We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Tranquility”
Review of Bumas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bumas Hotel
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for two weeks at Bumas arrived on 7th of Jan to wot seems like a jungle oasis ,it was about 8:30 in the evening we walk down these little paths to the sound of the evening insects and the smell of the jasmine
you wouldnt believe that the main busy street of sanur was a couple hundred metres away . The room was lovely , nicely tiled , big king size bed which Was very comfortable , yes the bathroom was tired the mastic around the bath was very discoloured and cracked
The tub itself was stained too this is to do with the water, the shower fittings were well worn too but things were clean , if you've ever spent a holiday in the Greek islands self catering you will have come across the odd cracked tile
and showers that don't hang on the wall properly minor faults when all else considered. The pools were a beautiful place to relax by and we really aren't pool people . The place was so tranquil , spa like it was a pleasure to walk back into every day , the beds are made up every day and changed regularly the towels were changed every day and yes they were well warn some with stains but clean again the water problem , so if you want 5 star luxery PAY if you want peace and tranquility and a good base to explore from try this . Oh breakfast was Indonesian style , pancake rolls usually banana , rice or noodles , melon ,toast with butter , local coffee and tea , eggs were done to order any style no extra charge , so not to everyones
taste , I'm a Yorkshire man who loves a good cup of tea in the morning so note to self and anyone with similar tastes , take a kettle lol I will next time and yes there will be many next times am sure . I found it reminded me of Greece 20 odd years ago dirt cheap to eat out we struggled to spend £20 on a meal with deserts and drinks for two and my wife had steak a few times . Hope this helps someone , enjoy !

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grahamw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

After staying in 7 hotels in Bali, this one had the lowest price quality ratio. Overall, it's an "ok" place to stay, it was (in general) clean, we slept well, it was central, and staff was very friendly (it's hard not to find that in Bali). But it's just really run down, and for the price I think you can do better.

PROS
Staff is very nice, friendly and helpful
Location is very central
Grounds are green and 2 swimming pools
Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable
The air-conditioning was good

CONS
The place is quite run down, it needs a good refurbishing
The bathroom was really run down, the bathtub was very stained and no shower curtain, so the entire bathroom floor got drenched with water.. it got very annoying
Breakfast compared to all the other places is very disappointing

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I read a lot of the reviews on the Bumas. I can say I was very pleased with our room. It was everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean! We had 1 day no hot water but wasn't a big deal. The room is basic but didn't need anything more. Air con worked great! 2 great pools, always got a pool chair when needed. I used the pool everyday! The staff are very friendly. The breakfast was fine for us! There are bike rentals (didn't use) available and the profits from them are given to charity. The family is very concerned about giving back to their fellow Balinese! Daughters were very welcoming to us. As a note many of people we met at the Bumas are return guests that stay 1 or 2 months. What we liked is how central the location is in Sanur! Didn't even bother going to Kuta.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank MaureenW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked the Bumas as it worked out the same price for flights as it did staying here so it was basically free, we hadn't been to Bali before and wanted to use the Bumas as a base whilst we travelled around and explored the island.
We had a large room with aircon, a large terrace and a lovely view of the garden. this hotel is fine, it's not luxury but it is clean, it is spacious, the staff are lovely and it's in a good position. there is a great warung 2 minutes down the road if you turn right, lots of little shops and you are just off the main drag so it is quiet.
Yes our toilet made noise but we fixed it and could see that the flusher has to be used in a certain way, yes the breakfast is basic but you can ask for eggs, yes the aircon is noisy but it works. We enjoyed the atmosphere as it was full of friendly guests and we would happily use it as a base again.
If you want 5 star pay for 5 star but this is a decent hotel and doesn't deserve some of the terrible reviews it has got.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel and we were relatively pleased with this three star accommodation.

The good points:
1. The location is good - on a quiet street just off the main road, so it was not noisy at night, but you were only five minutes from the beach (and one minute from Starbucks!).
2. The rooms are a good size, and clean, and the beds are massive.
3. The two pools are lovely - clean and warm.
4. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The not so good points:
1. The towels looked filthy - covered in brown stains. However, we believe they were clean, as they smelt and felt clean, but I think it was the local water that had stained them.
2. Our air con was stuck on full blast. However, a member of staff came to have a look at it the same day that we reported the problem. He said that he couldn't fix it and would have to have a word with his boss. The next day we came back to find they had fitted a completely new air-con unit, so you can't really say fairer than that, although we were kept awake for the first two nights because of the original fault.
3. Breakfast was pretty poor in our opinion - toast and spread, fruit (usually watermelon), and usually some noodles. Tea, coffee and juice to drink. It was only in our second week that we noticed someone eating an egg, and it turned out they did cook eggs on request. There was no information given to us about breakfast so we would not have known about this.

On balance, we would stay there again if it was the same price, although we would bring our own towels, and would not pay extra for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Bali. This was our 3rd time there,and we stayed at the Bumas hotel for the second time. The hotel is centrally placed on a quiet side road. It is very near to lots of good and inexpensive shops and restaurants. Our room at Bumas was on the first floor. It was large and the ample balcony faced the first swimming pool,and had a wonderful view of the truly splendid garden. The room was cleaned daily. The staff at the restaurant were quick and friendly, and the breakfast has improved a lot both in quantity and quality since our last visit. The reception staff were cheerful and efficient. They were Wayan, Ariasa and Wenten. When we had a problem in our room a man was fixing it before we returned to it. Another bonus to this hotel is that it is very reasonably priced.
. We hope to return to Bali and will certainly chose to stop at The Bumas Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As mentioned in the earlier review by Carl this hotel is a cheap budget hotel so visit with this in mind. We have stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and returned again because the price is so cheap. Having researched and price checked all flights to Bali for ourselves and two teenage daughters, a package with Thomson Worldwide/Hayes and Jarvis was as cheap with this hotel included in the price, so basically our accommodation was virtually free. The hotel is in a good location in the centre of Sanur. the grounds are pretty and there are two pools. Yes there are some issues with some tiles or grouting, but having two daughters who enjoy spending time in the pool these minor issues do do cause a problem unless you are keen to inspect and moan. The gardens are pretty, well tended and peaceful. We never failed to get a sun lounger for the four of us at any time of day. Breakfast is basic but again for the price of the holiday what can you expect. On days we wanted sample something different for breakfast there are many restaurants on the doorstep where you can have a full breakfast including drinks for little more than a couple of pounds. The rooms are basic but spacious. The bathrooms look like they could do with a bit of a facelift but they are more than adequate. The air con worked well and our rooms were aleays a nice temperature. Both our rooms were spotlessly cleaned each morning with fresh bedding and towels. But when we are away on holiday the only time we spend in our room is to sleep at night and to change on an evening so for me as long as the room is clean then decor etc is not an issue. One evening the electrics failed in our room. My husband attended reception and within the time it took him to return the maintenance man had already arrived and fixed the problem immediately. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. We requested extra pillow and these arrived promptly.

Yes there are more luxurious hotels to stay in, but if you want luxury pay the price. If you want to pay so little for your accommodation then bear this in mind when you review the hotel. If I had paid considerably more for this hotel then I may have complained but having paid next to nothing for clean accommodation, in lovely tranquil grounds, with clean bedding, towels, air con, beach towels, and friendly staff, what more can I ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annie52england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#37 of 79 in Sanur
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#30 of 79 in Sanur
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#39 of 79 in Sanur
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#71 of 79 in Sanur
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sanur House
Sanur House
#26 of 79 in Sanur
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumas Hotel

Address: Jln. Bumi Asih No. 4, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range: £34 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bumas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumas Hotel Sanur
Bumas Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing