We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Small Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for up to 7 weeks for the last 5 years.
At this stage we would not think of staying elsewhere. We book an Emerald Suite which has a kitchen and lounge with a mezzanine bedroom. There is a great pool and the best massuer in Wayan. With breakfast included and other meals available, we never want for anything.
Evening meals are available but as with any small hotel the menu is not extensive. The staff are all pleasant and attentive. Only downside is the access road (Jn Pantai Cemera). It needs upgrading and resurfacing, however that in not managements fault as there are a number of hotels on the road. Would recommend this hotel to couples or families looking for a budget holiday. The apartments are great some having inside/outside kitchens and private yards.

Room Tip: Emerald suite with mezzanine and Villa Lumbung not suitable for young children as stairs are quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Superdraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    156
    48
    19
    12
See reviews for
81
134
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for a week in a Garden 1 Bed Apartment in early May. Bed was comfortable, aircon was quiet and efficient, large refrigerator and tea making facilities in outdoor kitchen, good shower with plenty of hot water in a nice outdoor bathroom with fishpond. The garden area with daybed was nice. I did think the bathtub/shower seemed a bit dangerous, especially for someone a bit unstable.

The minor negatives for me was the room maintenance, such as doors that don't open and shut properly, weeds in the outdoor bathroom, unpainted areas. Very minor I know but I think they are the difference between a great room and a good room. Bedsheets were clean but a bit marked and old.

Both pools were great and breakfast was nice without being great and the staff were always helpful and friendly. Location was great, we had no rain, but I can see how the laneway would flood although that's not the hotels fault surely.

Overall a great stay and excellent value.

Room Tip: Garden Apartment 104 was quiet, not sure if the others nearer the laneway for the hotel next door we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ga505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel service was nice and we got a 10% discount on the room before even negotiating...the cleanliness of the room was incredibly dirty, especially the towels. We stayed in the villa tony, supposed to be the prime villa of that hotel compound. The condition of the suite was old and not maintained at all. The large bathroom was moldy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless hotel management is ready to do some more frequent inspections. Nevertheless, the pool was great... Hope you do better in future!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Chinajochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supbali, Manager at Villa Puri Ayu, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Please note that Tony apartment is not own by Villa Puri Ayu. Is a private apartment that we only help to manage. As it is next to our premises we help the owner and offer it to people when we are fully booked. If you check at our web site you can see that is not featured anywhere! Said that we will check it and make sure that is up to standard. We had people staying there for the last 2 months and nobody reported to us that the status was not satisfactory.
Best regards
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Excellent hotel in Sanur!We had booked for 2 deluxe rooms and get upgraded to the Diamond Villa which suited us as my mum was travelling with us.We had the use of the whole bottom area which has a full size kitchen/dining room, 2 enormous bedrooms each with own ensuite, privatke pool and pavillion with TV!LOVED it!Location was excellent just a short stroll to the beach and markets.Had dinner at the hotel which was great.Pool was excellent and cleanliness/service outstanding!Excellent value for money and quiet relaxing atmosphere.Pushbikes free to use.Go to Hardys department store just a few minutes drive down mainstreet for excellent fixed price clothes/jewellery etc and pick up supplies from supermarket on bottom floor.Cheaper than Mataharis and great for gifts/toiletries etc.Nice food spots around so take a walk around.BEWARE of using scooters in Bali as you will be targeted by the police who will pull you up at every opportunity and fine you on the spot and take whatever money you have on you!My son and his friend got stopped 5 times and were told they had to pay or get the scooters taken off them and go to court!They had their wallets emptied and were let go.Apparently you need an international license(not asked for when hiring the scooters) or will be stopped for any minor traffic offence(have you seen Bali traffic?)Be Careful!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4balilovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed 4 people in Villa Lumbung, and 2 people in 1 bedroom appt, for 4 days. Villa Lumbung were warn down. The kitchen was not useful. The outdoor spa didnt work. Two chairs outdoor for 4 people.The cleaning was not good. Staff seemed to be tired of their jobs. 45 minuttes for serving 3 club sandwiches, and we were the only guests. I guess our expetations were to high.

The pool area was nice and the location ok.

Room Tip: Dont go for Villa Lumbung or 1 bedroom appt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We once again booked Villa Puri Ayu for our short break in Bali. Once again we weren't disappointed. Villa Puri Ayu is an unpretentious and relaxing place to stay in Sanur which is close enough to everything. If you can't be bothered walking just jump in the green bemo at the end of the lane. One thing we did notice this time was that wireless access inside the apartment was a bit hit and miss in the Garden 1 Bedroom Apartment that is furtherest away from reception (it works OK outside though).
It is not like the Hyatt or other major hotel chains that hug the beach of Sanur. Villa Puri Ayu has a great atmosphere where you are not just a number and Agung and the staff are always friendly and professional.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at Villa Puri Ayu with an extended family group. The first night, I stayed in an Emerald 2 bedroom suite, sharing with my sister and her husband, the next night more family members arrived and we were due to move to Villa Lumbung to accommodate the whole group. We liked the Emerald rooms much better and changed to one Emerald loft suite and remained in the Emerald 2 bedroom suite.
The hotel is accessed by one of Bali's typical poorly surfaced "gangs" (laneways). Once there, the hotel is quite a little oasis with pleasant grounds, a nice pool, restaurant/breakfast area come pool bar and various accommodation buildings scattered around.
The Emerald suites are very spacious and modern with most of the facilities you would expect. The bathrooms are semi-outdoor. You enter into the central living area with the kitchen at the back of the room. The bedrooms are off this area on either side. All the rooms have very high raked ceilings and are spacious and light. There is a generous walk through wardrobe area to the bathrooms at the back. The beds were comfortable and cleanliness was average to good.
Free wi-fi was included in the tarrif and it worked well.
The breakfasts are buffet style and served in the open gazebo style restaurant area next to the pool. Breakfast was adequate and you could have eggs cooked how you liked them.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The location was very convenient, about 200 metres to the beach in one direction down the gang and a similar distance to bars and shops in the opposite direction.
The standard of building construction was not that great, which is fairly typical for Bali.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay and I think Villa Puri Ayu offers pretty good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for an Emerald Suite or loft room. They are the newest rooms in the complex and the nicest. Wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brecker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#35 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#51 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Parigata Resort & Spa
Parigata Resort & Spa
#17 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing