We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel given the right room”
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel given the right room”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

First of all, if you can, avoid Sanur area. It is dead and depressing. You'd be better staying in Semiyak. Having said that this is a charming compound hotel from the outside but it has a real problem. The rooms look really pretty but the dried grass roof is like no roof at all. Planes are passing over your head day and night and it is very loud, lots of differnt animal noises, some are inside the room... We complained about the noise and they moved us to a Villa accomodating 6 and that had a flat bedroom roof and it was so much better. The Villa was beautifull, with outdoor jacuzzi, garden and living room area.
So, my advice is to get a standard room with a flat roof (the ones downstairs) or get youself a nice Villa. The pool is very nice and it has good internet connection. Also it is close to the beach, althoug they advertise it as a private beach hotel and it is a small hard sun deck beds with plenty of touts around you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuriaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    158
    51
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
135
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel was in a lovely garden setting, setback from the main road of Sanur away from the hustle and bustle. The laneway was interesting when it rained, but that was being fixed when we stayed (and not something the hotel can do about).

Our group really enjoyed our stay, with a lovely breakfast (and restaurant) and glorious pool. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well maintained with enormous beds. The bath/shower was interesting as it was of an older style, but it worked fine. The masseus was excellent value for money.

Overall the staff were friendly and helpful and had no problems organising our requests.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaliTrip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Magnificant hotel away from the main street and withing walking distance from the beach.The hotel offer a great variety of accomodation including villas with kitchens etc.Very well managed (Agung ,the manager is efficient,humble and always try her best to help) staff are truly delightful.
would love to go back!

Room Tip: stay in the villas,maybe little more expensive ,but they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nabilkazemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed here in August and loved it. I stayed in the deluxe hotel room as well as a one bedroom apartment and couldn't fault either. The rooms are clean and have a real tropical Balinese feel to them so you actually feel like you're getting away from your own culture but still staying in absolute comfort.

The hotel rooms are set around a main courtyard and have thatched roofs, marbled tiled floors and a spacious bathroom as well as a large bed complete with a mosquito net. They also have electrical mosquito repellers although I didn't find the mozzies too bad. Outside the front door there is a seating area or just a few steps away you can sit by one of the pools. These rooms aren't particularly large but are very tastefully decorated, clean and have a very romantic and comfortable feel.

The one bedroom apartment was really something special though. It was huge and very private and only cost a little more than the hotel room. It was positioned behind a high walled fence and you had to walk down a path and through a lovely wooden carved entrance gate to get to it so basically you had your own very private apartment inside it's own little compound. The bedroom was much the same as the hotel room I mentioned above but it had a lovely outdoor (but still covered) bathroom/toilet with its own beautiful bath tub and pond complete with plants and fish. Initially I was a little unsure about showering etc outside with mosquitios and privacy but the walls surrounding it are as high as the apartment itself and the mosquitos weren't really too much of a problem. I felt the bathroom really gave the room a special tropical touch :) The kitchen was basic but modern and had limited cooking facilities but with the excellent room service and local restaurants I wouldn't want to cook anyway! There was an outdoor dining/lounge area that was attached to the main bedroom but was predominantly outdoors with just a thatched roof and two walls. I think the only thing missing here was a TV (which was in the bedroom). The whole living arrangements were lovely and if you're an outdoors person like me this place is perfect. If you're worried about mosquitos and having to go 'outside' at night to get a drink from the fridge, then this particular type of room might not suit you.

As far as staff go... they were absolutely lovely and always welcoming with a big warm smile and always happy to help where possilbe. I found Seminasa to be the most helpful with his hints and tips on Bali and always keen to have a chat :) There are also two swimming pools which are more than ample and there is a beach about 50m down the lane. The breakfast is great and is another outdoors (but under cover) experience. The resort itself is down a laneway which initially seems odd but this is quite the norm in many parts of Bali. When I first arrived I was sorta surprised to see this small partially outdoors hotel lobby just off the laneway. It just seemed different but don't let any of the outdoors settings or the position in a lane put you off as it is in an excellent location and even though I was travelling solo and never been to Bali before, not once did I feel unsafe either staying at the resort or when walking down the lane or around the streets. There is a wide variety of different room types to suit all sorts of travellers and budgets and I think it really is a great place to stay and I'll be going back there next time I travel to Bali :)

Room Tip: From what I could see, I think all rooms would be just as nice as each other but I would certainly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jubesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed in Villa Lumbung for 10 days in July. It is a 3 bedroom villa. We found it clean and it was serviced every day- The stairs to the top 2 bedrooms are very steep so this villa is not a good choice for families with young chilldren- our boys were 12 and 14.We found the staff very friendly . The pools were great and not crowded.The omelettes were delicious for breakfast. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I know that we are easy going Australians, but I am amazed at some of the negative reviews about this property.
We stayed here April 2010 and couldn't wait to get back!
The facilities are great and from Agung (the Manager) to PI Pi and Mi Mi (the two most delightful trainees you could ever meet), the staff are excellent. Always a smile and hello from all staff to make you feel like family.
The pools and rooms are well looked after and you don't have to share the pool with 500 other people!!
We have told many family and friends about this property and we can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank helenmmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was our 2. time at Puri Ayu - and we find this place a litte gem.
This hotel is a very good base if you want to explore Sanur. Away from the busy road and close to beach. Maybe the beach near by is not the best at Sanur - but just take a short walk and rent a bed and a umbrella.
The swimming pool is beautiful and clean - you can relax there it is quiet not crowded.
We stayed in bungalow 301 - maybe this place is aged, but it is charming and clean, and the bungalow is spaceius .
Good breakfast, and lunch. The staff is very helpfull and smiling.
If we are going to Sanur again - Puri Ayu will be a good choise for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#37 of 78 in Sanur
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#44 of 78 in Sanur
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Sativa Sanur Cottages
#41 of 78 in Sanur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing