We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Location, Good Times”
Review of Prima Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prima Cottage
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Our family of five (3 kids from 7 to 12 yo) had three nights at Prima in late January and were completely satisfied . Prima is simple, laidback and convenient. We'll stay here again without hesitation.

There was a slight glitch on arrival as we had the same first name as another couple that arrived at the same time so for a shortwhile it looked like we were a room short. The staff, and the other couple, were all smiles and very focussed on getting it sorted out. Once we check last names on the reservations it was sorted quickly.

The first night we stayed in two seperate rooms then moved to the 2 bedroom villa.
The two Superior rooms were fine and had a small walled terrace to give some outdoor privacy. The rooms were basic no-frills but clean and cool with good airconditioning. Booked via Wot.if they were US$30 each plus US12 for an extra bed.

The two bed room villa was very roomy and clean with TV and DVD in each room. US$75 per night plus $12 for extra bed again. The kitchen was also large with gas rings, fridge and some baic cooking utensils. (We ate out or in the restaurant so didn't use the cooking facilities). The bonus was a large water cooler so we could keep up a stock of cold water in the fride rather than continuously buying bottled water.

The villa has a wonderful large outdoor area with chairs and lounges and fan, great for afternoon dozes.

One thing to note is that the two bedrooms open onto the outdoor area. The doors are locked from the outside by a padlock through the door handles or from the inside by a latch. Certainly secure enough but it means that you can't get in to check on kids in the other room unless someone gets up to let you in ( or you padlock them in).

The pool was not big but was clean and cool and because Prima is samll never crowded.

Breakfast is included and while basic - tea/coffee, fresh fruit and either eggs (any way) or pancakes (with banana or pineapple) - was adequate. We usually topped up with some extra pancakes or eggs for a few dollars to fill everyone up. The limited menu would probably get a bit boring after a while. The restaurant also offered lunch and dinner with standard local and western options at good prices.

The staff were great, as other reviewers have said they learn names and drink orders
very quickly

The location is good, in a back street parallel to the main road. (A torch at night is helpful as there are some potholes and ditches on the side of the road). Easy to walk to the beach, restaurants and shops - about 10 mins to Hardy's supermarket.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TopEnd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

When we were in Bali, we did a lot of door-to-door shopping around for hotels and Prima Cottages seemed the best value. Nice bungalow with hot water and TV, good breakfast included, and a really beautiful pool. We found free wifi pretty hard to come by in Bali so were very happy that Prima Cottages offered it (even though the signal is a bit weak depending on where you are). The owners are also very helpful.

More info and pics from our stay in our Bali post at http://patrinadoestheglobe.blogspot.com/

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank patrickfoster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I spent 5 nights at a delux room. Hotel staff is friendly indeed, and they greet you by your first name every time they see you. So people working there are polite and friendly to deal with

Room is clean but you can feel some sewage smell coming from the bathroom, so i would recomment to keep the door closed.

Restaurant has a nice view of the pool and garden. The only thing, i would say that breakfast is quite poor and if you wish to have the second cup of coffee or whatever over your breakfast you have to pay for it. I personally thought that was pretty bad and would recommend the management to reconsider the morning coffee policy.

But my overall stay was quite enjoyable and as mentioned in the previous posts the location of the hotel is convenient and it is easy to reach the beach, shopping and restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Great location about 150m from the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the giant Hardy's supermarket. Fantastic accommodation for families on a budget, there is no golf, massages or 5stars but it is private and relaxing. Lovely pool, gardens, pool table and restaurant area with a great map of Bali on the wall for trip planning. Our family rooms had a giant verandah/outdoor area which was also fan-cooled, and inside was spacious, tidy and clean. We had a full size kitchen and fridge attached to our room, which was open but not a problem. - the fridge was restocked every day with drinks (water/soft drinks, Bintang etc)but we were only charged for what we used. Our air-conditioner stopped working and we were promptly supplied with fans (until the a/c was repaired)- which supported my initial view that this was a friendly place with excellent staff. My view was further highlighted by being greeted every day by our first names, a fantastic touch and very much appreciated and respected. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Friendly, no-fuss stay. The grounds are lovely, the staff friendly and both the rooms and cottages are clean, simple and charming. This is not 5 star but it is everything a single, couple or family could ask for. It is off the main road yet a quick walk to the beach and shops. I stayed for two nights and returned for another 4. They remembered my name each time and were helpful without being pushy. Great restaurant, Kembali Sanur was recommended, just past Hyatt, straight up from the statue. It was great! Will return again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

reasonable location down a dark alley. the property was tidy but not well cleaned . staff were more attentive to the pool table than cleaning up. i killed cockroaches on first day ,and left them to be cleaned up. on the second day i moved them to a more prominent location in the centre of the bathroom. breakfast dishes from the only one we ate were left for two days. breakfast is nothing special or particularly appetizing. we stayed in the two bedroom villa which was spacious and had a working airconditioner . the bathrooms were huge. the kitchen and hence to minibar fridge is in another room which cannot be locked so you are billed for what ever is missing

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Just back from our second time at Prima. The first time, (My wife, myself, daughter, son in law and two grandkids ) we were made so welcome by Magda and Vicky that it was a no brainer where we would stay this time. Again we were made to feel at home the whole stay.
The staff are very friendly, the rooms are clean the aircon works and we relaxed for three weeks. We're looking forward to our return in April. Rooms vary from Standard, Superior, Bungalow and a family villa and the prices are all very competitive and cooked breakfasts are included. ]
A couple of the reports on this site are somewhat dated, since the current management has only been there around eighteen months and the changes they have made are a credit to them.
The place is quiet,comfortable and extremely welcoming. Roll on April.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rokace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Cafe Locca Homestay
Cafe Locca Homestay
#25 of 137 in Sanur
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taman Kesari Villas
Taman Kesari Villas
#21 of 146 in Sanur
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prime Plaza Suites Sanur - Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Cottage

Address: Jl. Bumi Asih 23, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range: £74 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prima Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Cottage Sanur
Prima Cottage Hotel Sanur
Prima Cottage Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing