We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We (2 adults and a 14mth toddler) were in The Gangsa for 5 days.

To our pleasant surprise, we were upgraded to a 3-bedroom villa which was HUGE. The living room, dining area, and kitchen are separated from the master bedroom. there are 2 deck chairs and a sun bed next to the pool. Master bedroom is spacious and there are pockets of space to relax. I only wished it was brighter so i could read. The resort offers free refills of mini bar certainly helped to brighten our day!

We expected a playpen when we requested for a cot and again, to our surprise, it was a huge wooden cot which came with a mosquito net and latches so it's really safe and comfortable. He slept better than he did at home!

The living area is really cosy with sofa, sunbeds. And there is also a radio with several CDs if you want some relaxing music. BUT there are tons of mosquitoes, despite having at least 4 mosquito coils around. Note to Gangsa management, the pond between living and dining area of Villa Kantil is a breeding ground, i saw a lot of larvae squirming around. You may want to look into cleaning that. I left with 20+ bites on my legs. Mosquito coils were refilled and relit twice a day, and they supply a huge bottle of repellent which thankfully worked for my son.

Tropical fruit basket was refilled on a daily basis. Breakfast selection was good, and they are able to accommodate switching of items, i miss bubur kacang ijo! Not to mention daily complimentary tiered hi tea which was great too!

There is a free transport service limited to Sanur area at your convenience and a daily shuttle service for Kuta. The transportation which is an MPV is very comfortable and there are fresh servings of cookies and bottled water every trip. We also found out from the driver that if you took the shuttle to Kuta and is unsure what time you want to head back, as long as it is during the times when the shuttle service runs, the resort would cover the taxi fare!

If you are travelling with kids and wondering if it's suitable resort, look no further! And if you need groceries, there is Hardy's, in Sanur town The supermarket has a good selection of baby products, fruits, fresh produce.

We checked out a few restaurants in town, Grocer & Grind, nothing fantastic, but if you want a burger and free wifi, this is where to go. Pregina's serves a mean crispy duck and our favourite, Mila's Warung. Mila's Warung is small, sits maximum 8 tables but packs so much punch! Central Javanese cuisine that is really good and cheap and it's 3mins drive from Gangsa! We love it so much we ordered in for lunch and dinner for a few occasions. It is quite popular, so just ask the reception and they will know where to send you.

To summarise, Sanur won us over with the warmth of its people and The Gangsa impressed with sincere service that comes with thoughtfulness and immense pride in what they do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spidyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 9 days at The Gangsa after time in Seminyak and Ubud. This was the best hotel of our holiday because of the overall experience. The service is outstanding and everything is done with beautiful attention to detail. The driver service to and from Sanur, in beautifully maintained vehicles, is excellent and the food is some of the best we had in Bali (you must try the traditional Balinese breakfast). The villas are clean, very private and quiet with a large swimming pool at the perfect tempature, 2 TVs, a living area, 3 toilets etc... Although the villas are disconnected by the bypass from the main part of Sanur, it really didn't matter because of the driver service. If you are traveling with young children it is good to know that the bedrooms are not connected internally, so we arranged for a bed to be put in our room for our 5 year old who wouldn't have been happy out of our earshot. The high tea each afternoon is decadent (the chef makes great biscuits!). We loved our stay at The Gangsa and all the staff were lovely people and always welcoming and helpful- we hope to be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Luchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A very warm welcome at the Gangsa, everyone is smiling and always willing to help you, a quick and welcoming check in to the villa. The villas are very big and enough bathrooms for each one of the family, rooms are cleaned and tidied up very efficiently. With a low density of villas it is never ever crammed with people during breakfast (optional to have in villa too), lunch or dinner.

You must try their spa too - lovely experience. Though it was part of the package, they never skimped on the treatment. Even 2 hours I think is too short :-)

Location fine - very close to the beach, Sanur centre, supermarket etc, the shuttle car is free and provided always with a smile and very punctual! I mean they are always there waiting for you.

Great place for honeymooners - the privacy is top, behind those tall walls no one can see you.
The pool is great - cleaned daily and we enjoyed that, the kids will love it..out the bed room and jump into the pool before breakfast.

But, there is a room for improvement - the internet, as mentioned by other people, this really needs to be improved. Wifi should be available with a strong signal - not just villas near the spa and lobby. It was not a deal breaker for me listen to my tip:

Immediately out of the airport get yourself a 6Gigabyte sim card for 150K, in a week I used 2G - that's including numerous youtube,s whatsapps, maps and browsing. Then from your phone, tether it your computer or ipad, the speed is far faster than any internet I used in Bali.

Mosquito spray is a must - for anywhere in Bali because it is a very green place and with green comes bugs that might bite. Natural repellent is not always the best, we used more potent stuff which repels for good for 8hrs+

Villa should have more brighter lights - at least install some LED garden lights - motion detection to save some power but provide sufficient lighting when entering the villas in the late evening.

Generally a very safe and enjoyable experience!

Oh some bloke said a big hole outside - well, it's not a hole, it's a stream...drivers can see that miles away and won't drive into it. Don't worry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bricheun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agtd, General Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Bapak Bricheun,

Om Swastyastu...

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your resent stay at the gangsa private villa. It is truly appreciated. My sincerely apologies for some areas, that we need to be improved especially our internet connection. We will take an immediate action to fix it.

Pertaining to the some bloke said a big hole outside of the gangsa, you are right that it is not a hole, but it is stream of rice field water irrigation system along Tirta Akasa Street. We trust, drivers can see the road there.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the gangsa private villa


Best regards,
Putu Agustini
General Manager
the gangsa private villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was the first time to Bali and we picked Gangsa based on the reviews we read on trip advisor. The reviews did not let us down but in fact the stay was better when we personally experienced the 3 nights ourselves in December. The villa was nicely furnished with touch of Balinese decor, and the pool was very big for a real swim. The service made us really loved the place, all the staff were very helpful and sincere, and the arrangement was very flexible, every thing could be arranged simply with a call! We enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon tea served in our room, the car taking us to and fro within Sanur and to Kuta, and we loved the free mini bar and homemade cornflakes cookies. Would highly recommend this villa if you want a getaway with excellent service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy_Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I came with our 2 and 3 year old boys and we all loved the Gangsa. It is good value considering the generous inclusions (breakfast, free soft drinks, high tea, shuttle into town), the beautiful villa and the excellent service. We initially booked to stay here only 2 nights before going on to what was in comparison a terribly disappointing place - and promptly checked out from that place and came back to the Gangsa for the rest of our week long holiday. We'd definitely return and recommend to friends.

We used room service most of the time. Portions of the Balinese food a little on the small side but western fare portion size was normal. There was enough variety to keep us all happy. All food was of a high standard and fairly priced. Service always with a lovely smile even when carrying a heavy tray in the rain!

I also used the spa, which was of a high standard, if not quite so relatively well-priced considering Bali is massage central. However you can have certain spa treatments also in your villa which is convenient if you have small children napping etc. (Babysitting is also available at a very nominal fee though. We used this service once and everything was fine.)

Only 2 small areas for improvement: wifi was intermittent, and mosquitos a bit of a problem as expected during rainy season - but fogging when followed by heavy rain should be repeated, and grass could have been kept shorter. But there was plenty of herbal mosquito repellent provided and many mosquito coils so this is a minor niggle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 677AS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We Stayed at the Gangsa in Nov and what a treat, we've stayed in a few villas in Bali but wanted this one to be special for our Marriage, and what a surprise, a quiet entrance a peaceful walk up the tree lined path and then the entrance to the villa was unassuming, but once inside and settled it was great, a different feel to other villas , more like a home away from the hustle, if you wanted to be left alone you certainly can, we had three days at villa before wedding and it was just the thing to relax and spend quality time together, and on the wedding day it couldn't have gone smoother, nothing was trouble for the staff, quiet , polite. they had everything organised when they said and it was just what we where after, finishing of with a romantic candle lit dinner for two around the pool of flowers was amazing.
We then had another week there enjoying the villa , shuttle to Sanur and surrounds whenever we wanted it was a bit away from the street of Sanur and restaurants , the large pool and outdoor area was the best spot to relax, the villa was comfortable and clean, it was certainly a delight and sorry to leave, but with fond memories with a beautiful wedding.highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stolly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had great time in Gangsan, good environment, facility, location, food, SPA & also service. just need to be carefor since so many mosquitos. If you had a chance to visit here, you must need to attend the sun rise breakfast. it's amazing ^^

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivylu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#4 of 79 in Sanur
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Samata
The Samata
#5 of 79 in Sanur
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,347 reviews
1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa

Address: Jl. Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia (Formerly The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#1 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#3 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £152 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an idyllic of modern comforts, unparalleled service and warm local village charm. from the moment you arrive, Kayumanis Sanur will serenade some harmony back into your life by offering you the opportunity to experience traditional Balinese life, the lush tropical landscapes, the spaciously comfortable private villa, and the gangsa's renowned ability to service your every need. Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa is another exclusive haven of Kayumanis private villas, who pioneered the concept of exclusive, luxury vacation retreats in Bali and in China; and continues to raise the standard by which others are to follow. Named after the keyed instrument that plays the resonant melodies in a traditional orchestra, Kayumanis Sanur was created with the vision to introduce travellers to a harmonious serenade of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gangsa Hotel Sanur
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing