We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Swastika Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swastika Bungalows
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here 8 days and loved it. The staff are very friendly and always a smile. The staff in the salon are fantastic, massages great. No problems with mozzies and the hotel is centrally located with easy access to everything. We went elsewhere in Bali and didn't experience anything like the accomadation and service that we did at the Swaztika. Highly reccommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper rooms and they met our needs and meant we could stay longer :-) Can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    208
    78
    26
    11
See reviews for
96
153
85
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have always been a bit of a budget-bunny, but primarily value for money is what I am after.
Swastika deilvers! I have stayed three times and am about to retun for my 4th visit next month.
For around $50 a night I get their standard room with air con and a very reasonable breakfast. The rooms are huge with a lovely big deck, bathrooms dated but quirky (in a good way!).

They did show me around one of the newly refurbished deluxe rooms -- absolutely gorgeous! But still happy to stay in the cheaper room and save my money for massages (their on-site spa is great!)!

There are three pools and never an issue getting a sun bed. They have heaps of brand new sunbeds, but kept the old ones in circulation just in case it gets busy!

New swim-up bar is pleasant and prices reasonable. Staff are wonderful and it is always the quickest check-in/check-out of any hotel I have every stayed at.

They are doing some renovations...but secretly hope they keep the standard rooms as they are! I love the cheap price and simplicity! I might add that I hardly noticed any noise from the building works...I just went snooping around and saw them all hard at work!

In September 2013 I stayed at Griya Santrian with my husband - did not like it nearly as much as Swastika. Beachside location was the only plus for me there. Twice the price and half as nice in my opinion!

Can't wait to get back to Swastika!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieDenmarkWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Family run, basic accom.good b,fast. Wife and I have stayed here about 15 times. If looking for new mod style, stay in new section which is more pricey. If wanting a more traditional but dated room , choose the std. A/c room which also has ceiling fan. Very spacious, cool, dated room. Bathrooms do the job but drains can emit a dank smell which we overcame by running the tap for a few seconds each time we entered our room. This section is two levels, the high level have over looking bungalow style large verandahs which have interesting views around the large courtyard pool area. The stairs can be an issue for elderly or children as they are narrow and steep on mosr of them.The lower rooms have more secluded,garden leafy feel about them. Both are great for reading and sipping gin and tonics/ beers in the heat of the day. Grounds are amazing with lots of leafy gardens and cobbled pathways which can provide privacy. There are sort of three sections . old=no a/c with very dated rooms with pool. Standard= as described above with nice pool and close to b/fast area/recp. New= brand new everything pool, smim up bar music.
This 'resort' is not for everyone. Down to earth people love it. Cheap/simple and safe. Great for couples and family's. Major supermarket, Hardy's, 100m away. I really pondered about writing this review as I do not want it to get to busy. Safe and happy traveling.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clayton w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had booked a bungalow for a week during rain-season - and it was raining a lot ! It was lots of green trees and flowers in front of the bungalow and because of the pooring rain even a lot of mosquitos both inside and outside. They haven´t filled the mosquitokiller with the right fluid!
The breakfast was good and the pools nice.
We Think that Another time we would like to live nearer the sea mostly because it´s dryer with sand and to get a better view.

Room Tip: We Think that a room higher up maybe is better for a better view and maybe less mosquitos,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loannese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ok - so the pavers near the pool are a bit old and grimy looking and the lounges are a tad old and rusted. Oh - and the cushions on the lounges are a bit old and cracked. But hey - they have nice clean towels that cover all of that. The 3 pools are beautiful. The gardens a beautiful around the pool. The staff are super friendly. The room was absolutely lovely. The odd thing was a bit old - but for the money it was real value. The rooms were cleaned every day by the loveliest man who did a terrific job. The breakfast was great. The staff were really friendly (did I already say that!). I had a really great time here. Didn't want to leave. Loved the 3 pools - which one to swim in now!

The only complaint was the blaring TV at the 3rd pool which is the nicest pool with the newest chairs and best paving around it - Doh!. Pity they have that on - it spoils the nice tranquillity. Don't know why they think that people would like to hear a noisy T.V. at a pool? Maybe the staff could do a survey to see how customers feel about the T.V.??

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
383 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for almost a week. We economized and stayed in the cheapest rooms but they were certainly of excellent albeit basic quality. I understand the higher end are even more impressive. Rate is great and includes a superior breakfast. Rooms are small and tidy and include an outdoor - and private - shower and wash room facility. Was really quite unique and pleasant. The complex is just that - complex - not in a difficult sense but in a massive sense, the location is widespread and elegant, with 3 pools and a great dining area, as well as a spa facility. And proximity to the Sanur beach - fast and simple - walk out and head down the street and 5 minutes to the beach.
I should mention, Sanur looks like a "massage dreamworld" - lots of available spa facilities besides the hotels are within walking distance - but choose carefully - some do massage others just "slather" you in oil.
Overall - Highly recommended site for price, location and quality.

Room Tip: Some rooms have only two double or single beds - specify what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was with absoluet surprise,amazement, and such great pleasure to walk into this beautiful property. had booked a double bedroom de lux villa, and can honestly say I was not dissapointed. Immaculate room and very comfortable living area.. Kitchen was a little on the sparse size,but there was facilities for tea making and fridge. though small was usable. There was no problem to bringing your own food in and dining in your own room. Breakfast was provided in a restaurant atmosphere, The food was very well presented , and cheerfully offered to all guests by a very helpful and friendly staff. it is. hard to describe how the place is laid out ,because it was like living in a beautiful garden and really was most magnificent. The swimming pools were a delight and so inviting. . It is in such a good area being surrounded by restaurants and shops, and 5 minutes walk down to the sea. Of course also 100 meteres away, , the famous HARDY shop. Which can supply you with everything you could need.. Be aware that HARDY's are closing down for one month for extensive renovations.fro the 1st December. Look. This really is a place you must stay at , with prices that will surprise you for such quality service and beauty. I stayed in villa 217. Beautiful. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong in my opinion. It is only a matter of paying a little more for that little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#25 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#30 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#37 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swastika Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swastika Bungalows

Property: Swastika Bungalows
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swastika Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Swastika Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swastika Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Swastika Hotel Sanur
Swastika Bungalows Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing