We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay once again...”
Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #25 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has had some negative feedback at times, but we have enjoyed our 2nd stay at La Taverna in September. It might depend on what room type you have, but we found our Family Deluxe room just perfect for our family of 2 adults & 2 children. We requested a ground floor room & luckily this time, that's what we got. Our room was nice & close to the restaurant & pool. The room was spacious with 2 queen sized beds & 2 bathrooms. Each room had a separate entrance & porch, a nice place to sit & read a book.
We love the fact that this is a small hotel & it didn't take long to walk to the beach path or the main road - Jl Danau Tamblingan. We also love the old world charm of La Taverna. If you are after new & shiny, this is not the place for you.
Our only negative would be the breakfast, adequate enough but would of been better with a few more choices.
Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: From memory our Family Deluxe rooms were No's 3 & 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CantikSekali0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was nervous arriving at this hotel due to the many negative reviews that I had read but due to the location on the beach we decided to go ahead.

What a wonderful surprise we had. The hotel itself is so charming. Lots of bamboo covered lodges tucked into a beautiful lush green garden which snakes around until it opens out into the hotel restaurant and the esplanade and beach.

In fact I was more impressed with the hotel than the beach!

We had room 25 upstairs and just around the corner from reception. The room was huge with an unusual little shower behind lovely old wooden doors but all new fittings. Likewise the sinks and taps were all new. It seems like the hotel is going through a refurbishment so perhaps if coming in the near future ask for a refurbished room.

There was also a stone bath in the main bedroom. The water pressure was not great enough to fill it but a nice little idea. We had a huge king size bed and our children two tittle singles that doubled as sofas during the day.

We had a balcony that ran right round the entire room however it was too narrow to sit on. Only good for drying clothes, however,the whole point of being here is to sit on the beach to relax so was not a problem. If this is important request a refurbished room on the ground floor for a verandah and table and sofas.

The swimming pool at the hotel is fantastic. Not massive but very deep so great fun. Extremely clean crystal water and generally quiet with enough loungers. Likewise the beach in front of the hotel had good lounger provision too.

The staff were extremely pleasant. Breakfasts simple but tasty and the beach was nice. It is not a stunning beach but reasonably clean except for the stray dog poo that appears here ad there. The water tended to be murky in the morning but when the tide went out in the afternoon it was clearer and you could see a few little things but generally snorkelling off the beach here is very poor.

We did not take meals at the hotel restaurant but had our lunches at the Beach Cafe, great pizzas and chilled atmosphere and dinners were at the Sand. Lovely fresh caught and BBQ shell fish with sea breezes. Really relaxed and again both welcome of young children with good childrens menus. Both restaurants are left out of the hotel along the beach.

Sanur is a quiet place. Ideal for quiet and family relaxation time. The hotel provided just that and its unusual buildings, nice fittings and little touches were lovely. One evening a powercut took out all the electricity at the hotel. When we returned from our evening a few little lit candles were left by our room so we would not trip on the steps. Really a very thoughtful thing to do.

I have no negatives about this hotel and I am sure once all the rooms are up to the standard of number 25 it will be perfect.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished garden view room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The Hotel was our Last Destination in bali before leaving. We had higher expectations. Finally it is a three star hotel. The Beach is Good, the Garden ok. But negative impressions came from the rooms. They can be quite small and incredibly dark. In the ones downstairs everybody can Look inside at night. And finally we had a cockroach in our Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay342765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We ended our roundtrip to Bali here with a 2 night stay. It was the most expensive hotel we had during our stay. The room was nice but was not matching expectations in regards to the price. The value of the hotel is mainly based upon the location as it is located right on the beachfront. The garden and swimming pool were nice and well maintained. We did not have enough interaction with the staff to really comment on this but overall they were friendly. Breakfast was good but choise was rather limited (again based upon the price I would have expected more options). The room was nice and tastefull with all you need in it (international tv channels, safe, airco, etc) but we had a small ant investation in it as well which we did not need. The bathroom was also nice and clean but here the drains sometimes had issues getting rid of the water in the shower and sink. Overall a nice place to stay with an ok value for your money if you want to be close to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivarr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We decided to spend a day by a pool next to the ocean. La Taverna is situated on the beach with a pool. The cost for the day including a beach towel was 150k rupiah this included drinks and food to our choice for the same amount. The service was excellent and the food satified all of us. A place to visit if you have had enough of the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It was our last hotel in Indonesia, Bali, and we had especially asked for a nice lovely family suite, in a magnificient area. What we got was to start a very cold unfriendly welcome at the reception and then the worst room we had of our holiday in Indonesia (21 days). Once a week they put a very toxic product and we just got in on this day. Avoid room 8, no garden view, and this smell, so toxic that I started to faint and feel very sick. So we asked an another room. They gave us after a huge complaint from our side room 1 near the kitchen.... so with a child, forget about sleeping early and long in the morning due to all the kitchen noise and smell. Let's say we won't come back for sure. The only positive thing of this hotel was the staff in the restaurant, so sweet and kind.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 8 and 1
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently returned to la taverna after first visiting it more than 30 years ago. Not a lot had changed! It has a fabulous position on the beach and it was lovely to have breakfast right on the beach if you wished. The breakfast was good but when I asked for banana pancake instead of eggs was told it would be extra! The rooms were dark and the bathroom in need of an overhaul and new towels to replace the grey and frayed ones we hd. I think management needs to go to the Tandjung Sari to see how a first class hotel is run. There is no comparison. It's sad but we will not be returning to our old favourite. The pluses are its position, the staff are delightful and its quirkiness - the minuses are the lack of good management. The only dinner we had in the restaurant was not good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#32 of 82 in Sanur
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 82 in Sanur
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#18 of 82 in Sanur
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.1 mi away
Sari Sanur Resort
Sari Sanur Resort
#62 of 82 in Sanur
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing