We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff to our kids”
Review of Villa Puri Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Puri Ayu
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We loved our stay at Puri Ayu. The staff Agung, Ahmi and Agus notably were great with our toddlers. The new rooms weren't right for our kids with slippery floor and too much glass (windows and table and bathroom). The older rooms were better. We only had the odd mossie bite on the whole trip.This was thanks to good mossie nets and weekly spraying. The pool was ideal , the restuarant good with excellent free breakfast.

Good location near Cemara Beach , Bobbies Cafe and Sumo restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SqeakyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Villa Puri Ayu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is our second time there and we loved it just as much as the first. The people are beautiful the rooms are excellent and for what you are getting I believe its a great price. I will stay there again without a doubt. The bad reviews given to this place is a very big disapointment because it just does not deserve it. People complain about mozzies well they exist all over the world but they do supply personal spray and spray for your room and a net around your bed and they are no worse than my home. They complain about noise well I think its one of the most quiet places Ive stayed in Bali and they complain about planes well now it is getting ridiculous - how is it their fault planes fly over which I might add I hardly noticed. Please give it a go it really is a lovely place.

Room Tip: We got one of the 1 bedroom apartments which is up the back a little bit away from everything - perf...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ly0nsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lovely Place to stay - what a great choice I made. Ignore all the bad reviews on here. This is Bali NOT London. Lovely Rooms, Lovely People, Lovely pool and absolutely fantastic food and service. Very quiet location, only heard running pool water and bull frogs at night - lovely.

We stayed here for two weeks over xmas and new year. Couldnt have chose better. We had a typical Balinese room, with thatched roof, balcony and enormous pink bath. I think this was a basic room - but a lovely king size bed with mosquito net, with a brand new mattress was superbly comfortable. Fridge too which was very useful.

Lovely pool area, where we spent far too much time lol. Lovely bar serving drinks and very reasonable good quality food - we ate there far too much too. Bar not open after 7pm unfortunately, otherwise we might have spent more time and money there.

Just down dirt road to beach and all the restaurants you could ask for on hand. All very good too. Best ones in our minds were Caesars and Donalds.

The staff here are absolutely fantastic, every one of them, from cleaners, to security, to waitresses etc. all very friendly and happy and couldnt do enough for you. An absolute pleasure to chat to all of them. Genuinely interested in looking after you which is so refreshing.

If I came back I would certainly consider an apartment as these were very good too although more modern and not so much charm as our room, but more facilities. TV was good too, many channels and a dvd player too - so could watch the cheap dvds we bought on rainy days.

We were there during rainy season so we did have a few days of rain - but plenty of sunshine too. But mosquitos are rife everywhere and they do love me - so lots of repellant advised - even this was supplied FOC by hotel.

Thanks to everyone at Villa Puri Ayu we had a wonderful xmas and new year with our son, who joined us from Australia, and although he didnt stay there, he was made most welcome too as he spent his days with us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank val f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at five hotels on this trip and this venue was one of them. The five hotels were of similar cost so it is easy to provide a fair comparison. We had villa #401 for a family of five. It was the lowest quality room across all the hotels we stayed at. For example, we also stayed at the Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites (room #1207) for the same rate and area and it was a far superior apartment. If you are after a nice room, then try the Suites instead. However, if you are after a great location, stick with the Puri Ayu, it has easy access to restaurants, cafés, money changers, massages, the beach and beachwalk. Bottom line is, you are paying for location rather than room quality. If you want both, you'll need to pay more.

Stayed: December 2013
6  Thank Chargrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet. It was a short walk down an alley to the beach or to the stores and restaurants on the main street. We didn’t stay in Sanur long enough to know if the hotel location was good or not, but it served our purpose of a one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcbaranowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just got back from staying here for 7 days, great small resort & only a 2 min walk to beach front. Staff were great, & our room was also great - clean & linen changed daily. 2 min walk to beach plus 2 min walk to main street, loeads of shopping & heaps of variety for eating out, cheap warungs on beach front,Pool is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in delux room & just got a pull out bed for our son, great bed, & really nice bath...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Pros
I find it hard to think of many positives about Puri Ayu except to say that the staff are great and the rooms were a good size. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom villa offering space to move and lots of privacy.
Cons
As other reviews have said, the curtains and linen have seen better days and need replacing.
Gardens could use a little more care.
Location is very ordinary tucked at the end of a laneway next door to workshops and the nearby beach is very uninviting.
Breakfast is barely adequate, juices not cold and terrible coffee. After day one we opted to eat out for brekky even though it was inclusive.
The rats in the ceiling were very noisily scratching at night but I guess thats Bali and perhaps not a great deal the owners could do although when we mentioned it to the cleaning ladies, they thought it was funny.
Maybe I'm a little biased, we usually stay at larger resorts and this is not what I call a resort but then they don't call themselves one. We felt it was not value for money and as such I cant recommend these villas. Until they renovate, I would rate 2.5 stars.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Bofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.5 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#39 of 78 in Sanur
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#44 of 78 in Sanur
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Sativa Sanur Cottages
#43 of 78 in Sanur
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Puri Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Ayu

Address: Jalan Cemara 4-B, Sanur, Denpasar 80280, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#20 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Puri Ayu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the ancient Sanur village, just a stroll from the beach, Villa Puri Ayu is a lovely boutique resort! An ideal location if you like to relax or experience the true Balinese hospitality.Composed of 22 units between deluxe rooms, apartments, suites and villas. Still secluded, private and peaceful, backed by a devoted and supportive service.Latest: 60 channels Cable TV, free Wireless and free beach facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Puri Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Ayu Hotel Sanur
Hotel Puri Ayu
Resort Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing