We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel had double booked and moved us to sister hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel had double booked and moved us to sister hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Arrived as planned to discover hotel had not reserved the two rooms we had booked. Did not offer an explanation but arranged for us to stay at their sister hotel in Sanur, The Puri Gopa. Took us round there n showed us the rooms, pool etc, which was decent thing to do. However, we were told that we were given upgraded rooms by way of compensation/ pacification only to discover on checkout that we had actually been in standard rooms all along which were at a slightly lower rate than we had paid, so left feeling we had been conned (to put it politely)!!! We chose the Puri Mesari based on TA reviews, which we didn't get to sample, and are extremely disappointed with the experience/ service we received.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    154
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
65
193
37
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Good location is you want somewhere very quiet and a good night sleep. Within 15/20 minutes walk to the beach and all the restaurants, bars, etc. Rooms are large and bathroom very large. AC was working well. Good shower. Below par breakfast. Overpriced restaurant. Nice pool, although always in the shade. Staff very friendly and efficient. 8 minutes walk from an excellent “warung” called Mama Putu. go early there as they go get very full.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at Puri Mesari and must say I was a little disappointed and couldn't quite understand why this hotel has so many great reviews. The rooms are very basic and the outdoor bathroom and toilet was very dated and had a very grungy feel. The staff try their best and the service is good, but the breakfast is probably the worst I have ever had in any hotel I have stayed in and I am a frequent traveller. On the positive side the wifi is good and the location is fine if you are happy to hire a scooter. The resort is small and quiet, but also a little claustrophobic. To be honest I don't usually stay at places in this price range, so don't have a lot to compare it to, but at around $50 per night, that's about the value you get from a stay at Puri Mesari.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HueyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Personally I would have given Puri Mesari 4 pips, but as we were a group of 12 I've taken the whole groups opinion into consideration.

There is much to like about Puri Mesari. It's a small 'rustic boutique' hotel of about a 20 or so rooms.
It's in the far south of Sanur and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the nearest main street for shops and restaurants......sometimes a curse (taxis rarely ventured that way) and sometimes a blessing (quite peaceful at times). The beach is a 5 minute walk away.

I thought the hotel was well laid out and I liked the pool next to the restaurant.
The grounds were also nice and had a good overall feel.
Our deluxe room #123 was nice, bright and spacious. I had the best sleeps at Puri Mesari. Others did not.

Check-in was not smooth and there was much swapping of rooms (some bathrooms are indoor, some outdoor) and it would seem overall cleanliness was probably the major problem with some of the assigned rooms. The whole place needs a good spring clean as there were some corners of rooms that looked like they hadn't seen a broom or mop in years. Some cupboards had cobwebs in them.
As we settled in to our stay, other things became apparent......not enough pool towels/face towels, towels were often dirty and it was a constant battle getting our daily bottled water.
Daily room cleaning was sporadic and not very thorough most people thought.

The front of house staff at all times were always nice and very helpful. They would make restaurant reservations for us and would organise free shuttles, even paying for our taxis if the shuttle wasn't around.

Reindra, the onsite manager and owner was always a pleasure to deal with and was always understanding. He handled any problems if and when they arose. He even provided a complimentary shuttle for all 12 of us (including luggage) to our next hotel in Kuta, some 30 minutes away. A very nice gesture.

Breakfasts were made to order and there was a good selection if you didn't want to go with the included continental breakfast. We also had several lunches and a Nyepi dinner and the food was always tasty and delicious. Restaurant service and staff were all excellent.

The pool is quite shallow (70cm-120cm) which while good for families with youngsters, meant that the pool heated up quickly in the middle of the day and was not very refreshing at times.
There was also quite a buildup of mould on the mosaic tiles (hard to spot unless you looked) and whilst we did see a pool cleaner during our 6 night stay, weren't sure how often he came.

As I said, I liked Puri Mesari and everyone enjoyed their stay once they'd got their head around some of the other issues, but on the whole I'd have to say that general cleanliness in the rooms let them down badly.

Would I stay there again? Possibly, but I'd be wary of taking a group of first-timers again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at this small resort in March 2013 during the Balinese Nyepi holiday. It is located at the other end of famous Sanur, far from the hectic shopping area in Sanur. Not in the sea front,but the hotel is just 10 minutes walk to the beach. Sanur is a quiet beach, this beach is suitable for those you like to enjoy the quietness, and for self contemplation. The lobby is lovely, a small area with open space concept. The rooms are at lower ground level,it means that you need to go down one level to reach the rooms which means that it not well accesible for disabled (no lift). Rooms are spacious and all rooms are not provided with television,that means that it is extremely quiet. Most of the guests who choose this resort have already aware about this. My room (#109) is a ground level with opened space bathroom. The water power was extremely strong, you will enjoy the bathroom if you like the openess. The swimming pool is small and only few chairs available but not too many people use that. The breakfast is served free in continental style. If you prefer bigger meals you have to pay.

Room Tip: Choose the room at ground floor if you like the open space bathroom and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

At about $45 per night, it is hard to complain about Puri Mesari. Based on reading other reviews, it is clear that the rooms vary quite a bit. Ours was towards the back of the hotel, decent size but not large, with a basic bathroom with handheld shower. Plenty of hot water. Most rooms have a small balcony or patio - ours didn't. There was a fridge but no tea/coffee making facilities. The pool is small and very shallow - difficult to do any real swimming. There are just six loungers. The breakfast included in the rate is very basic, but add-ons can be purchased. The hotel is located away from the Main Street (about ten minutes walk) but there are often taxis passing by if you need one. The staff is friendly and quite helpful but English is a bit limited. We tried to arrange one trip through them but the driver did not turn up until too late and did not seem to know where to go, so if you want excursions it may be better to arrange them somewhere else. Provided you can get a discounted rate, this s a great deal for a small hotel but go elsewhere if you want all the comforts and facilities of a resort hotel.

One word of warning - if it rains, the pathways and steps become very slippery so use caution walking around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tibbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sønderjylland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is a very, very nice family driven hotel about 5 min drive fra Sanur center and 5 min walk to the beach. Great cheap food, nice garden and pool area, big rooms, two beds, no problem with two children and two adults. Stayed 3 nights. location much nicer than in Lovina center, too busy. Extremely

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spruds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 78 in Sanur
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#50 of 78 in Sanur
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#28 of 78 in Sanur
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#30 of 78 in Sanur
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites

Property: Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Address: Jalan Mertasari 66 | Sanur Kauh, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#17 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Mesari is a charming small, private hotel with friendly and personalized service. Our site is perfect for guests seeking for an intimate accomodation in a peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mesari Sanur
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing