We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Prima Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prima Cottage
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This was the theirs time we stayed at Prima,just for one night before going it Gili.
The staff are really friendly and helpful especially this time as my partner booked the wrong date and they still a managed to accommodate us with a late check in, leave our luggage with them and chill by the pool whilst we waited for our room. The rooms are clean,the beds comfy and a nice extra to provide small toiletries.
In the morning our taxi arrived early and they boxed up my breakfast so could take it for the road.
It's located away from the main road so close to everything as well as about a10 min walk to the beach where there are lots of restaurants.Although we found the best restaurant is actually just around the corner from the hotel Lilla Warong, best place we've eaten at in Sanur.
Thanks again to the lovely staff.
Dana &Ben

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank danairvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimaC0ttage, Manager at Prima Cottage, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your friendly description,we hope next time we would have chance to serve you longer.
We are so glad that your enjoy Prima Cottage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    134
    63
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
116
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Prima was a nice stay. It was clean and well maintained. The pool was lovely as the beach was a good 10min walk but the location was close to the main street. Just down the road "Donnys Warung" was a great place to eat, I highly recommend her food both thai and western, don't be put off by the modest setting the food is excellent. The breakfast at the cottages was tasty but very minimal.

Just a warning about getting a taxi through them particularly if you have an early morning flight, we were quite disappointed when we were reassured twice that a metered taxi would be called for us and instead we got a dodgy taxi that wanted to charge a ridiculous price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shann0n13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimaC0ttage, Manager at Prima Cottage, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for spending your precious time to write review!
We are grateful for nice words about hotel.
That night we really call "a meter taxi" what we did not know that taxi driver will be so reluctant to switch on meter and actually take advantage of fact that it was night and no other choice to get to airport on time.
We have learn the lesson and now we use the only one qualified and reliable tax in Bali- Blue Bird,rather than local Sanur ones so hope no more disappointed guest at least..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at for the start of our holiday. We landed in Bali and literally needed a hotel for one night as we were getting on a boat the following morning for a trip to the Gili Islands. This review is therefore based on a one night stay and breakfast.

I want to start off by saying that we got to the hotel very late and there was still someone on the desk waiting to greet us. He provided us with all the details we needed, including WiFi, and led us to the room.

The room itself was very clean. tiled floors, good air con and the bed looked fantastic especially with the mosquito net set up. All in all looked very good. A good nights sleep was had by both of us.

In the daylight the cottage grounds looked very nice. The pool looked small but clean and the decoration around the edges looked very nice.

We were given menus for breakfast promptly and had a choice of a number of dishes. The food was prepared quickly and was of a good quality.

All in all I was very impressed with this set-up. It did not cost us a fortune, the location seemed decent, everyone was friendly and the room did more than just serve a purpose.

I don't know if I would want to stay at this cottage for the duration of a big holiday, but for a short stay it was fantastic for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wayney8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The pool area is the only nice bit about this place. The 2 ladies on reception were consistently indifferent to us during our 3 night stay and not very welcoming. Not what you expect in Bali.

Our room was circa 1985 with little changes since, but quite spacious. The TV was about the size of an ipad and the phone didnt work. I was told it would be fixed but it wasnt. The bathroom was ok and in general it was pretty clean.

The restaurant area, which looks out onto the pool, is quite nice with friendly staff. But awful food. We ate lunch when we first got there but it was really bad. At breakfast there was just 1 person doing everything and they were too busy to notice that there was no juice/tea/coffee left every morning. The choices were poor and basic with many options to pay for extras that would turn it into a normal portion.

A parrot in a dirty cage constantly screamed for help to anyone that would listen. We could hear it from our room and were woken by it. Talking of noise, next door appeared to be doing a lot of building work which was noisy.

Forgetting all that, when in the pool you can relax and the area around the pool, with its palm trees, is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomad1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimaC0ttage, Director of Sales at Prima Cottage, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We apologize for not meeting your expectation as much as you wish for.
However we always display that we are 2* property and with average room rates of 35 USD/room(equivalent of dinner for 2 at Sanur beach restaurants)major changes to inventory is quite limited.
We accept 24 hour cancellation from our guests in case of changes of travel plans or any other reason.Therefore we were surprise that if you felt less pleased you still kept your initial 3 days reservation and even extend your stay by one more night.
In hotel restaurant we serve simple usually local meals affordable to our guests.
Bird cages are cleaned once a day and we have plan to change them in the middle of next year after all rooms refurbishment and modernization.
Tv set in standard rooms are 19 " for a 15 sqm room size and 21" for slightly bigger cottage.
Most of travelers are happy with reception staff they work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Five of us stayed in two standard ground floor rooms, in our own little "cottage". After a few hiccups, once addressed by management, our stay was perfect.

The hotel is very family friendly, laid back and spotless. The hotel in JL Bumi Ayu, down a back lane off the main drag, is surrounded by other small hotels, warungs, and tailors and shops. Best kept secret in Sanur.

Our houseman, Kadek, was sweet, and made the beds beautifully. The staff is the best part of this establishment, including reception, groundsman, and fantastic girls,{you are all very bagus}.They didn't blink an eyelid when we all decided, after a fat day, to order home delivery Maccas, a novelty in itself for us Aussies, through the reception telephone.

We felt sad for the civets and birds in their small enclosures, but they were all loved and cared for by their keepers. Maybe the owners would consider investing in bigger cages, and would attract repeat customers.

All in all, after booking through Booking.com, we were very happy, and for a long stay, the cost was very affordable. Our hot water did not falter, breakfast was yum, and the staff was the best. Kim, you need to cruise a bit, remember where you are located and try not to be the scary boss.

Room Tip: Other guests said deluxe cottages were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jogaryluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Prima Cottage. Located only 10 minutes away from the beach by foot, it is a nice and quiet place to stay.

The staff is very helpful and polite - and the room was comfortable and clean.

The only things I find negative must be the two animals in a cage in front of the reception and that the breakfast is a bit limited. A small banana pancake is not very much to eat for breakfast.

I would definately return! Thank you for having us as your guests.

Even though - I would definately return if I visit Sanur another time !

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EirikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimaC0ttage, Manager at Prima Cottage, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for spending some time to write this review
we are all so grateful for such a fantastic comments and we welcome you again in our small but friendly place.
We try to improve everything day by day we just finish replacing ceilings and painting in cottage so we hope we can serve you even better next time.
We will look at breakfast menu to provide more satisfactory choice for our guest.
Have a great time in Bali and all the best!
Pedro Lopez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience the balinese feeling. The resort itself looks very nice with a nice and warm atmosphere. For the price you pay for it it's more then enough. Pool and garden excelent, friendly helpful staff! Breakfast is continental and nothing to complain about. Close to Sanur centre, mall, beach, and the best restaurant in Sanur: Lilla Warung. I would specially address my thanks to Kadek from the reception and Safri, who organised and guided tours for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobiB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.0 mi away
Sanur House
Sanur House
#34 of 78 in Sanur
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 78 in Sanur
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumas Hotel
Bumas Hotel
#64 of 78 in Sanur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#29 of 78 in Sanur
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#28 of 78 in Sanur
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nyaman Guest House
Nyaman Guest House
#50 of 141 in Denpasar
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Cottage

Property: Prima Cottage
Address: Jln. Bumi Asih 23, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Prima Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prima Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Cottage Sanur
Prima Cottage Hotel Sanur
Prima Cottage Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing