We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good 20 year later”
Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #60 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still good 20 year later”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Delighted to be back after a long absence and to find it just as good. La Taverna is from the early times of international holidaying in Bali and it is all the better for that. The villas are very comfortable and the ambiance is uniquely a merger of Balinese and Italian, showing both sides of it's heritage. This all happens set in one of the best landscaped gardens in Bali. The absolute beach frontage is as good as any of the best and it is great to see the trees have grown to maturity, allowing breakfast and lunch in the shade. The pool is private and in full sun right next to the restaurant. The food has been very good and the staff are fantastic and very polite and friendly.
A warning though, if you are a traveller who is feels that the cheapness of the food and complaining about it not being so, is most important concern of your trip or that you are tall enough to hit your head on the low traditional doorways and feel that it is someone else's fault, you are missing the point. This little hotel is special and the high number of return guests is witness to that!

Room Tip: We stayed this time in deluxe room and our three 20 y old sons in co joined rooms, both were very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    136
    71
    49
    30
See reviews for
109
184
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really loved this place. Directly on the beach with a nice pool. We thought the room was spacious with a nice bathroom. Outside seating area was also very spacious. Staff were nice, breakfast good, outside hotel you can easily walk to several places for dinner and supermarket & ATM are around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we selected the hotel for it's location, it was mentioned in a few guidebooks and the website looked very good.
First the good bits:
- excellent location in Sanur, direct on the beach. Every morning you have breakfast with seaview. Lots of good and inexpensive restaurants on the mainstreet of with your feet in the sand on the beach. It's direct on one of the best streches of beach in Sanur.
- the garden and bungalows look very nice, serene
- a good pool with nice steps for our small children
- it wasn't very crowded, so it has a relaxed feeling
- it's a hotel, so there are other travellers to talk to and children to play with (compared to all the private villa's definately a good point)
- they have family room with a separate room for the kids!
- they have a very friendly and good group of drivers that drive you anywhere for reasonable prices. They also have a child seat (very rare on Bali!).

however, it wasn't all good
- it's old, i don't need everything slick and modern and i like traditional Balinese design. But the place feels old inside the rooms. Airco works, but not too good
- some sheets are dirty
- towels are raffled and old
- shower works, but hot water slow or not too warm
- drains in shower don't work to well
- bed noisy if you turn around
- reception staff friendly, not very informative
- curtains in childroom (we had a familyroom) are very thin, so at 6am it's bright in the room (expect children to wake early..). after talking to reception we dediced to put the blankets over the curtain rail to make it a bit darker.
- included breakfast is basic and variation only possible if you pay.

All above points aren't too bad and we still made it into great time. However it wasn't the luxury bali we expected. if we would have paid 50US dollar (not 150US like we did), it would feel better. Bali is great, Sanur is great, biking on the boardwalk along the beach is great, eating at benno's on the beach is the best! http://www.tripadvisor.nl/Restaurant_Review-g297700-d1179989-Reviews-Benno_s_Restaurant-Sanur_Denpasar_Bali.html
So go to Sanur, if you can get a very good deal you could stay here, just don't expect too much. Compared to Kuta - Seminyak area it's very relaxed here and the water is nice, warm and calm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed here and unfortunately, it's not like it used to be. Because we booked "off the street" it seems we were not entitled to airport transfers unlike nearly every other hotel we stayed in in Bali. When we were booking in we were met with stern warnings about no drinking in rooms otherwise you incur a fairly hefty "corkage" charge....(what else are you supposed to do with the obligatory duty frees one brings in?!) signed by "THE MANAGEMENT". It seemed like THE MANAGEMENT wanted to impose their presence on everything and they were not at all friendly or very helpful and just seemed intent on getting as much as they could out of you...they even wanted to charge r250,000 just to pick us up from the ferry to Sanur which is not exactly far away. The staff were very nice as ever though, but all seemed new and inexperienced so they were slow and inefficient, although that didn't bother us. The place has definitely gone downhill since we were last there in 2010, a lot shabbier and very expensive for what it was....we were glad we got a so called discount rate off the street as we wouldn't have thought it good value for money if we had paid full price as per their own web site. Room was fine, A/C struggled to keep it cool through the day and it was large and quirky, just as we like it. La Taverna still has the oldy worldy Bali feel to it, but the prices have crept up and drinks and food are bordering on extortionate, which simply meant we ate and drank elsewhere. THE MANAGEMENT (always in capital letters everywhere you read!) are quite poor and certainly don't manage very well, he was Swiss and did not have a very friendly or helpful demeanour, which was a shame as it spoiled an otherwise nice place. I see from other reviews that experiences are similar so I hope the owner who lives next door takes note and changes THE MANAGEMENT to people with more people skills!! Lovely surroundings though and garden area on the beachside with a fabulous bar. Curiously, it was never well patronised in the evenings, no doubt due to others experiencing similar to us re prices/service etc. So overall, an average hotel that will price itself out of the market if THE MANAGEMENT don't pick their act up.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike and Annett... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights at La Taverna and enjoyed the hotel immensely. The hotel is beachfront, quiet and well maintained. There's lots of sun beds on the beach and the was pool clean, deep and cool. The breakfast is very nice, eggs any style with ham or bacon, fruit juice, fresh fruit and a basket of pastries and toast and coffee/tea. Breakfast is served in the restaurant which is open and spacious and has ocean views. We stayed in a deluxe room which had two interconnecting rooms with two king beds and a rollaway, two bathrooms, two TV's and two verandahs. The rooms are older in style and a bit dark, as are the bathrooms, however both were clean and functional. La Taverna is centrally located on the main street in Sanur and near many great restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: The interconnecting rooms are spacious and great value for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 20Colin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I can see why this place has attracted some fairly poor reviews recently. All is certainly not right. However all is certainly not wrong either and there were enough good bits for us that we enjoyed our 3 night stay. We rather liked our quirky little room. The bed was comfy, the room was quiet enough (although I think this was rather because our neighbours were considerate than because the room had exceptional soundproofing) and the aircon worked very well. There was plenty of comfortable seating in the room which was good for cooling off for a bit as the weather in Sanur was very hot and humid when we stayed and we didn't want to be out in it all the time. We were very happy using the pool and beach areas. All of the Indonesian staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Very miserly looking servings of fruit compared to previous places we had stayed on Bali, the juices tasted peculiar and the coffee was very weak. One morning the table was also not properly wiped clean, cutlery looked smeary and a side plate was chipped. The staff seemed inexperienced so probably needed better management. We had lunch in the restaurant one day. It was fine but expensive for what it was. Drinks there were also expensive so we only had one beer there. It was also fairly evident that some things were in need of a bit of a refurb. We are not really used to staying in places which are this upmarket (pool, beach front restaurant etc.) and we did manage to negotiate a fairly large discount on their published room rates by just arriving without a booking. As such for us it seemed fine. I can imagine if you paid full whack and/or are used to staying in posher place this could well come as a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrLizT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for 30 years and always encounter the same staff from when I was a child. Not this time. ALL staff are new and wearing black and white trainee uniforms. There were NO experienced staff. The young girls couldn't speak English, the drinks were watered down and food slow to come. Our family ordered pizzas which didn't have rhe correct toppings on them. When I questioned where the basil was, the girl came back from the kitchen to report the chef's response: It was dried basil. Really? In Bali, where basil is readily available and we are in an Italian restaurant!? The food and drinks were disappointing, and service terrible. Wasted a night out going here.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Heidinewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gazebo Beach Hotel
Gazebo Beach Hotel
#53 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Property: La Taverna Suites
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing