We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful hideaway”
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Sanur at Villa Puri Ayu and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds and rooms were very peaceful and tropical which was a nice contrast to the rest of Sanur which was a bit dirty. Only a minutes walk from the beach and equal distance to the main road where there are loads of restaurants and shops. We stayed in one of the garden villas which had a lovely private garden with a shaded lounger and a private outdoor bathroom which was equally lovely (however I advise not to choose this option if you don't like sharing your bathroom with outdoor creatures!). The bed was comfortable and room air conditioned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 937Jessica_R937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    158
    51
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
135
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We were booked for 5 nights. On our arrival were told our room was under going repairs and would not be ready until 8 pm. We were gi en a smaller room to rest in. No sign of workmen going on anywhere, no promise of completion of said work at 6:30. Restaurant refused to serve us dinner even though it was 30 minutes before closing. Empty promises, suspicously like room switch game, we advised reception of our frustration and checked out! I doubt we will see a refund! Mistakes happen but honesty is so important. I would not trust them. Price is cheap, room very traditional, pool not very appealing, massage table area filthy, rooms come with bug spray! Proceed with caution if you choose this hotel

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Travelled in a group of 8, stayed in Villa Diamond, only level 1 has tv in bedrooms and living area.

No tvs on level 2, I think it'll be good to place a tv at the level 2 living area. Rooms on level 2 is disappointing and extremely budgeted. I don't understand why bedrooms on level 2 doesn't have the same standards as level 1 bedrooms.

Hotel offered free bicycles and free coffee/tea all day, nice to have these!

Sleep: bed was comfortable, but blanket a little too thin. air-conditioning is good!

Toilet: weak plumbing system, tap doesn't have a strong water flow but shower head was fine, the warm water is consistent, however bath tub seems dirty. No glasses in toilet to place our toothbrush and gargle.

Cleanliness: towels wasn't bleached, abit of stains here and there, bathroom mat yellowish. private pool is not quite clean, water isn't clear when i swam in it, it was a little cloudy. pool towels were yellowish.

Service of staff: they were ok, staff called cab for us and translated our destination to the cab driver, also made a massage booking for us.

Airport transfer service: cars and drivers are not hotel staff, the hotel hired private drivers and cost us RP120.000 i think a blue bird taxi would be cheaper and the taxi will probably be in better condition than the private cars they hired for us.

Breakfast: spread is quite good, love their omelette and nasi goreng! potatoes and hotdogs were all very tasty!

Location: short walk to the beach, dark alleys to the beach at night but it wasn't a problem for us. about 1-2 min walk to cafes/bars/massage parlours, cost RP9500 to take a taxi to Hardy's supermarket, lots of shop within walking distance or a short taxi ride.

Private beach: this is disappointing and hardly a beach, beach chairs look dirty :(

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubypumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Although this was one of the cheapest places we stayed, the staff go out of their way to accommodate you. Very friendly and helpful.

The Villa is a short walk to the ocean and not on the ocean. The hotel offers free bikes, so it is easy to use these to and from the beach or the town. Villa Puri has its own beach chairs at the beach - just ask at reception where they are. The room is a little small but the bath is fabulous!

The restaurant food is wonderful especially the Villa Puri Ayu Hamburger.

Room Tip: Ask for the Villa overlooking the small pool. Very nice view of the pool, private and relaxing. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room (I wouldnt recommend staying in anything less). Was a cute room with high, thatched ceiling and mosquito net. Large bathroom. Geckos around and the odd ant but we found that to be typical is SE Asia.
Overall a nice, quiet place to stay. Very helpful staff and good breakfast.

*Hard to find the first time. Just drive slowly down Jalan Cemara (heading West) and look for a very nondescript sign for Villa Puri Ayu. Hang a left down a very narrow alley.

Room Tip: Deluxe or nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JtheEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Villa Puri Ayu is a nice place, it has a great feeling for a small hotel. Staff is great and super friendly. Don't expect something luxurious, as the place is a bit old and tired, but still quite nice.

We stayed in the diamond villa which is huge, but it feels old, that place could be amazing with some renovations. We felt that something smaller but better kept up to date would have been better. The listed price for this villa is definitely not worth it, we paid less than half that price using expedia, At that price it is probably a fair deal.

What we liked:
- Great location, very close to restaurants
- Great staff
- Nice pool
- Close to the beach (80m walk)

What we didn't like:
- Not on the beach as somehow we thought it was going to be, at least the give you free beach chairs
- Place needs renovations
- The villa was a bit unsafe for small kids - stairs too steep, an open balcony without enough protection.
- Horrible internet connectivity, it almost never worked
- Not enough plugs on the walls to plug electronics

Room Tip: The apartments are probably the best deal. Deluxe rooms are too small, villas are too old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Gong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

blocked plumbing at our first room , were moved that night to a 1bed vill(no charge).
had a great stay, enjoyed the breakfasts, and the pool, pushbikes were free friendly staff.an easy walk to beach and restraunts pubs on the corners , good bands on thur and fri nights.

Room Tip: Villas are a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#37 of 78 in Sanur
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#44 of 78 in Sanur
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Sativa Sanur Cottages
#41 of 78 in Sanur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing