We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet beach hotel”
Review of La Taverna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Taverna Suites
Ranked #72 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet beach hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lovely beach hotel, a bit aging but with nice landscape. Took a villa. Nice garden, but it would need refurbishment. Otherwise the design is nice. The pool is 80's style. The beach is ok. Breakfast is 90's style also. Asking an espresso instead regular coffee makes the staff almost fainting! Very basic service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tycoon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    137
    71
    49
    31
See reviews for
110
184
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Awful, old, out dated. Hugely over priced. Certainly nothing special except for the excellent location and beautiful canopy trees in the out side eating area. staff lovely but service not great. Owners need to improve rooms- comfortable beds, decent window covering, updated bathrooms, fix ceiling fans, try to eliminate mice in rooms, and give it a well deserving face lift.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikkifoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockholm
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had pizza and pasta at La taverna several times (including take away). Tasted really good, and when it comes to pasta I am rather picky. So I think you will be satisfied, as long as you do not get the idea that it is a fancy authentic Italian.

Good thing is that they have a 1 day pool and beach membership for 150000 that is credited towards consumption. So if you have lunch here you get a chair and pool access "for free".

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank M_I-I_K3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's located right on the beach in Sanur, near to just about everything. Rooms are basic, a bit small for a family of 4. (We got family room with 1ba). But for only 2 nights, it was fine. I'd imagine it would get a bit cramp if stays longer. There are family rooms that are bigger, but it was occupied. Breakfast is basic and menu has a small limited options. Beach gazebo is welcoming during afternoon sun as theirs are quite shady. Could use new mattresses though. But for the price, it was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinylia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have been staying at La Taverna Hotel for 25years and eating there for 31 years. There have been lots of changes over the years some good some not so good but overall I love this Hotel that's why I come back every year. The serenity, so peaceful, the view overlooking the beach, I find it hard to leave my " reserved" breakfast table. Speaking of breakfast, I don't understand the negative reviews , what do people want? How could you not be satisfied with a basket of toast, croissants & pastries, fruit platter & juice plus eggs of any type & bacon.....waiter service not buffet cooking your own toast......On my last trip this June I met Yohanes, the new Operations Manager, what a delight he is...After a conversation re me staying at La Taverna over many years I was presented with a beautiful letter thanking me for my loyalty to the Hotel plus a voucher for a 3 Course Meal for Myself, my Daughter and Grandson plus a lovely bottle Wine. A Cabana was reserved for us on the beach and we had 5 Staff looking after us.......to say it was perfect is an understatement. If your after a resort style hotel then La Taverna is not for you BUT if you want a peaceful, small, Balinese style rooms ( no two rooms are the same) beautiful gardens and a scenic ocean view then you can't go passed La Taverna......roll on 2015

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 and 3&4 are family units, 2 Double bedrooms & 2 bathrooms with nice balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

November 2013, we booked here online and paid in full up front as the photos looked nice and the thought of staying in some of Sanur oldest traditional gardens was appealing. However on arrival we were shown to our room which was the Garden suit, a second level room which was very hot and the airconditioning was not working. We asked the manager if he could change our room and we were shown another room on ground floor which was a lot cheaper than what we had paid for. It had a hole in the roof and mosquitos in the room, we rejected that and were then shown to another room which also had mosquitos in the room and the lights did not work.

We raised all these issues with the Manger (a tall Dutch man) who refused to hear our concerns. He was very aggressive and rude. We asked to cancel our booking and requested a refund which the Manger refused saying we must read the fine print in our booking forms NO REFUNDS!

We were so tired from traveling that we just wanted somewhere nice to stay so after arguing for 45 minutes about our money we decided to just leave with out our $400 AUD with no where to stay.

We were lucky we found a nice hotel and saved our holiday. I would not go back here ever again, all the our facilities are inferior to other hotels in the area for the same money.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Delighted to be back after a long absence and to find it just as good. La Taverna is from the early times of international holidaying in Bali and it is all the better for that. The villas are very comfortable and the ambiance is uniquely a merger of Balinese and Italian, showing both sides of it's heritage. This all happens set in one of the best landscaped gardens in Bali. The absolute beach frontage is as good as any of the best and it is great to see the trees have grown to maturity, allowing breakfast and lunch in the shade. The pool is private and in full sun right next to the restaurant. The food has been very good and the staff are fantastic and very polite and friendly.
A warning though, if you are a traveller who is feels that the cheapness of the food and complaining about it not being so, is most important concern of your trip or that you are tall enough to hit your head on the low traditional doorways and feel that it is someone else's fault, you are missing the point. This little hotel is special and the high number of return guests is witness to that!

Room Tip: We stayed this time in deluxe room and our three 20 y old sons in co joined rooms, both were very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#67 of 78 in Sanur
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#27 of 78 in Sanur
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 78 in Sanur
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Taverna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Taverna Suites

Property: La Taverna Suites
Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 29, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Taverna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Taverna Suites is a small privately owned hotel set within lush tropical gardens that open directly onto the golden sands of the Indian Ocean. La Taverna Suites has over the years played host to artists, writers, musicians and a wide assortment of other colorful personalities. Its European owners have endeavored to maintain the spirit of old Bali, whilst also providing a relaxed, informal environment with emphasis on the personal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Taverna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Taverna Hotel
La Taverna Sanur
La Taverna Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing