We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious, relaxing oasis”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
11 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 33
Sanur, Denpasar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inger J
Perth Hills, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great for multiple families.”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week-long stay at the beautiful Indies Estate with 23 family members (10 adults, 13 children) and unfortunately the number of us who have suffered, or are still suffering, from the dreaded "Bali belly" has now reached 19 (and possibly still climbing). After much discussion about why our sickness rate has been so high when we had all been so careful and the only common place we had all eaten was at was the villa for breakfast, it has come out that the staff were actually refilling the water-cooler bottles from the taps, so while we were drinking safe water, apparently not!!!!
The estate itself was stunning and perfect for our extended family gathering, the staff initially were very attentive but towards the end of the week we were setting the tables ourselves for breakfast. The driver was fantastic, very friendly with good English and was very apologetic when the bus broke down halfway to Ubud and we were stranded in the middle of nowhere for over an hour, this made us hesitant about using the vehicle again.
I would recommend the villa to other large groups, it was great for the kids (ages 3-17), was very peaceful and we felt safe, hopefully Indies Estate will purchase a new vehicle so others are not left in the same predicament as us and be VERY cautious about drinking the "safe" drinking water!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning gardens and outdoor area, works really well for large groups.
Liked least: Drinking water quality - the resulting illness greatly impacted our holiday.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Dear Inger,
First, we always welcome constructive feedback from client guests as it allows us to improve the villa product and guest experience for future clients.
That said, part of what you have written is completely unfair and simply not true.
Our staff at the Indies Estate do not and did not refill the water-cooler bottles with tap water. Why would they do this when we have a daily supplier and it is very cheap to buy safe drinking water? If they were doing this then trust me you would be more seriously ill and other previous guests would have been leaving similar reviews, which they have not.
You forget to mention that you all dined together the night before you left at a restaurant where our driver dropped you all off so it is completely untrue to say ‘the only common place we had all eaten was at was the villa for breakfast’! Completely false.
Another point to note on this is that if any of your guests suspected this during your stay then why did you not say anything to the villa manager or contact me?
The feedback from the staff and villa manager was that some of your guests were waking up very early at 630am before the staff arrived and laying the table themselves so that they could prepare their own breakfasts. We have a large staff at the Indies Estate and they are trained well and enjoy looking after the guests which includes preparing the table in the morning along with cooking and serving the delicious breakfast.
I did sincerely apologise at the time and I apologose once again now for the vehicle breaking down due to a mechanical problem. This can happen with vehicles and we sent a replacement vehicle instantly for which you thanked me for at the time. The villa vehicle was fixed the same day and now works fine.
Finally, I would refer readers to our other 9 reviews all with 5 stars on TripAdvsor from previous guests which would be a more accurate and trueful view of the Indies Estate.
Kind regards
Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious, relaxing oasis”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A gorgeous place to stay, just a short walk from Sanur beach.

There are three villas around a pretty garden and a lovely pool. They are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

We were there for a birthday celebration. It's a brilliant space for a large family or a group of friends; the accommodation allows people their own space, as well as providing room for the whole group to get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Eating under the pergola by the pool in the evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlacknBlo...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem: Colonial elegance in peaceful street, close to beac and shops”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Fabulous accommodation: so tranquil and peaceful. Great for groups, but still allowing privacy for couples and individuals in elegant rooms, beautifully appointed living areas, and bungalow style decks. Pool was a weclome relief for the heat. Garden and surrounds immaculate. Staff very helpful.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, tranquil villa with lovely staff. amazing value!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Indies in Sanur is a truly amazing place to stay. It is located really near the beach, has its own pool, and lovely friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We stayed as a group for a party, and they looked after us so well. there is even a mini bus included! The price is amazing value for Bali, as is the quality of the villas, the gorgeous pool and delicious food, prepared for us all every night. Gorgeous breakfasts as well, with anything you want served by the pool! I would highly recommend these villas and am already planning to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It was all fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillyb201...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Live like a rockstar!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This private estate off a small road in Sanur has to be seen to be believed. Inside a quiet walled garden, the three luxury villas sit around a tranquil pool area complete with private bale and dining area. Each villa is furnished in a quirky tropical-chic style reminiscent of a bygone era. Ceiling fans whirl overhead while there's rattan arm-chairs a plenty to flop in (and of course all mod-cons from AC to TV). When you feel like leaving the tranquility of the compound, there's the whole world of Sanur on your door-step - from a yoga hut on the beach to paddle boarding, from authentic Balinese restaurants to cool Italian bistros. But it's hard to leave this little sanctuary, especially when the staff look after you so well. A veritable paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of your own private estate.
Liked least: Leaving the estate.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly H
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the beautiful Indies Estate. All three villas are beautifully furnished, each has a different theme. The beds are so comfortable and everything is spotless. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble, they will cook anything you wish. However if you like Indonesian food theirs is amazing. The swimming pool is the perfect temperature and we all swam every day. The Indies estate is 5 minutes walk to the beach which has a board walk that takes you all along through into Sanur. There are great bars and restaurants on the way where you can stop for refreshment. Having travelled extensively this was a truly magnificent development and location. Great place for friends and family to stay as you can share magic moments together without being surrounded by other guests at large hotels. Would be amazing for wedding parties and other special celebrations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience and setting of the three villas and staff
Liked least: Mosquitoes!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing choice of place to stay. Paradise in paradise”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I have never stayed in a rental before on holiday but this was much more than that. Stunning garden and pool with staff to make it private luxury.
The staff were really attentive keeping rooms ordered and beds renewed and an amazing cook who would pretty much cook anything you wanted.
The pool is lovely and essential to cool off in. I loved the interior design of the villas and that being 3 around the pool enabled people to be private or joining in relaxing and chilling.

It's a great location close to everything in sanur. I can't wait to visit again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Style and the pool
Liked least: At a push maybe the towels could have been fluffier!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing