if the rain came we would lounge under the many verandas located throughout the hotel grounds of La Taverna. There is also a great restaurant on the premises. The beach in front of the hotel is serene and it is a short walk to the boats that take you to the nearby islands for snorkeling and more exploring. The staff at La Taverna is friendly and make sure that you have what you need on a daily basis. The rooms are clean and well kept. There is fresh water replenished every day as well as coffee and tea. I think the hotel is a good value based on the amenities and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReyShaunMadolora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We loved our stay at La Taverna. This place is full of old world charm which is no wonder since it is one of the oldest resorts in Bali. It has loads of character with beautiful gardens dotted with pavilions for reading or 'taking tea', rooms look to be all quite unique and are decorated with a mix of traditional balinese and colonial european furnishings. We were lucky to be upgraded to a deluxe double room free of charge which was spacious and very comfortable. Previous reviews had complained about the state of the bathrooms but they appear to have been upgraded because ours was new, clean and in fact very beautiful.

La Taverna is now managed by a seasoned french hotelier Jean-Luc who is dedicated to refreshing this charming resort-hotel whilst retaining its unique character. Like in Woody Allen's latest film "Midnight in Paris" where the protagonist finds himself slipping back in time to mingle with Hemingway, Picasso and Dali, I could imagine sitting in one of the pavilions overlooking the sea and sipping a gin and tonic with the likes of artist Donald Friend.

The food at the restaurant was exceptionally good and the service very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples, friends and families alike.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for a chilly 4 days on the beach. The hotel was quite busy and the rooms packed in, but it was quiet and relaxing. Having been forewarned on this site we checked the bathroom before we accepted the room and found it sub-standard and not too clean. On asking for another room we were immediately moved, but the poor person who had originally been booked into ours got the cracked and gruesome bath and mouldy wash-basin. The hotel should do something about the state of this bathroom!
Everything else was lovely. The restaurant was good, breakfast substantial, staff helpful and cheerful and the service good. The location was ideal for us, quiet and right on the beach. Our room was reasonably large, but with a big veranda with a minibar and tea and coffee. The large bed had clean mosquito nets, which allowed us to turn off the AC and have the windows open, as the nights were cool.
The pool is large, but very close to the restaurant if you want to wallow and aren't exactly endowed with an idea body!

Room Tip: Check before you accept the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fltcanterbury_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Our experience at La Taverna was most satisfying. Met at the airport by Ketut right on time. Whisked away with cool face cloths and bottled water, worth the 250,000 Rp at 10pm and desperate for real food, a shower and comfy bed. The restaurant staff, in the process of closing for the night, must have felt sorry for us and happily agreed to feed us. I was impressed and grateful. Our room, 14. I booked Garden Deluxe (call it what you like, i'm motivated by price and facilities) to accommodate 2 adults and 1 child. On the first floor, with a small outdoor sitting area. Bathroom with a shower. Yep, squeaky wooden doors. Day bed (hard as a rock, but she got used to it) set up as the single for our daughter. Love the shabby chic decor. Everything in the room worked as you would expect it to. Except for the inside lock for the main door. There wasn't one. Quite strange, but a brolly across the handles did the trick. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and bountiful. Spent most of our time pool side. Bit of a beach snob me, wasn't keen to wade through the seaweed for an ocean swim. Lunch and dinner options - Indonesian and Italian - tasty and on par with any other hotel for price. Across the road though is a cool Warung called Little Bird - well priced with an impressive menu. La Taverna staff were friendly, happy to engage with you for a conversation, but still attentive to their duties. Our experience of travelling with a child in Indonesia is like travelling with a rock star, the parents the entourage. Our daughter responded in kind when greeted by name every morning. Experiences like that, make a holiday memorable. We enjoyed our stay here so much we rebooked for the tail end of our trip. This time room 32, more spacious, on the ground floor, larger outdoor sitting area. Shower over sunken bathroom. Very cool hotel, relaxed atmosphere, not your typical conveyor belt luxury at all, elegant without the attitude. Both our stays were weekday so we did not experience the 'invasion' - quite the opposite. Lovely tranquil time. We used a blue taxi back to the airport, about 50,000 Rp as i recall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LJC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Beachy vibe, ticked our boxes.

Most beach holidays we have walked 5-10 minutes to the beach, so to be on a beachside location was such a bonus for us. As a family with young child, interconnecting/family rooms were essential and the choices are limited; we need separate rooms or my daughter and husband will kill each other and we are on holiday after all. In this price range the choice is Besakih or La Taverna which are in a similar area and much the same price range. We stayed at La Taverna and visited Besakih – luckily, for us, the correct choice was made.

Room – family room 24/25 – 1st floor, good sized balcony with table, large sofa, fridge and plenty of room for the inflatable crocodile and all the other beach paraphernalia. Into Master Bedroom, cupboard with safe and plenty of storage plus a hanging rail for your clothes, really wide but not long king’ish size bed, bedside lights, nice pebbly floor that doesn’t hurt your feet. Via two very small creaky twin doors into the bathroom – to the left a sink and toilet, to the right a sunken big bath with a shower above. Shower has new head and plenty of force behind it and placed so you do not soak the bathroom when you shower. Downside is there was no mirror in the bathroom and no-where to hang the towels. Upside is I asked for a mirror and within an hour a huge one was fitted above the sink – so folks, I think if you are unhappy here, just ask nicely and they sort it out. Ok, back to the room – via a single squeaky door to the 2nd bedroom, plenty of room here. Two single beds (also quite short, but let’s be honest the locals are not exactly tall!), drawer unit and hanging rail for clothes. Only downside is no reading lights in this room. 2nd bedroom also has a door to the patio/stairs which we kept locked (but useful if your have teenagers coming in later/different times). No ventilation in the bathroom, but the aircon dealt with any odours. Coils left on patio but not good quality and did not stay alight – Circle K next door sold them for pennies, so not complaining. Sound proofing from the floor above/below is superb – can’t hear a thing – we checked this out because downstairs had babies/little ones and we were concerned we may be disturbing them – not a hope.

Breakfast – they need to produce a menu at this point. The verbal menu is often lacking in most of the options, we only found out by mistake that pancakes were available as part of the included breakfast. Also ingredients not very consistent – one day the rice would come with an egg on top and the next day there would be no egg. Some days we were offered chicken rice but others only vegetarian rice suggested. The moral of the story is speak up, be very specific in what you want and you may be pleasantly surprised. Wish they pressed their own juice. I found the noodles to be greasy and tasteless, but am very fussy, so feel free to ignore this point.

Grounds – lovely, beautiful and well kept. You are very near all your neighbours, but La Taverna seems to attract a similar mindset of client, so everyone is chilled. Plenty of gazebo’s to sit and read in.

Pool – nice and large and fairly deep in the middle – not really suitable for very young children. I’m five foot tall and could only stand up on one small corner of the pool or sit on the entry steps. This is perfect our 11 year old. Sunbeds around the pool were not hogged and generally available, although if you love your sun, it might be difficult to locate poolside sunny lounger. But the beach is steps away and there are plenty of comfortable sun beds.

Beach – Sandy. Security keeps the “personal shoppers” at bay. You will get a couple of half hearted lads peddling their glass bottom boat rides but not the pushy types. We loved the High Tide/Low Tide change. At high tide you swim around, at low tide you go rock pooling/exploring the shallows, this made the beach very interesting for our daughter. Plenty of pretty shells available and a vast collection of miniature hermit crabs to terrorise. Sun beds are well spaced and comfortable with the usual table and umbrella in between.

Beach promenade does go in between pool/restaurant area and beach but adds to the people watching and all beachside places have the promenade going through. Security make sure the hawkers are kept well back.

Hawkers on Sanur Beach – not as full on as Legian – slightly half hearted, will walk and talk with you but don’t grab hair/shout abuse/not scary and once you go past their market they stop dead. As we are bright white English folk with florescent ginger hair, we look like a new arrival everyday, so probably get more hassle than bronzed folk. Hawkers tend only to operate near each of the beach markets, so there are bits of the promenade without hawkers. We hired bikes (essential to ring your bell at all times) and they don’t hassle you then. The main road really did not have any hawkers apart from the usual calls for transport. Bemos were regular and easy to flag down – although none of the drivers we met spoke a word of English but fingers indicating thousands of Rp solved that issue – still haven’t worked out the Indo word for stop, but would be useful for next time.

Taxi’s are easy to find and if not Blue Bird, then agree price prior to departure.

Eating out in other places – the usual disparity between the cost of eating on the road as apposed to the beach existed – as did the quality of the food. Better food and prices on the main road, but the view/sounds of the beach can make up for overcooked seafood. Plenty of choice within walking distance on the beach and the road.

Night market a short walk away fabulous value for money – suggest us tourists stick to the cooked food as no sanitation and please look away from the bucket of black water they wash the plates in. The usual Indo fare of Nasi Campur, Satay, Noodles, Rice and calorie per Rp donuts/pancakes all freshly cooked to order – the three of us stuffed ourselves silly for less than £5.

We would stay here again. A couple of tiny gripes. On Sunday, non-residents invade your pool, one of the children approached my husband and bit him! Slightly surreal, so we stuck to the beach on Sunday. The “free meal” we got included in the room was Indonesian or Italian – we foolishly opted for the Indo option, which was greasy and lacking in any flavour. Italian option looked good on the next table.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holidayonastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.0 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#71 of 79 in Sanur
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#34 of 79 in Sanur
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sari Sanur Resort
Sari Sanur Resort
#59 of 79 in Sanur
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: £82 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing