We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctuary Within a Sanctuary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald Villas
Ranked #6 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Sanctuary Within a Sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Have stayed at Emerald Villas on several occasions and rate it highly. Just 100m tops from the main Sanur drag up a quiet lane, passing the gated entry takes you into the first sanctuary away from the bustle of Bali and then from the communal courtyard lie the individual walled villas all private and accessed via an ornately carved Balinese wooden door permitting entry in to the inner sanctuary. Villas are well maintained, spacious, clean and beautiful as is the pool and landscaped small gardens. The bar has a pool table and the restaurant provides good quality Indonesian and some western dishes which they will deliver to the villas. The only downside is the six day a week constant maid service. Some may see this as a luxury but a private villa with pool is not so private with a maid there all day. The maids are delightful and you cannot give them the day off as their wages get docked. We bought ours some coke and let her watch movies as there was really nothing for her to do. That aside and most would see a maid as a good thing, Emerald Villas is a great and well priced friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: We tend to stay in the dry season to escape the Australian winter and the villas with shaded pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    73
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
115
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The villas are two bedroom two bathroom with a private pool. Very clean, comfortable and private. There is a fully functional kitchen and all the mod cons you need to make you feel at home. A maid comes in each morning and cleans, makes the beds, washes and irons your clothes and tends to any maintenance issues.
I have stayed here twice now and will come back again. A great place to sit and chill with a fantastic feeling to it. No complaints and very little room for improvement.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Tupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Loved it , it was everything plus more , I have stayed in Bali many times and have never been so relaxed . The private pool to the outdoor bathroom were awesome , will be definatly coming back to stay in this complex ... One very happy customer :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have stayed here about 5 times now, love the Emerald Villas, From the moment you arrive at reception, till the day you leave everyone is so friendly and helpful.
I booked via email with Yuni, she could not have been more helpful.
I booked the 1 bedroom villa with a shared pool, but was given a 3 bedroom villa ,with my own pool, I had a fantastic maid, who came and made the bed, cleaned up and did whatever washing I had, the bedrooms are huge, with a big ensuite, huge living area, with a full kitchen, and a full size fridge.
You also get a flat screen tv and dvd player, and free wi fi.
I will be back again in 2014 for sure.
stonie

Room Tip: Any of the villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Quiet 4 bedroom villa...we had our own maid which was hard to get use to...our villa was breath-taking...close to supermarket and shops..markets around the corner..cheap facials and massages on he corner. It was the best holiday for myself, hubby, adult children and partners. Staff very helpful as all indonesian people are..made our stay complete. Definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse-suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

All advertising seems to be only about private villas, not general villas. When we arrived, there was no one to greet us, no welcome of any kind, and no porters to help with luggage, we had to ask! We were given a letter from reception saying we cannot complain and it is illegal to do so...huh, and we were asked for credit card details in case we damage the room, this is the first time ever I have been asked to do this, so the greeting was absolutely negative, a sour taste already!!! A self contained villa with no cutlery or cooking utensils, the gas cooker wouldn't work, the fridge was frozen, so we defrosted it so we could use it and no instructions on how to use the safe, we rang reception 5 times in an hour to get what we needed to be self contained. The kettle took 25 minutes to boil, gas was faster, kettle replaced and also no coffee, tea, sugar salt and pepper was supplied. Drinking water in a large 20 - 25 litre dispenser sitting on a stand, dripping onto the floor where a towel was placed on the floor to absorb the water - 5 star huh? The breakfast bar was high and the cane seats were ok if you are 6 feet 6 inches tall. The only other seating in the dinette, was a single slide out bed that was to wide to use as a seat. The clothes wardrobe was in the bathroom and no extraction fan also. The bath towels were not white, but slightly grey and no tea towels for drying dishes.
Now we are all settled and organised, nice setting, and communal pool for 5 villas, fairly private and good locality to restaurants and shops as we dined out at all local eating establishments.
We never saw anyone dining at the villa restaurant as there are only 5 tables, no restaurant setting at all. So overall with a cost of $200.00 per night, disappointing, maybe private villas are nice, but our experience wasn't - very ordinary sorry!

Room Tip: They advertise private pool villa pictures, not single villa, very misleading ads
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Villa staff were excellent! We stayed at A1 3 bedroom villa close to the restaurant. The food is lovely! Even though it says that you pay for the internet on Booking.com we got ours for free of charge. Thanks for that! So clean and tidy, perfect location. Close to shops (Hardy's, Pharmacy) Didn't bother going to the beach because the pool is amazing! We're definitely coming back to this villa!

Room Tip: Stay close to the reception/restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.7 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Villas

Property: Emerald Villas
Address: Jalan Karangsari no 5, Sanur,Bali, Indonesia, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Emerald Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are cordially invited to indulge yourself at your own private First Class © Bali Luxury Villa on the “Best Island” in the world LOW COST AIRPORT TRANSPORT: Your luxurious experience begins with an optional ( additional charge) low cost service by our Balinese chauffeur directly to your Villa in a modern air-conditioned vehicle.TROPICAL PARADISE: As you enter the front gates you will realize that the villa complex is first class which is usually only the prerogative of the rich and famous.HUGE VILLA WITH LARGE PRIVATE POOL: Magnificent architecture, spacious grounds and exquisite tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Emerald Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Villas Hotel Sanur
Emerald Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing