We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly Relaxing...”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently stayed at The Gangsa and it is probably our favorite resort we have travelled to. The customer service is second to none, and the staff was warm from the moment we arrived at the airport to being dropped off in Ubud for the next leg of our trip. All meals had at the resort were top shelf (Get the ribs!) and the in-house breakfasts were excellent. While it would be nice to be right on the ocean, the shuttle service makes it so easy to enjoy this aspect of Bali as well. Can't recommend The Gangsa enough (especially to families with young children) and when we return to Bali again we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ida bagus s s, Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Reid A

Om Swastyastu.....

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed overall the relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest product and service and the entire staff have shown you their service quality and to receive great comment such as yours is really motivating.

Once again thank you for choosing thegangsa private villa during your recent visit to the village of Sanur, we look forward to serving you again in the nearest future.

Best regards,


IB Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    47
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
205
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We previously stayed in this lovely place in Sep 2012 and wrote a review then.

There is nothing to add to the first review. This place is still divine. No changes to standards of food, accommodation or friendliness/helpfulness of the staff, all just impeccable.

We love The Gangsa and will be back as asap.

Room Tip: This place is so quiet I don't think it afters which villa you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ida bagus s s, Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Gezq


Om Swatyastu...

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your second stay at the gangsa private villa, it's great appreciated and We glad to know that you most enjoyed to stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back home in nearest future.


Best regards,


IB Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From first contact, with staff taking the initiative to call my hotel to arrange the pickup, to the final airport transfer, the service was impeccable. I was looking for a place to completely unwind & found it.
Everything you need is provided, mozzie coils & spray; high tea everyday with a special treats/surprises, such an incredible cook; excellent choice in breakfast which is available at anytime of the day; complimentary mini bar including water topped up each day; tropical fruit basket daily; beautiful flower baskets & orchids; high quality amenities; comfortable seating inside & outside; massive pool towels with a massive pool; incredible gardens with complete privacy; room serviced each time I went out; advice regarding where to eat, shop etc; the staff do not interrupt your stay at all, unless you call them, they leave you in peace, absolute heaven. Pickup was always on time, with a smile greeting by my name. I must say a special thank you to Anom!
The kitchen happily accommodated my vegetarian requests, providing meals that weren’t on the menu, every dish was delicious. Cocktails were so yummy it was difficult to stop drinking them :-) Loved being able to have every meal in my villa, wherever I felt comfortable at that moment.
The spa staff were very professional and I tried several different treatments. Relaxing massage and scrub were my favourites.
I can find no fault, this is the first accommodation I’ve given excellent rating. All I can offer is following feedback: better lighting over mirror in bathroom for applying makeup; more reliable wifi connection.
After booking my last hotel based on rave trip advisor reviews, and finding it a complete disappointment, I must admit I was concerned the reviews for Gangsa may be overrated. Let me assure you they aren’t, this is a piece of heaven on earth, I won't stay anywhere else in Bali again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feelingr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ida bagus s s, Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear feelingr00vy,

Om Swastyastu...

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
My sincerely apologies for some areas, that we need to be improved such as the light at dressing area need more bright and our internet connection. We will take an immediate action to fix it.

we look forward to welcoming you soon

Best Regards,

Ida Bagus Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled to Sanur with no expectation as it is less wel known as compared to all the other more popular towns. We thought we would give Gangsa a go as it has plenty of excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. To our surprise Gangsa is a little gem and a rare find which fulfilled our young family mini break of three days.

The best part of our trip would be the private pool. A decent 8m x 4m pool; big enough for our children to practise swimming techniques and an awesome place to chill.

From the moment we were picked up by Made after confirmation by email from Rika; the service quality was simply faultless. Over the next three days, breakfast and dinner delivered to our villa by the staff of Gong restaurant and hi tea at the restaurant with every meal served with highest standard of care and most importantly a beaming smile.

No request was too hard; Arya sent us off at the airport. He had to double back to drop off keys to the airport. No Problem! Awesome team and hope to see you all soon !

Tama secures the resort and makes everything safe. Well done !

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SiangPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ida bagus s s, Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear SiangPerth,

Om Swastyastu...

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your resent stay at the gangsa private villa. It is truly appreciated and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us,We do hope the village of Sanur will known well after the moment.

we will always strive and improve our service to make the best experience to all our respected guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


IB Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Within a traditional Balinese residential village the peace and tranquility of the Gangsa awaits you. My husband and I let out a collective sigh as we relaxed in the outdoor lounge of our villa following a manic fastboat trip from Lombok and a warm welcome from the Gangsa staff.

Let the Butlers ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable - they provide complimentary drop off and collection from Sanur Beach and Sanur village with a moments notice. They also have a scheduled service to and from Kuta. Try one of their tour packages - we choose the hideaway picnic lunch which was magical, and included a spot of shopping at Ubud market afterward. Even though we had stayed in Ubud for 3 nights earlier in our trip our expert guide made us realize that we had barely scratched the surface.

Let the Butlers know your tastes as they will provide recommendations to help make your stay more memorable. We wanted an inexpensive Italian dinner and the restaurant recommended was spot on. Organizing the table reservation, as well as dropping and collecting us made it a seamless dining experience.

Be sure to have in room dining as the butlers will set your table and explain the dishes to you. While all the food was tasty my favorites were a cured duck salad (shamelessly ordered every day!) and the Balinese tasting platter.

My only regret is that I didn't try out the spa, which was emphasized by the wonderful complimentary welcome foot massage that I had just prior to leaving for the airport.

Bottom line - the Gangsa is an ideal base for those looking for character, tranquility and top notch service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nzdaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ida bagus s s, Manager at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear nzdaydreamer,

Om Swastyastu...

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your resent stay at the gangsa private villa. It is truly appreciated. I am so sorry to know that you miss the spa moment....i hope in the next visit you will able to pamper your self and relax in our spa treatment.

we look forward to welcoming you in the nearest future.


Best regards,


Ida bagus Suamba
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We initially booked at the Gangsa for 3 nights but at the last night they upgraded us to the Jimbaran establishment due to overbooking.

Service is top-notch. Everyone was always so polite and speaks fluent, good English. We have the freedom to have our breakfast or tea wherever and whenever we want. Whatever we want, we just call our bulter and everything is arranged for us. We had them book my husband and I a whitewater rafting trip. It was so pleasant and easy and no nasty surprises at all. We lived like kings and queens throughout our stay in Bali.

The location is not easily accessible or busy which is perfect for people who are looking for some peace and quiet. Security is pretty tight. We don't feel unsafe or uneasy at all. Shuttle service is complimentary to anywhere in Sanur. If you want to go to other areas, the front desk can arrange it for you too. We were sad to leave after 2 nights as we had such a great time here at The Gangsa Private Villa. I definitely want to come back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSeagroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Sanur was the first of 3 stops during our trip to Bali and Gangsa made it our most memorable.

Made picked us up from the airport and gave us a brief introduction to Sanur. First impression of the hotel was that it was tucked away from the main hub which immediately raised concerns as to whether we would be "locked in" at the hotel with difficult access to the centre. We were quickly reassured by Made that there is a free shuttle to and from the centre of Sanur whenever we required and that if we wanted to go further, there would be a small charge. As we arrived relatively late at night and with our 4-year-old fast asleep, check-in was processed smoothly and swiftly. By the time we got to our villa, our requested welcome drinks were waiting for us.

Our villa was simply stunning but it wasn't until the next morning when we could really admire the true beauty of where we would be spending the next 4 days. We were actually upgraded to a 2-bedroom villa which was a pleasant surprise but unfortunately we could not benefit from it as our daughter would not stay in the separate bedroom upstairs by herself.

Prior to our arrival, we had the choice of partaking in various activities (payable) carefully thought out by the hotel. We chose some spa treatments as well a visit to the rice fields.

Frankly, I did not expect the spa to be anything special given the small size of the establishment. I could not be more wrong. From the moment we stepped into the spa area, my daughter and I were treated as royalty and we left feeling relaxed, refreshed and recharged.

Ngurah accompanied us on the visit to the rice fields and filled us in with more information on Bali and its people. The visit was more than just seeing some rice fields, it gave us an insight to a different way of life. Everything was tastefully carried out and we didn't feel like we were dragged around like another bunch of ignorant tourists.

We really could not fault this property, from the divine oatmeal at breakfast to the carefully chosen decor to the discreet, attentive service from each member of staff. We particularly liked the way they referred to us as Bapak and Ibu - Father and Mother.

Gangsa was our little paradise for a couple of days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa

Property: Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Akasa 28, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia (Formerly The Gangsa Private Villa by Kayumanis)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#3 Family Hotel in Sanur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an idyllic of modern comforts, unparalleled service and warm local village charm. from the moment you arrive, Kayumanis Sanur will serenade some harmony back into your life by offering you the opportunity to experience traditional Balinese life, the lush tropical landscapes, the spaciously comfortable private villa, and the gangsa's renowned ability to service your every need. Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa is another exclusive haven of Kayumanis private villas, who pioneered the concept of exclusive, luxury vacation retreats in Bali and in China; and continues to raise the standard by which others are to follow. Named after the keyed instrument that plays the resonant melodies in a traditional orchestra, Kayumanis Sanur was created with the vision to introduce travellers to a harmonious serenade of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gangsa Hotel Sanur
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing