We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Swastika Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swastika Bungalows
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Stayed here for the first time. Previously we'd stayed at Besakih Beach Resort and Amansari Villas in Sanur but this place the best so far. 3 pools meant I could almost guarantee I had some somewhere to do laps without bothering other users. They were all good sized too so you weren't shoulder to shoulder as you can be elsewhere. We had an upstairs deluxe (i.e. air-conditioned) room and I'd recommend the extra cost. The AC worked really well. They have their own hairdresser and massage facility within the grounds so I had my first massage there. I'm not one to get a massage on the beach so this was a big tick for me.

The staff are particularly friendly and good at what they do, be it rooms, gardens, pools or front desk. More than happy to return here next year. Can't fault the cost either. When we stayed at the Besakih the first time (2011) we paid just over $50 a night. Two years later they were up over $100 and truthfully, apart from immediate access to the beach, they fell short of Swatiska in all other aspects. I did note that a lot of the folks we met during our stay were regular stayers which says a lot about the place too.

Room Tip: Upstairs means you get the nice evening breeze when you sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    215
    82
    28
    11
See reviews for
101
157
91
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Swastika is the perfect place to stay in Sanur. Situated on the main road, but away from the noise the hotel is situated in beautiful, big leafy grounds, it's a little slice of heaven. If you want a bit more luxury try the deluxe rooms. Lovely and spacious, overlooking a wondeful pool with swim-up bar. The staff are gems - nothing is too much trouble and they are always smiling and happy. Fabulous pancakes for breakfast, with a lovely fruit selection and an option of eggs in various ways. A good slug of Bali kopi and we were ready for the day! Swastika is a Sanur institution, and we came across quite a few people who regularly stay for 3 months or more. If you want a bit of traditional Bali with a bit of the new, don't hesitate to stay at Swastika.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have aircon - 202 has a lovely layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesDee_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife & I stayed 4 nights at the Swatstika bungalows and were reasonably happy with everything except breakfast which was "average"to say the least. Not sure if we would choose to stay at the hotel again, but we did speak to many repeat customers.

Pros:

- Great location in main part of Sanur, withing about 100 metres of Hardy's Supermarket and convenience stores and close to many excellent restaurants
- Our Deluxe room, at the rear of the property, was clean and well appointed despite cabinetry looking a bit old dated. It was strange though having the wash basin ( normally in the bathroom) in the main bedroom area.
- The room had a nice balcony with table and chairs which overlooked the main pool.
- Aircon was very effective and block-out curtains worked well
- WIFI reception was intermittent and unavailable on one day.
- The main pool, in the area of the deluxe rooms, was excellent. It had sparkling clear water, a swim up bar, an adjoining kids pool and a shallow surround approx 300mm deep on 3 sides which was ideal to relax and sit in.
- Reception staff were very welcoming and spoke very good English

Cons:

- The biggest let down was the breakfast. Although there was a good egg station serving up eggs (fried, scrambled omelletes etc) as well as pancakes the other hot food available was not appealing and limited to either steamed rice or veges. The toast which was made by one of the staff and placed in a basket at the counter was also underdone being barely brown.
Danishes and other pastries were good.
- there was no safety deposit in the room. Passports and other values had to be stored in a safety deposit box at reception
- at approx 6-6.30a on a couple of mornings we received an early wake up call from barking dogs and crowing roosters residing at the property behind the hotel. Not really the hotels fault and not uncommon in asia.
- The paving around the main pool was dirty in some areas - a problem with wet feet.
- Although we didn't use either of the other two pools their furniture and surrounds also looked a bit average eg one pool had a mixture of newish rattan lounges and old steel and timber slat
ones.
- Gardens were generally ok but nothing to write home about; unlike some of the other hotels we have stayed at in Bali.
- my wife observed cleaners washing our cups in the hand basin in the room one day. NOT VERY HYGIENIC!!
- There was no lift service to our upstairs room, which was ok for us, but could be a problem for others. It was not a small flight of stairs (see photos)
- The dining/restaurant area was also upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yotsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel has an old wing where some of the bathrooms could really do with an upgrade as could the towels. But apart from these small facts it is a great place to stay and the staff are WONDERFUL! It has three pools and a great breakfast. It is well situated in the centre of the Sanur Strip.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent over two weeks here as a retreat to write. Asked for a table on my balcony to sit and and work and was presented with a full office desk. I pity the person in the office giving up their desk, but my request was carried out with much humour and broad smiles.
This is one of the older places, and while it could use a bit of a spruce up in the bathrooms, here, you feel as if you're staying in Bali and not an expensive resort that could be anywhere in the world.
Great value for money and will be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony was my choice but steps could be difficult for older people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unless you are looking for top range pampering, Swastika Bungalows is the only place to call home while in Bali. Right in the middle of things and a brief walk from the beach, Swastika has been our place of choice for nearly thirty years.

Breakfast is included in the modest tariffs and includes eggs and pancakes cooked to order as well as a decent buffet that has a sumptuous offering of fresh fruits.

Accommodation is spacious and spotless, with daily cleaning and change of linen and towels. The staff, typically beautiful Balinese people are wonderfully welcoming and obliging. The landscaping has matured over the years into avenues of tropical greenery that feels both intimate and sculptured. Swastika feels like a very safe and hospitable village, tucked quietly in behind the bustling shops and restaurants on the main street of Sanur.

It will continue to be our family's preferred home away from home.

Room Tip: We liked the new deluxe section at the rear of the complex, but in our experience all are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Another beautiful holiday at this family owned hotel. We have been coming here for many years, and each time it seems to get even better. The staff are wonderfully friendly, and efficient at what they do (unlike many other hotels in Bali - some very much more expensive). After returning from our evening meal at about 10.00pm, we turned on the light, there was a bang, and the fuse blew. We told reception and the on-site electrician came within minutes and sorted the problem out (which included the fitting of a complete light fitting) - tell us that is not efficiency!!!
We definitely agree with "OliveNewZealand", Sanur is so much quieter than the other tourist centres (Kuta, etc), and this is what we want from our holiday. Those who want a "zippier" atmosphere - don't stay in Sanur, although there is plenty of entertainment, restaurants, and shopping, but with a much quieter ambience.
The Swastika Bungalows is in a prime location for everything, and although the laneway approach may be a bit daunting at first, what you find inside the complex is well worth the walk. The breakfast is very acceptable and the food is always well presented. Sure, there are hotels with far bigger buffets, but also far bigger prices. The breakfast is included in the price of the room, so is very reasonable - and do you really want a three course meal for breakfast?
The grounds are beautifully kept, and the pools (of which there are 3) are always crystal clear, and as clean as a new pin.
Hardy's supermarket is about 100 metres to the right of the hotel, an honest money changer is in the Circle K store opposite (by honest, I mean not one of the Kuta "magicians"), and many restaurants are within easy walking distance. You even get 20% off the food price at the Swastika Restaurant which is about 50 metres to the left.
Some of the standard rooms are a little old (mainly as far as the bathrooms are concerned), but they are in the process of being renovated, and I feel the comments by "Kazza11" are perhaps a little severe. This is a family owned hotel and they can't afford to shut the place down completely for an entire overhaul like the Hyatt has done, just down the road - the Hyatt is a major chain that can afford to do this, not a family owned business. Anyway, for the extremely reasonable price, my wife and I will continue to stay at the Swastika Bungalows, for as many years as we are able to travel - it certainly suits us, and we would recommend it to anyone. If you would like a room that is a bit more "up-market", there are deluxe rooms available around the new pool with the swim-up bar attached. The rooms are a little more expensive, but if you want a bit more luxury, it's there.
We arrived back in Perth on Sat 25th July, and the weather has been freezing ever since - we are already saving to get back to the Swastika for another 3 weeks in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George_and_Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#28 of 78 in Sanur
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#30 of 78 in Sanur
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 78 in Sanur
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
1.3 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swastika Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swastika Bungalows

Property: Swastika Bungalows
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 128, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swastika Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swastika Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swastika Bungalows Hotel Sanur
Swastika Hotel Sanur
Swastika Bungalows Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing