We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Villa within easy reach of everything”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sanur, Denpasar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
999Mr_S
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa within easy reach of everything”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booking the villa was easy with good communication from David.
Our flight was delayed but we were met at the airport by a very nice driver sent from the villa - he subsequently became our driver of choice for all our excursions. Kadek, the housekeeper, was there to meet us when we arrived.
First impressions of Kadek and Villa Serena could not have been better. The photographs do not do it justice.
Plenty of room for the five of us and very comfortable beds.
Kadek was absolutely brilliant - a wealth of knowledge when required but it never felt like she was in the way. She did everything including making breakfast, doing laundry and cleaning very efficiently. The garden and pool were kept immaculate by the daily visits from the gardener and pool man - the kids loved the pool and the garden was a real sun trap.
Being situated down a private drive with gates and 24 hour security meant we felt completely safe and were not disturbed by noise from the bars and restaurants. Sanur has so many bars and restaurants offering all kinds of cuisine but the best meal we had was from a small cafe called the Porch and was less than £30 for a 3 course meal for 5 with drinks.
We stayed for 10 days, would thoroughly recommend Villa Serena and would love to visit again.
Thanks David and Kadek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is all that it is advertised as and more.

This is the 4th time we have stayed at this villa - the 11th time to Bali. We will never stay anywhere else after staying here. You just can't compare the space; bedrooms; privacy and service to any of the other 5 star hotels throughout Bali and at a price that is often cheaper.

From the time we arrived in Bali there was Kadek - the maid; waiting for us with a beautiful bunch of flowers and a private airconditioned car for our transport to the villa. On arrival at the villa there was even more flowers and a welcome basket of fruit and drinks in the fridge as well as cool facewashers for us to refresh ourselves with.

During our time at the villa Kadek made us breakfast each day - you only have to pay the cost of the food -receipts provided. Kadek also kept the place spotless; did all our laundry and helped us with bookings for day trips /over to Lembongan Island for a few days and to find a new villa for our last few days as we were delayed due to Volcanic Ash. We could not ask for anyone to do anymore than Kadek did for us. Kadek is indeed a great employee for the owner and her English is excellent - this is one thing we had taken for granted as at the second villa owned by the same complex the maid could not speak English except for hello/goodbye - made it very stressful for us as we were trying to get airflights back and this maid could not help at all. In fact Kadek came in her own time and helped us which we are eternally grateful to her for.

The owner of this villa - Dave is excellent. He was able to help us with accommodation at both the beginning and end of our trip as we got caught up both ends with the Volcanic Ash and hence cancelled planes. We were lucky enough to be able to swap our first week for a further week and a half until his new guests arrived. He did not rip us off like other places were doing - increasing their rates by triple or even more.

We will always stay at this villa when we go to Bali. It is clean and very spacious. The maid/ gardener/pool attendant attend every day. There is 24 hour security at the front gate - not that we have every needed to call on the security but it is reassuring that there is someone there if need be.

Wifi and the equivalent of Indonesian Foxtel is also convenient when you just want to relax after a days outing and to keep in contact with family.

We will definitely be back to Villa Serena for future holidays and cannot recommend this place enough. No more hotel rooms for us!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gypsyroo
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven away from ho e”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed at a few villas over the years in Sanur. This one was by far the best. It has all the modern consciences you get back home.
On our first morning we had breakfast cooked for us. A lovely start to our week.
We spent a majority of our time at the villa it was just divine. Pool was really nice. Found in other villas the pool too co,d. But we were able to spend time in this one.
Shops and restaurants right out the front gate which had a security guard 24hrs a day. Beach and beach restaurants a very short walk away.
Kadek the housekeeper went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly067
Hamilton New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss - perfect holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We returned to Villa Serena this June for the third time. What a joy it was to have the Housekeeper Kadek meet us at the airport with a lovely bunch of flowers !The villa offers such perfect setting for a wonderful Bali holiday. Close to the beach, shops and restaurants yet it is totally private and secure. Why anyone would choose to stay in a large impersonal hotel and fight for chairs around a crowded pool, is beyond us. We are already looking forward to returning to Villa Serena next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the pampering by Kadek !
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassandra...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in Villa Serena with friends in April, the third time that we have rented a villa in Bali. This was by far the best, both in terms of quality, service and value for money. The location of the villa is excellent, close to the beach, restaurants and shops, which we noticed have increased substatially in number in the past two years.
The housekeeper Kadek was a real star. We took to her from the moment she met us at the airport, and we had the feeling that we would be looked after. We had been worried whether we would feel comfortable having a stranger with us in the villa, but, on the contrary she was a pleasure to have around, and yet also managed to stay quite unobtrusive.
For the first time in a rental in Bali we enjoyed the luxury of having our breakfast prepared for us; after a set breakfast on the first morning we specified what we would like for the rest of our stay, then Kadek did the shopping and prepared the meals, and all we paid was the cost of the ingredients. It was a joy, too, to have all our washing and ironing done for us - even ironed our underwear! Apart from the routine tasks Kadek was a great source of advice on where to visit, and keeps a folder of menus from restaurants which have been recommended by guests.
The villa was immaculate, beautifully furnished and very well equipped and with comfortable beds. The sparkling pool was surrounded by a delightful garden, and by chance we were there just as the bananas ripened, so that was a real bonus. After a few days we only went out in the evenings, as we were content to lounge around the pool, enjoying being served with drinks by Kadek.
We were very sorry when it was time to leave, and gosh, how we would have liked to take Kadek home with us! We are already planning our return visit for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kavacomb
Woombye, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has the WOW factor! Highly recommend”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Villa Serena for 5 nights with 3 girlfriends, celebrating a 50th birthday. From the moment we stepped through the gates of the villa we were in Heaven! The photos on here don't do it justice, as we all felt a real sense of peace and contentment as soon as we arrived, and you can't capture that in pictures. Michael (Made), our driver to and from the Villa (organised through Dave, the owner) was a really fun guy and made us laugh a lot. Kadek, the house keeper, is absolutely gorgeous and was so helpful, shopping and exchanging money for us, washing and ironing and cooking our breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for Kadek, and we actually had trouble trying to stop her from doing things for us! When I arrived I mentioned my friend's birthday and Kadek turned up the next morning with a bunch of flowers, without being asked, and wouldn't accept payment for them. She organised a cake for me, and was great to talk to, but also very unobtrusive. Kadek also cooked us a yummy Nasi Goreng for breakfast..very delicious! The Villa has absolutely everything you could possibly need, and if it doesn't have it, Kadek will get it for you. The location was fantastic, being close to the beach, and there are lots of fantastic restaurants and spas within walking distance. Being of a slightly more "mature" age, Sanur suited us perfectly for a relaxing holiday location. If anything, the Villa made us relax too much, as we never wanted to leave, and we spent hours around the pool instead of sight seeing, but hey, isn't that what holidays are for? I hope to go back to Bali one day, and I would definitely want to stay at Villa Serena again. Dave was extremely helpful and fast in responding to emails, and Kadek is an angel. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kadek
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michie011
Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heaven In Sanur”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay at Villa Serena, it was everything that it was advertised to be. We were met at the airport by the beautiful smiling face of Kadek, and driven to the villa. From the moment we set foot in the villa it felt like heaven! Located down a gated driveway, it is just a 30 second walk back to the road, yet once you enter the villa gate it is quiet and tranquil.
The villa itself was spotless, the beds were comfortable, the air con in the bedrooms was great, and the water pressure in the showers was fantastic! We loved the pool. It got enough sun during the day to stay warm enough for an evening swim, but there was also plenty of shade available in the garden as well.
There were numerous shops and restaurants on the street outside the villa......so many choices, and the beach was a short walk away.
By far the best part of our stay was the wonderful Kadek. She is an absolute treasure, and goes about her daily tasks with a smile on her face. Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious! She shopped for us, changed money, organised a beautiful cake for my sons birthday, and answered my millions of questions about Bali!!! She even tracked down a mortar and pestle for me, and made sure it was wrapped securely to take home.
The owner, Dave, was friendly and very easy to deal with, answered emails asap, and sent information about the villa prior to our stay.
We cannot wait to return, and I cannot imagine even considering staying anywhere else!
I actually was hesitant to write this review......only because I don't want it getting so popular that we can't book in!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Without a doubt, Kadek, and the location.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing