We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE TO CHILL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Segara Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Segara Village Hotel
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO CHILL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Only stayed 2 nights but wished it was more. Our accommodation was a 1st floor very well appointed room and bathroom. The grounds are very nice and kept in good condition. It has 2 very good swimming pools and some really great seats and loungers to relax in. It is also on the beach and the sea is quite shallow so very pleasant when the tide is in. The hotel is in quite a touristy commercial area so you can easily walk out to other shops and bars but just as easily stay in the complex. Beach restaurant and breakfast were both quite good as well. Of course the Balinese staff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    380
    120
    47
    31
See reviews for
273
590
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were lucky to stay at Segara again this year with my twin teenager boys and 70+ year old parents. As last year the hotel was the perfect venue for us all-plenty for the teenage boys to do (tennis, table tennis, the pool etc); for my parents (good selection of restaurants both on site and within a stone’s throw from the hotel); and from my point of view still an extremely well run hotel. A few bits of advice/pointers
• If you want laundry done-there is a very cheap laundry service just around the corner from the hotel. Costs pretty well nothing and laundry gets returned ironed and packaged up in plastic. This had to be the highlight of my holiday-no washing and perfectly ironed clothes! To get to it-go up the road by the side of Luhtu’s-JL Pante Sindu and about 50m up the road you will see a blue laundry sign-this is it. Take your clothes in first thing and they will be back at the end of the day
• For massages near the hotel or beauty treatments go to the spa/salon next to Luhtu’s unless you want a massage on the beach
• Best food at the restaurants on the beach by far in our opinion is at Luhtu’s. Their coffee and cakes are unrivalled
• Don’t go to Massimos-an Italian restaurant in town-see my separate Trip Adviser review-terrible place!
• We combo-ed up our stay with a 3 night stay in Ubud which provided a perfect contrast. Can highly recommend the hotel Alam Jiwa there and the restaurant Arancia Dolce
• If you like an alcoholic beverage or two and are not into beer-stock up on a bottle of gin at duty free. Wine is astronomically priced in Bali and is revolting!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieatLigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

A Four Star Resort with Five Star Service.
Our Family of Five just spent the past 7 nights at this resort and would definitely stay here again. The tropical grounds were spectacular, beautifully maintained and manicured with balinese sculptures and fountains scattered throughout. When lit up at night the resort looked even more magical. Also scattered about the grounds were balinese style "huts" with sumptuous seats and chairs to laze around and sleep in the shade.The resort spread out onto the beach area where the birdcage bar served delicious cocktails and freshly blended fruit smoothies and juices on demand. The bar area and restaurants were great. Excellent daily buffet breakfasts included in the room rate, along with a complimentary high tea each afternoon, what more could you ask for?
By the time our family left the resort most of the staff (mainly the bar staff) knew us by first name.
What was also nice were the little extras such as fresh towels being delivered to our room twice a day without being requested and someone turning down the bedding and delivering chocolates to our room every night before bed. The pools were great. The resort was in a quiet part of Bali away from the chaos of Kuta. There were plenty of other restaurants within a short walking distance of the resort, along with some market style shops and other tourist type attractions such as jet skiing, fishing boat trips etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra price for a better quality room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScottsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. We had a cottage room first and this time a bungalow. Customer service is great and staff always willing to help. We had the romantic dinner for two which was excellent. Cocktail night on Friday, afternoon tea at 3 every day. We will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefreeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nice arrival with friendly staff and welcome drink. Hotel is pretty centrally located, very nice garden with traditional sculptures and beautiful plants. Also the pool is great and the beach is beautiful. The tides are quite strong so the beach looks very different in the morning than it does in the evening. Swimming and sports activities like jet ski only worked until around noon. Also there is loud music on the beach and it was rather crowded.
Spa treatment they offered was outstanding! Room was large and had a balcony with a nice view. Unfortunately the balcony doors cannot be closed entirely. I tried to plug the holes with towels to avoid insects coming in, which worked fine until housekeeping removed my careful construction. I'm sure they meant well, but I wasn't very thrilled when we found our room full of geckos, insects and - worst of all - small spiders. Moreover the drain in the bath tub was blocked so we had to call maintenance to fix it.
Breakfast assortment was good, food quality was ok, breakfast location was nice.
One evening they had a BBQ at the beach. Food was good but service was a disaster, they forgot to serve half of the dishes or brought them overly late and had big trouble with the orders and their payment.
Summing up, we had a nice stay but wouldn't stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_MK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night in October. We arrived late after a seafood dinner on the beach at Kuta and were shown to our room. It was comfortable enough although the design of the bathroom left a bit to be desired as if you walked into it during the night you were likely to walk into the corner of the glass shower cubicle.

When we awoke in the morning we thought the grounds were lovely but it was difficult to find where we should go for breakfast - it would be useful to have a map of the resort in the room - I got one from reception later.

There were two pools. One, which I think is classed as the main pool, only had about 10 or 12 sun loungers around it, all occupied or reserved. The beachside pool is next to the restaurant and there were a couple of sun loungers available but in full sun with no umbrellas. There were no sun loungers available on the beach.

We were not moving on until after lunch (and after checkout time) so we eventually found a couple of comfortable seats next to the Jacuzzi bar and sat there until time to go.

All of this probably sounds a bit petty and I'm sure that if we had been staying longer we would have settled down but the place was just not our style and we are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've not long returned from a month in Bali where we spent 10 days of our stay at Segara as we usually do each year. I'm pleased to say Seagara is still as wonderful as ever, actually it just seems to get better even when you didn't think that was possible. The grounds have an aura of tranquillity that put you into relax mode as soon as you step inside. We stayed at Segara Village 2 and just love the added benefits, especially the free cocktails and canapés from 5-7pm each day. The rooms are also lovely, clean and plenty of room for an extra bed for the children. 2 families who had never been to Bali came with us this year and they both said it was the best introduction to Bali they could have been given!! One of Segara's biggest assets is the beautiful staff, they really spoil you and go the extra yards to make you feel at home!! The children loved it and there is plenty to do. As a family we thoroughly recommend Segara Village and we can't wait to get back there next year!! Thanks so much Segara!!

I've just read another post from a traveller claiming boom boom noise from the bar starting prior to 11am, that certainly was not the case when we were there however the Sanur Fesitval was on for approx. 4 days which started around 24 September.. that did create a little more noise then usual but I don't see how you can blame a hotel for a community having a festival. It didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: Segara Village 2 is well worth paying a little extra with the added benefits you receive, we LOVED i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.7 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Property: Segara Village Hotel
Address: Jl. Segara Ayu, Sanur, Denpasar 80030 , Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TravelUp and Holiday Gems so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing