We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Based on the reviews I read and the price, I was expecting something much nicer. The room was shabby. The bathroom smelled of urine, and the walls had nails and holes in them and were badly in need of fresh paint. The kitchenette appliances were old and there was a gas smell near the stove. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank California984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    156
    48
    19
    12
See reviews for
81
134
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The staff was really nice and did everything to make our stay pleasant. Though everybody on Bali smiles at you, the staff's friendliness seemed so genuine. The hotel is located in an alley which isn't the best location, but not really that bad either. But once you're in the hotel, you're in your own little secluded world.
The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was superb. The breakfast buffet was excellent, large variety of food and eggs are prepared just how you like them. I disliked the generic, ambient Bali music they played every morning, but that's just me. The pool is great, but not very big or deep. The hotel itself is located a bit from Central Sanur which, in my opinion, is great. Only a few minutes walk to the beach and the beachwalk. Overall an incredibly pleasant stay, and due to the price I give this hotel five stars. Of course a few things could be improved upon, but the service, the facilities and the experience exceeded any expectation I had for a hotel at this price.

Room Tip: Make sure the mosquito net is fully intact and make sure there's no geckos hiding in your room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderSmedegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a wonderful find this small boutique hotel is. We had booked for 6 nights and were a little concerned with a few of the reviews but to our delight this place is a little gem. From our late night arrival we were given cold drinks and made to feel very welcome. Staff all wonderful and friendly and nothing too much trouble, grounds are beautiful, however some very loud frogs... the hotel supplies mosquito spray which is needed. The rooms were lovely, booking a deluxe room and we were delighted with it. Sure some things are in need of upgrading but nothing serious. Breakfast excellent, Will stay again next time in Bali...

Room Tip: Our room 103 was excellent, and would ask for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Sanur at Villa Puri Ayu and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds and rooms were very peaceful and tropical which was a nice contrast to the rest of Sanur which was a bit dirty. Only a minutes walk from the beach and equal distance to the main road where there are loads of restaurants and shops. We stayed in one of the garden villas which had a lovely private garden with a shaded lounger and a private outdoor bathroom which was equally lovely (however I advise not to choose this option if you don't like sharing your bathroom with outdoor creatures!). The bed was comfortable and room air conditioned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 937Jessica_R937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We were booked for 5 nights. On our arrival were told our room was under going repairs and would not be ready until 8 pm. We were gi en a smaller room to rest in. No sign of workmen going on anywhere, no promise of completion of said work at 6:30. Restaurant refused to serve us dinner even though it was 30 minutes before closing. Empty promises, suspicously like room switch game, we advised reception of our frustration and checked out! I doubt we will see a refund! Mistakes happen but honesty is so important. I would not trust them. Price is cheap, room very traditional, pool not very appealing, massage table area filthy, rooms come with bug spray! Proceed with caution if you choose this hotel

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Travelled in a group of 8, stayed in Villa Diamond, only level 1 has tv in bedrooms and living area.

No tvs on level 2, I think it'll be good to place a tv at the level 2 living area. Rooms on level 2 is disappointing and extremely budgeted. I don't understand why bedrooms on level 2 doesn't have the same standards as level 1 bedrooms.

Hotel offered free bicycles and free coffee/tea all day, nice to have these!

Sleep: bed was comfortable, but blanket a little too thin. air-conditioning is good!

Toilet: weak plumbing system, tap doesn't have a strong water flow but shower head was fine, the warm water is consistent, however bath tub seems dirty. No glasses in toilet to place our toothbrush and gargle.

Cleanliness: towels wasn't bleached, abit of stains here and there, bathroom mat yellowish. private pool is not quite clean, water isn't clear when i swam in it, it was a little cloudy. pool towels were yellowish.

Service of staff: they were ok, staff called cab for us and translated our destination to the cab driver, also made a massage booking for us.

Airport transfer service: cars and drivers are not hotel staff, the hotel hired private drivers and cost us RP120.000 i think a blue bird taxi would be cheaper and the taxi will probably be in better condition than the private cars they hired for us.

Breakfast: spread is quite good, love their omelette and nasi goreng! potatoes and hotdogs were all very tasty!

Location: short walk to the beach, dark alleys to the beach at night but it wasn't a problem for us. about 1-2 min walk to cafes/bars/massage parlours, cost RP9500 to take a taxi to Hardy's supermarket, lots of shop within walking distance or a short taxi ride.

Private beach: this is disappointing and hardly a beach, beach chairs look dirty :(

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubypumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Although this was one of the cheapest places we stayed, the staff go out of their way to accommodate you. Very friendly and helpful.

The Villa is a short walk to the ocean and not on the ocean. The hotel offers free bikes, so it is easy to use these to and from the beach or the town. Villa Puri has its own beach chairs at the beach - just ask at reception where they are. The room is a little small but the bath is fabulous!

The restaurant food is wonderful especially the Villa Puri Ayu Hamburger.

Room Tip: Ask for the Villa overlooking the small pool. Very nice view of the pool, private and relaxing. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#36 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#52 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#45 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parigata Resort & Spa
Parigata Resort & Spa
#17 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Property: Villa Puri Ayu
Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing