We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here in July for 3 nights. I had read reviews about problems with some front office staff but I didn't experience any of this - all very friendly although my friends were unable to get a phone message through to me despite me advising when I was in the restaurant and when I returned to my room. Room lovely and big with a nice balcony. I had an upstairs room in the front, newer building and was able to leave the doors open all night. A short walk through the resort to the pool area - not many lounges - but the beach right across the footpath from the dining area. Breakfast fantastic - different things each day and everbody so friendly. Many beach chairs and umbrellas to relax on, the sea here lovely and calm and great for swimming. Positioned in the centre of the beach walk with many eating places and shops. Good value. I would definitely be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms allow you to leave doors open or sit on the balcony without other guests walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Wanted a beach front hotel that wouldn't blow the budget and respati proved very suitable. On arrival was offered a room towards the street end but that could have just been in a hotel anywhere with a bit of garden in front. Asked for a room closer to the beach and that made it an enjoyable stay with views over the pool and beach. Dont think I would have been as impressed in a back room even though it meant sacrificing queen bed for singles but only stayed one night so that was OK..
Room was goodo every thing I needed , small table and chairs and couch. Couch was better for dumping parcels than sitting on as it wasnt very comfortable.
Path through hotel led to beach one direction and to the street other way so convenient access to shops, market and restaurants.
Breakfast was buffet with an egg station so provided enough choice.
I really think your room location will make or break the stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Respati is a great choice for an affordable beach front hotel in Sanur. I have stayed in many beach front hotels in Sanur, this one is well worth considering. The hotel is on a long narrow block stretching from the main street of Sanur all the way to the beach path. Reception is basic. Getting a room towards the beach is ideal as it is not as far to walk to the restaurant, pool and ocean. Downstairs rooms are what we prefer rather than negotiating steps. As for the rooms themselves they have to be one of the nicest rooms we have experienced in Bali for the price. The room has a very up to date modern bathroom in our room with bathtub & shower over. There is a good selection of toiletries, including soap, shower gel & toothbrushes, shower caps. There is a wardrobe with an internal light and safe. The room has a small dressing table, chairs, lamp, luggage rack, fridge, mini bar (cheap prices) and a flat screen TV. Lighting in the room is very good compared to what you normally experience in Bali rooms. There is no kettle, tea or coffee however you can request a kettle from housekeeping. I did notice a sofa in some rooms, we did not have this but we did have an extra bed for our child which would have taken the space for a sofa. As for beds the extra bed was a good quality mattress and base. The king size bed although quite firm was comfortable. Linen was of a high quality, some towels are a little worn but all functional. There are two chairs on the small outdoor patio. Drying racks are provided for each room. The pool is reasonable size (no child’s pool), clean and is located just before the restaurant. You can catch a glimpse of the ocean from the pool. There is a small open air area for massages and treatments just off the side of the pool. Prices are more expensive than on the street. The restaurant serves rather tasty food, what we ordered during our week stay was all of a similar quality to most local restaurants, some better. Breakfast is a small buffet. There are a few hot dishes, including bacon, egg station, fresh fruit, juice, toast, croissants, tea & coffee. There is no cereal. The beach front is well set up with plenty of sun loungers and the beach is good for swimming at high tide. There is usually a jetski for hire on the beach. There are pushbikes to rent a couple of minutes walk away. The asking price is 40,000rp per bike for the entire day. Bike riding is a great way to make your way along the beach path. There are numerous local warungs (restaurants) all along the beach path. It is an 8 minute walk to ‘Tootsies’ fixed price shop and approx 15 minute stroll to Hardy’s. Overall the location is very good in Sanur with everything walking & biking distance or a cheap taxi ride away. Numerous restaurants and shops surround the hotel both on the beach and main street.
The price for a child on an extra bed is cheaper at Respati compared to other hotels. Overall Respati as a very good priced beach front hotel with the best rooms I have stayed in for this category of hotel. We had room 109 which was in a good position, it did have a door which could make the room interconnecting.
NOW FOR THE NEGATIVE.
Our bookings for this hotel have been made with Agoda and Wotif. We have NOT had any trouble using either of these agents, we did however have trouble with the reservations manager Oka Rini who after two nights of staying there had the extra mattress removed from our room saying we had only paid for it for two nights not 7. Why would anyone only pay for an extra mattress for part of their stay??? She was rude to the point of harassment each time we went past reception. She either claimed they 'lost' our voucher and even saying once that another girl at reception "made a mistake" and did not have our voucher. She would not however show us the information she had from the booking agent saying it was "confidential". Arguing with paying customers, and implying you are lying is certainly a bad reflection on the hotel. Customer satisfaction is her responsibility and her rudeness and poor attitude reflected badly on the hotel. When she threatened to take the extra bed out IF we did not pay her $20 per night more for it her mood got worse. We paid $10 per night extra for the bed as advertised on the online booking yet here she was saying it was only paid for part of our stay and then demanded another $20 on top of this. She also said we would need to pay extra for our child's breakfast which was free if the child was on existing bed according to the web site. Given we had paid for the bed & breakfast and supplied our child's food for breakfast due to major food allergies we were certainly within our rights to refuse any more payments. Once again she threatened to remove the already made up bed. We told her we would not purchase any more food or drinks IF she continued to harass us and remove the extra bed. We returned in the afternoon and found she had the bed removed. She could not wait to meet us at reception with a big smile on her face telling us what she had done. The hotel missed out on a large sum of money from us and neighbouring restaurants all benefited due to Oka Rini's poor unprofessional behaviour telling us we had to sort our her problem. Bad luck for Respati, you missed out on millions of rupiah from us in your restaurant and spa.

Room Tip: book via Agoda or Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Don't let the reception fools you. Respati's reception area is small, and the lady in the frontdesk was not as friendly as in other hotel. I was surprised when seeing the entire hotel area and my room, it was over my expectation. The building and garden are well maintained. Room was ok too. Swimming pool small but sufficient. The beach in the back of this hotel was great for sunbathing or just relaxing. Breakfast was standard.
Area of improvement: please renew the shower, it was rusty, the small shower didn't work. Other than that, hot water work perfectly.
I will definitely chose Respati again next time if I had holiday in Sanur!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoisKwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Respati is in a great location - right on the beach and when first built would have been lovely. It has lovely gardens and some of the original ie tiling, pathways, garden features are very ornate but just left to accumulate dirt and mould. I really felt like getting out the Karcher high pressure cleaner and hosing it all down. We had a seaview room and that was nice and spacious with a comfortable bed but the restaurant impedes the view of the sea. The bathroom as mentioned by other reviewers really lets it down. It needs a good scrub from top to bottom and could certainly be modernized. The exhaust fan is a nightmare. the location of the room meant that we got a decent Wifi reception as it was near the restaurant. The linens were clean but badly stained. Most of the staff were lovely but a few of the men were quite surly. I would love to see new management with an eye for detail take the place over and bring it up to its potential.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmhjrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have to agree with the two other reviews before mine. Hotel is nice, staff lovely, rooms are very clean. We up graded to a Deluxe ocean view room and was very happy, room was big, bed was
great BUT bathroom very poor. needs a huge up grade in the bathroom. step into bath to use shower and shower keeps pointing into shower curtain, wouldn't stay in one place, but the bathroom was clean.
Found that the toilets at the pool need to be made bigger and need to be kept clean always which didn't happen, you felt sick when you had to use them.
The breakfast was really nice.
Clean towels and sheets every day
Beach in front of hotel could be cleaned by hotel to make it more inviting.
Over all i would stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: room closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kojonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had 5 nights at the Respati in May 2013, in a Sea View Delux room. The room was very spacious. We got a discounted price via a booking site, and were happy with the room for what we paid. I do not feel that the room is worth the hotel advertised price due to its age as it certainly needs some upgrading. However, the room was very quiet, even though it was next to the pool.

The pluses for this hotel: the location is perfect, right on the beach and close to some nice restaurants. Most of the staff were more than pleasant, although the reception staff were not very welcoming on arrival or departure. The grounds are very pretty and well tended. Breakfast was good, with a buffet of six hot dishes & eggs to order, plus juices, salads etc.

The minuses: our ground floor room only had a pair of sliding doors on to a tiny balcony, so we couldn't leave the doors open as the path through the hotel was barely 6 feet from our bed, the window would not open and the room was quite musty smelling. The bathroom was old with a shower over bath and the bath was a bit slippery. Only a bath mat and shower towels were provided, no face washers or hand towels. Lighting in the bathroom was very poor. Wifi is only available in the restaurant, although we did often get a slow connection in the room, as it was the closest to the restaurant. There was a lounge in our room, however, it was so old that when I sat on it, it sagged almost to the floor.

Overall, we did enjoy our time at the Respati and are planning on staying there again later in the year, however, we would not pay the higher room rate for the sea view delux room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#33 of 79 in Sanur
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#30 of 79 in Sanur
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laghawa Beach Inn
Laghawa Beach Inn
#71 of 79 in Sanur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Besakih Beach Hotel
Besakih Beach Hotel
#43 of 79 in Sanur
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gazebo Beach Hotel
Gazebo Beach Hotel
#61 of 79 in Sanur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan No.33, Sanur, Denpasar 800228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing