We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay but we were looking something more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Gangsa was a perfectly relaxing place and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. If you want anything modern in Bali perhaps Sanur (where The Gangsa is located) is not something you were looking for. Being the earliest developed tourist spot, there're not much tourism infrastructure that you can pay visit or attention to. Instead you can enjoy all good food on the main street. If compared to other areas like Ubud and Kuta, perhaps you can find more memorable and featured private villas..

Two points to be remarked for improvements:
- facilities in the villa are getting quite old in particular the wall and bed and renovation is advised;
- the street outside is with a big hole and we were so worried that the taxi driver from other areas may not realise that so we avoid to get back to hotel on our own but rather we rely on the shuttle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Gangsa was excellent from start to finish - from the collection at the airport where were offered a cold flannel, chilled drink and homemade cookies, right the way through to the day we left 3 days later.
We stayed at The Gangsa for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon...it was perfect to get away from everything for 3 whole days. The villas are completely private - not overlooked at all and all have walled gardens and beautiful gated doorways you can lock. So you can completely relax in private.
Being exhausted from the flight and our wedding, we stayed in our villa for the majority of our stay - whenever we wanted food we just called reception to order it and within 30 minutes there was a knock at the gate and a man carrying baskets of food came in to set it all out on the table. We then just had to call for them to clear it away. Completely indulgent!!
The outside living space is beautiful and the pool equally so. The bedroom and bathroom are very very slightly more dated, but this didn't ruin the experience.
We took a trip out to the beach where were equally as well looked after. The Gangsa have their own private seating area, so you know you're going to get a lovely sunbed.
One of the best parts of the trip was the spa. Oh. my. word. THE best full body message my husband and I have ever had. We had a 3 hour message side by side and it was heavenly. My husband normally doesn't like massages, but he was raving about it afterwards. We both won't forget what an incredible experience it was - well worth the money!
We'd wholeheartedly say that Gangsa is great value for money and the perfect place to get a few nights of private indulgence.
We loved our experience at Gangsa - thank you!

Room Tip: All of these villas look the same - and as they have walled gardens and are extremely private, I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viv j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Gangsa is where you go, if you want to hear experience nature in close proximity. My favourite experience at the Villa was lying on the couch outdoors under the shade of the huge trees around the villa and watching the squirrel nibbling away at the bunch of acai berries hanging from the branch in front of me. I felt in harmony with nature as the trees swayed to the tunes of the gamelan music being played on the DVD player in the outdoor area.
The staff were the sweetest ever, Ramayanti, Citra, Arya and especially the ones who surprised me by walking into the villa singing "happy birthday" to me with a cake. You guys made my day. The lady who gave us the free head massage had the most amazing fingers ever.
The fusion food was good, but my palate prefers food that is served hot and smothered with spices. However, the the Hi-Tea gets my vote. The interiors were good but outdoors was where I spent all my time.
The shuttle to Sanur was available on demand and no request was too challenging for the efficient and warm staff of the Gangsa. Overall a very private, tranquil haven.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank charlierao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The villa was so big and quiet. The service is great, the staff named Gust Ana who served us nice breakfast every morning, he was so kind and offered us much information. The SPA was also great! They asked us the questions to make their SPA more suitable for the customers. Anyway, their service is excellent! However, the villa is so big, maybe next time we will stay there again with family or friends, i believe it will be fun also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Staying at the gangsa for 2 weeks for us meant the perfect combination of living in a "home base" for a series of excursions to Bali, as well as a perfectly organized stay in a very private and well kept villa.
The facilities included everything it takes to make a stay worth while:
* The villa itself had A/C in the sleeping room and luxurious outdoor facilities for all the rest: 2 bath rooms with outdoor WC, tub and showers. Clean and well kept large private pool, living space with audio vision center, dining space and a fully equipped kitchen (for guests that wanted to either cook or call somebody in for cooking)
* a luxurious spa with great treatments to offer (we took 6 in the 2 weeks and where overwhelmed)
* outdoor lobby and restaurant. we had a half board package and where blown away by the (mostly local) kitchen and the first rate service offered. A young, inspired, friendly, well trained team made our daily stays in the restaurant more than worth while (no idea why others preferred to have their dinners in their villas...)
* Butler service, shuttle service, help with travel arrangements, etc. worked perfectly, as expected.

A place to recommend and come back. The success is based on the GREAT team, the discreteness and privacy offered and the ultra high status they keep day after day. Thank you for making our honeymoon trip such a pleasure !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked the Gansga villa (one bedroom) for 4 nights. Travelling with my wife and 3 months old daughter. We wanted a quiet getaway with everything catered for in-house. The Gangsa definitely exceeded our expectations. Nicely tucked away ina quiet corner in Sanur, it is a great place to unwind. The privacy of each villa also gives you the sense of peace and comfort required. Since they hotel had erroneously over booked us for one night, we were transferred to a sister porperty (Kayumanis Jimbaran) for one night - it was good, but our experience at the Gangsa was definitely better.

The hotel has afree shuttle service that drops you (and picks you up) around the Sanur area - I used this extensively.

The staff was excellent and very friendly. The best part is the warmth that you are always greated with.

The only downside is the limite din0house meneu (breakfast was good but Lunch/Dinner not to our liking). But you can either order takeaway from many restaurants around (which we did mostly) or use the shuttle to the Sanur beach area (Jln Tamblingan) to pick up food from many restaurants around the area.

Must not forget to mention - 2 hours of free massage at our villa (as compensation for the overbooking for one night) - thanks to the management for this. This in addition to an upgrade to a HUGE two bedroom villa!

All in all a great experience. Recommended to some of my friends planing a family vacation in December.

Cheers

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam0778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a two bedroom villa, Kajar. The Villa is beautiful. The outdoor living space is amazing, and we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the outdoor living room. We had room service two nights, which was amazing and perfect. The pool was warm and spacious, and was a welcomed treat after being out in the heat. Shuttles to Kuta and Sanur were perfect, and the drivers were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was yummy. Fridge is stocked with free soft drinks, juices, and waters daily. Of course - I can't forget the Gangsa cookies :) This is a perfect place for serenity, away from the noise of the city. The private beach in Sanur was not our cup of tea - no waves. We preferred watching the surfers in Kuta far more.
Two things preventing a five star review: Pool needed a little maintenance work, and The Gangsa wanted to charge us $100 for a two hour late check out. Check out time is noon, and we wanted to stay until 2, due to our departing flight schedule. The Gangsa kindly said that they could accomodate, but we would have to move villas that morning (understandable), but would have to pay the additional $100 USD for late checkout. We declined, and went shopping in Kuta instead.
Overall, The Gangsa is beautiful. The privacy and serenity of the villas is amazing. Location requires use of the shuttle service, which was more than adequate. If in Sanur again, I would definitely stay at the Gangsa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beccaboo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.9 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Samata
The Samata
#2 of 79 in Sanur
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa

Address: Jl. Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia (Formerly The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#1 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#3 Family Hotel in Sanur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £156 - £649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an idyllic of modern comforts, unparalleled service and warm local village charm. from the moment you arrive, Kayumanis Sanur will serenade some harmony back into your life by offering you the opportunity to experience traditional Balinese life, the lush tropical landscapes, the spaciously comfortable private villa, and the gangsa's renowned ability to service your every need. Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa is another exclusive haven of Kayumanis private villas, who pioneered the concept of exclusive, luxury vacation retreats in Bali and in China; and continues to raise the standard by which others are to follow. Named after the keyed instrument that plays the resonant melodies in a traditional orchestra, Kayumanis Sanur was created with the vision to introduce travellers to a harmonious serenade of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gangsa Hotel Sanur
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing