We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic Villa for the money”
other travellers have booked this property
View from dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from dining room
View to kitchen and dining area from bedroom balcony Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
View from dining room
View to kitchen and dining area from bedroom balcony
Kitchen
View from front entrance 3
BBQ
Dining area and BBQ
View from front entrance
Living Room
Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom 1
Washroom bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Twin Bedroom 3
Dining area
The Pool
Bathroom Twin Bedroom
By the pool
The Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 2
Living room
The Bedroom 2
Parking
Dining Room
The Pool
Landing
The Pool
Dining Room
The Pool
Kitchen from dining area
The Pool
Dining Room
The Pool
Entrance
The Pool
Stairs
Living Room
Half Bathroom
The Twin Bedroom
Kitchen
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Entrance
Entrance
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sanur, Denpasar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ronnieros...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“fantastic Villa for the money”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from 3 weeks at Papaya Villa Sanur what can I say that hasn't been said before. Fantastic villa in a great location to Hardys ,numerous restaurants and a 2 min walk for taxis. Bill and Maureen were fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcome offering help and advice when needed Kadek the cleaner was very efficient and such a lovely person. The outdoor kitchen and dining/entertaining area was well used by our family and the pool was great. Great library of books for the quiet moments and lovely friendly locals to chat to every day. All in all the makings of great holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience at this villa
Liked least: Nothing Loved it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narelle C
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great retreat in Sanur”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a wonderful few days at the Papaya Villa. We always stay in Sanur but this was our first opportunity to stay in a private villa & we couldn’t have asked for a better one! Location is great, being a short stroll to Hardy’s supermarket & the beach.
Whichever way you turn on Jalan Tamblingan it is just a short walk to many restaurants, bars & shops, including beauty spas for those relaxing massages!
There were 4 of us and the villa has plenty of space to ensure privacy – 2 bedrooms upstairs (one has 2 king singles) and a very large bedroom downstairs – all with ensuites. The downstairs area is fantastic – the pool is a great size and there are 4 sun beds beside the pool. The outdoor dining area is also a great space & the kitchen is very well equipped. The airconditioning worked perfectly but there are many fans as well. Plenty of towels were provided, including pool towels.
We really appreciated the “goodies” provided by owners Bill & Maureen when we arrived - bread, butter, milk, tea, coffee, sugar & even Bintang beers! Another bonus for us was the big water cooler which is provided and will be replaced when it runs out.
There is a laundry 2 doors down but the villa has a washing machine for those who need it. The villa is very secure and we weren’t disturbed by any noise due to being away from the busy main street.
We took advantage of one of the drivers offered by Bill and he arrived at very short notice for a trip to Matahari where he waited patiently while we snagged some bargains.
Bill & Maureen were on hand if we needed anything & came to see us off when we left for the airport. We will most definitely book to stay at Papaya Villa when we return to Sanur, or if there are only 2 or 3 of us, we would choose Coconut Villa next door.
We would highly recommend Papaya Villa to fellow-travellers who are looking for comfort, privacy and cleanliness in a very convenient location.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoojaG485
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect place to stay in Bali”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We traveled to Bali a year ago (June 2014) but still talk about and are in love with Papaya Villa and Sanur as an area. The villa is exactly as advertised - clean, comfortable, the pool and dining area are spacious and a good place to hang out. We traveled as a group of 7 and had more than enough space.

Papaya villa is a perfect blend of the convenience of a hotel (with regular cleaning and maintenance taken care of by the staff) and the comfort of home - every day after our activities, we were always so happy to come back and chill in the pool or read on the loungers.

The villa is about a 2 minute walk to the main road in Sanur which has a supermarket, many restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the beach. Sanur itself was a peaceful and still fun place and we thought we picked the perfect part of Bali to suit the kind of vacation we wanted. There is a place to rent bicycles just outside the villa and you also can find taxis on the main road pretty easily.

Bill and Maureen were very helpful right from the booking process, were always very responsive and were available on phone for anything we needed during our stay. They also had stocked the fridge with some basics before we even checked in!

Every time we plan a vacation, we are tempted to go back to Bali and Papaya Villa specifically, will hopefully make it back here sometime in the near future!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea A
1 review
“Great stay for the family!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Papaya Villa for 10 -15 March 2015. Bill and Maureen were very prompt in their replies and furnished us with the information we needed. As the villa is situated just behind the main stretch of Sanur, it was an extremely short walk out to Hardys, not to mention the foot massage parlour on the way there which is value for money! Just book early.

Bill and Maureen made sure there was sufficient bottled water throughout our stay and dropped by occasionally to find out if we were doing ok. The 3 bedrooms with ensuite showers were very spacious and the master bed room downstairs even had a baby cot which was clean and big for a 1 year old. We spent a lot of time in the pool, not for doing laps but just to soak in the sun. Overall, we really felt at home in the villa and hardly left! We even used the BBQ pit for the seafood we bought from the fish market near Seminyak.

The only small issue which cant really be helped as it is the same with other places in Bali is that the small streets in Bali are often very small and without signs so it might take you a while to locate it especially if you are driving since you will not be able to drive in through the lane next to Hardys. Parking the car in the garage requires some slight maneuvering and could be problematic for long cars. That said its extremely easy to locate if you walk and take the lane next to Hardys and the hotel.

Sanur is a great place to stay if you are with your family and Papaya villa is definitely somewhere I would choose to go with my family or friends again!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivz91
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Cannot rate this place any higher! It was absolutely beautiful. The villa looks exactly as it does in the photos. It's spacious, modern and so reasonably priced for what you get. The bedrooms are huge each with their own ensuite. The kitchen is great as is the pool. I loved chilling on the sun loungers and it was just a beautiful place to come home to after a day out in sanur. The location is perfect right in the heart of sanur in the middle of the main strip. The hosts Bill and Maureen were fantastic meeting us at the villa when we arrived and checking on us to make sure we were ok. If you are looking for a relaxing villa in a fantastic location look no further!

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joogabor
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Perfect place in Bali”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Papaya Villa was situated in a excellent location...close to shops and the beach. Beautiful well decorated villa w clean bedrooms and bathrooms, open kitchen, nice swimming pool, oportunity for BBQ - just as you see in their official pictures! The owners ara really kind couple, who were waited us with breakfast and drinks. They attended to our every need whilst giving us our privacy. They organized tours, airport transfers, fresh water. Everyday housekeeping.
If you are in Bali, you must stay in their apartment!I can highly recommend this villa for family or group of friends.
Bill & Maureen thank you again. We'll be back one day.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brendafay...
newtown, ct
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect for our last days in Bali”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent 3.5 months in Thailand/Laos and our last 2 weeks in Bali at the end of our winter sojourn. Rest and relaxation were what we wanted to end our SEA trip and Papaya Villa exceeded our expectations. Bill and Maureen arranged transfer from Ubud to "Mushroom Boat" office and stored excess luggage during our 4 night stay on Nusa Lembongan. They also provided a nicely stocked fridge and gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. Three nights was not enough, hope to return for a longer stay. In addition to the obvious perks, such as beaches and shopping, there is a growing community of chefs, entrpreneurs, who seem to have actionable plan to keep Sanur growing in a safe and sane direction. The property was fabulous and quirky showing a great match with owners Bill And Maureen. One could almost get the idea that it was professionally staged by a realty co. What it is, is their vision for how to let the property shine in its own light.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely property with attention to detail
Liked least: No television in one of the upstairs bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing