We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #62 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic, basic accommodation”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights travelling as 2 families. Disappointing and tired accommodation which could do with a long overdue overhaul. I understand that for some travellers the 'rustic' may be appealing, but the bathroom felt dirty, hair on the bed sheets when we arrived and we kept the blinds closed so we didn't have to look at the falling down building which was our 'view'. Breakfast was a bit restricted unless you wanted to pay extra, although the lunch's we had on a couple of occasions were fine. It's a shame as it has a lovely location right on the beach and a very short walk from bars, shops and restaurants. Unlike some holiday makers i enjoyed the little chats with the massage ladies on the beach and finding out more about the lovely people and culture of Bali. Wouldn't be in a hurry to book La Taverna again on our next trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lornapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    136
    71
    49
    30
See reviews for
109
183
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have stayed at much better hotels and paid less , some of the so called Bali furniture was that old you was scared to touch incase it collapsed , same breakfast every day , thankfully had only booked four nights on the third day we had breakfast out , we had a room with a sleep out for the kids , the door was two planks wood with a wooden steak to lock it , ants in there beds , the grounds where tired , the reception said it all old unwelcoming , beach beds where tired and if you wanted a massage forget it you weren't allowed , the plus was the location and the showers and bed , this hotel is no more than three star and should charge accordingly .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bkk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This beachfront resort has an amazing location on Sanur beach with a chill beach bar.
We stayed at La Taverna for 2 nights and wanted to stay longer. Love this place , however didn't enjoy the foods here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_pinpinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just had 1 week here ( deluxe villa, large and great, think the superior may of been a bit small for comfort but only as we had room to spread out our gear for the week) and found it a fantastic small hotel where we will return again next year. We have had 3 visits to Bali and stayed in a different hotel each time in Seminyak and Sanur and found this Hotel a great place, quaint as it is a old style hotel with all the Balinese Features, the bathrooms are so different but we loved this feature and was plenty of room. Yes water was hot and pressure ok for my long thick hair to wash. Yes some towels were thin and brown but they must of had a new stock in while we were there as most days we had lovely fluffy thick white towels and beach towels. I would say the lighting is low but that is because it is a Balinese Villa so no centre light so only side lights but hey you are in Bali and this is how they live if you don't want that then go to the usual run of the mill hotel with out any fun features. Breakfast was ample for the average person if you are a big eater then maybe not but for us it was a delicious plentiful breakfast consisting of a plate of fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, tea or coffee and a basket of fresh breads and buns plain and sweet... we don't eat bread so asked for an extra hash brown with our eggs and this was no bother to them. Yes you get two eggs done as you want and well cooked too. Restaurant is more expensive than others but very yummy food and a bit different with nice sauces etc ( shame not more people use it as it is nice) . The sun beds on the beach were well catered for and service if you want great. The massage ladies and hawkers are not allowed on this area so you do not get annoyed while relaxing. There is plenty of restaurants along the beach front to choose from and even more on the main road behind which are well catered for with live entertainment. The whole of Bali has cleaned up since our last visit including the beaches and roads, no beggars to be seen now days and the shops at Sanur are great and good variety compared to 3 years ago. Lots of markets along the beach to visit and not as busy as in the Seminyak area. The one thing that I was impressed with with this hotel is that it is small so your walk from villa to beach/restaurant is 2-5 mins and another couple to front gate... compared to others we have stayed in that was a 10 min walk each time or if you forgot something.
The staff were friendly, helpful and the villa was cleaned great and we also had ours swept out in the evening and freshened up. Yes you need to use the mossie nets and take something to spray on as a lot of foliage so there are mossies around. In all we loved our stay and I am very glad I did not cancel after reading the reviews before that were negative and complaining ... not sure where they stayed :) and did not see a cockroach at all the week we were there :)

So yes we will be returning on our next visit

Room Tip: Deluxe for space and deluxe family for 2 kids as there are little side rooms for them that look comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We did really enjoy our stay at La Taverna, but it has issues. Pros - location, staff, (wayan who looks after the beach area is amazing, and the proprietor is very helpful) interesting rooms.Cons-shower doesn't drain so you are always standing in a pool of dirty water, and restaurant over priced for the offering, breakfast is pleasant but a little limited., and our friends had animals in their roof. I Overall I sense they have limited capacity to invest and update this cute but old hotel. We would consider staying again but would look at other options first.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the hotel is ok, it has a little old world charm about it.
Breakfast~
The restaurant is right at the beachfront so you would/should really look forward to a nice leisurely tasty breakfast.
when you book this hotel online it says breakfast included - by this they mean some fruit, pastry and a bowl of corn flakes if you want them.
No toast and not even a boiled egg! Thats ok when you are home but when I go on holiday you enjoy the breakfast treats of cooked eggs etc.
If you would like eggs or a cooked breakfast, it will cost you! I thought this was pretty lousy considering the room rate paid and that most of the hotels in Bali offer a full spread for this meal.
Rooms were ok, had a good sleep.
Location is great and you can have a nice long morning walk on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked and paid for 14 nights in what was described to us a 'rustic, italian style hotel'. We arrived and were sadly dissapointed. Our room was small, old and in dire need of a renovation. Our bed was situated on a raised platform (0.5 m) and due to my wifes pregnancy was just asking for a trip to the hospital after a midnight toilet run.

We asked to change rooms but were told we would have to pay for the privelige. Our room was now costing $180 AUS per night.

The second room (which was an upgrade) was no better. The room had no hot water, which they couldn't fix, the drainage in the shower didn't work and our bed was harder than stone. We asked for a comfier bed but were told they were all the same and nothing could be done.

After two nights in the hotel we decided to find somewhere else to stay for the remainder of our trip. The fact that we lost nearly $1500 by moving accomodation shows how poor the hotel quality was. The french manager refused to refund us any money.

This was my 9th time to Bali and usually I have no issues with any of the hotels I stay in. I highly recommend that no one uses this hotel as there are much nicer and cheaper hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinkbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gazebo Beach Hotel
Gazebo Beach Hotel
#55 of 76 in Sanur
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Property: La Taverna Suites
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing