We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Segara 2 is not worth the extra money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Segara Village Hotel
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Segara 2 is not worth the extra money”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently spent 10 nights in the Segara 2 village, we were led to believe it was more exclusive, this was not the case. Anyone could use the pool, everyone has afternoon tea, breakfast in the 'club' was used by everyone when rain interrupted the beach breakfast. We did get 2 hrs cocktails a day and canapés but these were mainly leftovers from breakfast. To top it all there was a huge Australian family staying in Segara 2 and they seemed to coincide with our breakfast, supplies soon diminished and they just took 'over'. On a positive the staff were great and the gardens beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    408
    132
    50
    32
See reviews for
305
641
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A return visit after 12+ years to what we remembered as a 'paradise island' The popularity of Bali with far too many tourists (ourselves included) than the infrastructure can support has spoilt this once tropical haven. Our room was not available and we were upgraded to a bungalow room. This was said to be 2 upgrades from our chosen room. It was ok, but basic. Hate to think what a standard room would be like. However, it was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff.
The breakfast was included but hygiene from staff and guests was poor. Tongs to handle fruit were left with handles touching the fruit, cloth to handle bread was ignored, eggs were always served with runny uncooked whites (this in a country renowned for Bali Belly)
The garden areas are beautiful and very well looked after. The pool by the beach is very popular, especially by children. The garden pool is much smaller with only a few sunbeds, however these are reserved early each morning, despite signs asking guests not to do so. Don't take heed of the signs indicating water quality, the readings stayed the same for the duration of our stay.
From reading the reviews on TA from other guests, some obviously like Segara Village. This is just our option based upon our observations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our son decided to get married in Bali and when we first looked into it all seemed so difficult, that was until we discussed the matter with Yani at Segara Village Hotel.
She email all forms which we completed and sent back and they took care of everything from there.
they then arranged a car and took the couple to Denpasar to the Australian Consulate and had everything finalised it was that easy!!!
Then they chose the Ultimate Package which was fantastic and had many inclusions set up, flowers, 1 hour massage, champagne, Solo Violinist and much more.
Then for the set up on the beach was just amazing and far exceeded our expectations.
After the ceremony they did private photos with the bride and Groom while we enjoyed canapés and pre dinner drinks on the beach. Followed by family photos then dinner.
We selected 2 x Suckling Pigs along with some pre-selected meals to suit the Australian appetites like grilled chicken breast and eye fillet steaks
The food was great and service throughout the night even better and just cant be faulted at Segara Village Hotel.
We were given the entire beach area for the entire evening and all guest were notified to advise that the beach restaurant would be closed due to private function and other arrangements were made for hotel guests.
The photographer which was also arranged by Yani was just amazing and stayed to ensure all speeches, cutting of the cake and first dance were captured. We received over 3000 photos on disc and a beautiful album with all photos.
all staff at Segara we on hand during the ceremony and dinner to ensure we were happy and as I said the whole wedding exceeded or expectations to the stage that our final son will marry at Segara Village Hotel next year on the 4th July 2015
If you are considering a wedding in Bali don't waste your time surfing the net as it will just make things more stressful just contact Yani and the team at Segara Village Hotel

Room Tip: all room are great but we always stay in Segar Club as the additional benefits are fantastic especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic and that's why we keep coming back
Great gardens, pools and right on the beach
They have a great restaurant right on the beach and offer a beautiful romantic dinner for 2 set up fantastic right on the sand and all beautiful decorated and the food was amazing.
My wife and I had it 1 night and my daughter was so impressed her and her husband had it another evening a very special dinner that we will always remember
Close to all restaurant's, market shopping, Laundry and money changers
The staff are FANTASTIC and very consistent
They will do all they can to please and make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one.
Come a stay a few days and I will guarantee you WILL COME BACK.
We just LOVE IT!!!!!

Room Tip: All room s are great and some recently renovated and some under renovation but we always stay in Seg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First time visitor to this stunning resort, it is large however the effort that has gone into creating a magnificent overall experience was unbelievable. The staff are not only the consummate professionals, they display that marvellous Bali smile what ever the task, my husband and I have been to Bali many times and in recent years have been very loyal to a property in Seminyak however just one holiday at Segara village has changed all that, we found the usual cheap shopping very close, heaps of off site restaurants for a bit of a change but mainly the experience from breakfast to happy hour each afternoon and to the wonderful evening events inside the Segara resort was very special. We highly recommend you give it a try, we are not youngsters so having a very long beach walkway was a real add on for our daily walks

Room Tip: We chose Segare village 2. A little more expensive but quiet for those sleepy afternoons with a semi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful traditional Balinese resort located right on the beach at the Northern end of Sanur. Set in beautiful gardens with several pools and a great restaurant and bar. As good as the location is (on the beach and walk to restaurants and shops) it is the staff that really make this a great resort. We dont usually eat at restaurants within the resorts but the food here was excellent. We loved to sit on the lounges at night on the board walk at the front of the bar with a botle of wine and watch the world go by. I highly recommend this resort and would definately return without hesitation. Too many postives to include here, just book a stay and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here after 7 nights at Jimbaran Bay. The resort itself is in an ideal location, close to all the restaurants and markets/shops. The grounds of the resort are immaculately kept, the rooms are basic we had four people in one room, so not alot of space. The rooms are in need of an upgrade, next time I would pay the extra money and stay in the Segara 2 Village. They are in the process of rebuilding some of the units, so a refurb might not be far away.

The pools/bars/restaurants were very nice and the food was good. There was entertainment happening every night which was really good, so there was no need to leave the resort. It is was the only hotel in the strip along the beach that seemed to have any entertainment in the evenings.

Overall, a great location and beautiful surrounds and great the for the family - I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Look at paying the extra and stay in the Segara 2 Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.8 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.8 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Village Hotel

Property: Segara Village Hotel
Address: Jl. Segara Ayu, Sanur, Denpasar 80030, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#11 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Segara Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established beachfront resort in northern Sanur will shortly complete a major renovation to re-position to four star plus rating. Five distinct village room areas, each with its own layout and character are set amidst 6 hectares of lush tropical gardens. Two swimming pools and an array of recreational activities provide ample opportunity for pure relaxation or an activity - oriented holiday for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Segara Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Village Resort
Segara Village Sanur
Segara Village Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing