We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay”
Review of Prima Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prima Cottage
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in Prima Cottage for one night between arriving in Bali and heading to Ubud. Firstly, this is a great choice if you're arriving late. It was around an hour's drive from the airport and you can arrange for them to collect you (or simply take a taxi from the airport) for around 150k. We arrived at around midnight so this was perfect.

Don't be concerned when you turn down some narrow alleys to reach the hotel; it is tucked around 5 minutes' walk from the Sanur high street in easy reach of the beach and shops. The location was a perfect balance between proximity to the action and distance from the noise.

The accommodation is basic but met expectations for the price bracket. Our double room featured a genuine double bed with an ensuite, complete with hot water shower. There are also communal bathrooms. We didn't try the TV but there was a cable box present. WiFi signal was good throughout the premises.

The breakfast was basic (3 options) with average filter coffee and tea. Milkshakes etc were available for a little extra money.

We didn't use the pool but it looked clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    134
    63
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
116
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 days on the way to Lembongan. Lovely little place - not at all touristy. V clean & tidy. Staff were really friendly & on site travel desk was a bonus & helped us with boat's & transport to the island. Breakfast was quite good and served in a nice covered area next to the pool. Pool is small and only 4 sunbeds so we went to the beach which is a 10 minute walk. Rooms could do with having a kettle but hot water was available in a thermos flask if required to make a hot drink in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Prima Cottage was a lovely place to stay. Everything was as described except one thing - I booked a twin room (2 single beds) 3 weeks before my stay as I was on holiday with my dad, and the staff double booked us and gave our room to someone else! They accommodated by putting a single mattress on the floor next to a double bed. It was a bit squeezy and not what I paid for, but it was fine. I was disappointed that Prima Cottage didn't hold our agreement though.
Other than that, the staff were helpful and friendly, and nice to chat to. The pool was refreshing. The shared breakfast area was great to meet other guests and relax in. The location was convenient and quiet.
Overall, I would stay again. I would triple check the booking though!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for one week in June. First night no water for the first 15 hours so not a good start. The pump gave up so I guess that could have happened anytime!! Breakfast is a choice of how you want your eggs, coffee and toast. Pretty much pay a small amount if you want anything else. Pool is small and was very cold compared to other hotels at the same time of year. Staff are friendly enough but what you would expect from a 2 star property. Wouldn't stay there again as there are better properties for a little more outlay. We stayed in the cottage. Wifi doesn't work in the rear cottages not sure about the ones closer to reception.

Room Tip: Can't really suggest anything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Second visit to Sanur in less than 6 months. My last visit stayed in a private villa but chose a hotel closer to the where friends hotel where they were getting married. I've stayed in a many hotels around Bali, I have to be honest I was slightly disappointed with the quality of the rooms compared to places I've stay in the past.

However, you do get what you pay for. Paid $31 per night so I can't really complain. Value for money. The first night, after a long flight, needed to shower, the cold water was off and only had hot water. The day after it was back to normal. Room had air conditioning, small refrigerator, and a balcony and the area was quiet and off the main drag so you didn't hear too many motorcycles.

The staff where friendly and helpful. Had a nice pool which was perfect for an afternoon dip after a day's excursion.

It was located close to shops and a 10-15 min walk to the beach. Opposite the hotel entrance you can hire bikes which was perfect for riding a long the beach path.

Stayed a total of 4 nights before moving to another hotel a couple of blocks away after deciding to extend the stay in Sanur, only to try something different.

I would recommend if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingRose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Prima Cottage was our first and our last accommodation during our BaliTrip. At the second day we decided to finish our journey here, because we loved it. We got the villa with two rooms,two seperate entrances, two bathrooms (bathtub), kitchen and a mix between living room and terrace half open. TV, free wifi, fridge, air con, nice pool, drinking water and breakfast included, the food is tasty and low priced (room service!), the garden is beautiful, relaxed atmosphere and absolute privacy.
The management and the staff are friendly and very helpful.
During our trip we had a few accommdations......Prima Cottage was the best.
Real good value for money.....very recommendable!
Enjoy your stay.....!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerstin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed for 3 nights in total. The pool was lovely and a refreshing oasis away from the busy roads just a short walk away. Staff were not always around or asked us to wait for someone else on next shift to answer our queries, this was the only annoyance. The rooms were clean and basic with hot water.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cl00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.0 mi away
Sanur House
Sanur House
#32 of 78 in Sanur
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#33 of 78 in Sanur
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumas Hotel
Bumas Hotel
#66 of 78 in Sanur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Wirasana Hotel
Bali Wirasana Hotel
#55 of 78 in Sanur
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#29 of 78 in Sanur
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nyaman Guest House
Nyaman Guest House
#52 of 141 in Denpasar
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Cottage

Property: Prima Cottage
Address: Jln. Bumi Asih 23, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Prima Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prima Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Cottage Sanur
Prima Cottage Hotel Sanur
Prima Cottage Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing