We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We will be back”
Welcome to Kayu Mimpi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Kayu Mimpi
Open plan Tropical living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Welcome to Kayu Mimpi
Open plan
Tropical living
Open
Bedroom 1
Garden view
Big beds with lovely views
Bathroom 1
Huge bathrooms
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 3
Gorgeous finishing touches
Welcome
Wow
Modern Kitchen
Dning
Peace
Peace
Entrance
Wow
Magic at Night
Peace
Private Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sanur, Denpasar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
BrylieJ
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I won't lie that I was nervous as we drove down the very thin road to our villa in a part of Sanur we had never stayed before...however my fears were soon squashed!
Such a stunning property. The beds were so comfortable and the 'outdoor' bathrooms were beautiful...the whole place has such a relaxed atmosphere.
In a great location, walking distance to everything you need. The pool was lovely....maybe not quite big enough to keep little kids entertained for long but they still loved jumping in and out throughout the day. As did the adults!
The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and so special. Do yourself a favour and get Arie to cook for you! The best food we have ever had in Bali!
Vanessa went out of her way to come and see us and make sure we were happy.
It's the little things that stay with you and we will be back to Kayu Mimpi for sure. Thank you again for such a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you so much Brylie.
You have certainly summed up my some of my thoughts when I first saw some of the Villas in Bali. Crazy little streets, houses with high walls but once you open those front doors you find these amazing Villas!
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family.
I hope that you join us again one day soon,
all the best
Vanessa, Wi ,Arie, Kadek and Dewi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius S
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Gorgeous...”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

REVIEW VILLA PALM GARDEN & VILLA KAYU MIMPI

After staying in Bali for a whole month and having booked these wonderful villas we can now say that we have experienced the full indonesian hospitality. The Kayu Mimpi Villa was a lovely stay for the few days we had to enjoy it. The villa is stunning, beautifully decorated combining the old style of the island with the modern necessities of the 21st century traveler. The bedrooms are spacious and inviting, with a lovely view of the pool area, the bathroom have a open concept and it gives you a relaxed feeling when you can hear all of the wildlife in the area when you are taking a shower under the light of the stars. The dining/kitchen area had all the things you need to cook a good breakfast or to enjoy some rest and relaxation while you watch TV or read a book. The swimming-pool was nice, with a good amount of space to lazily float in the water or to get a good cardio workout, if the sun got too hot for sunbathing you could get some refugee from the 2 huge daybeds under the covered wooden verandah.
The majority of our vacation was spent in Palm Garden Villa, and boy oh boy was it a nice stay. The location of the villa is great, it’s a short 2-3 minute walk to the Sanur shop and dinning part of the island were you can find the best Balinese or other different asian cuisine, but you will not hear the hustle and bustle of the center from the villa so you will have a relaxing stay. The minimalistic design of the bedroom combined with the opened bathrooms, the large living area and the fact that you are surrounded by so much greenery makes you feel welcomed and in the middle of mother nature, every room is spacious and the AC units work wonderfully. The staff is very responsive and prompt, willing to make your stay the best it could be, any problem you have they will fix it with a smile. We cannot recommend this villa enough if you want to forget all your problems and be stress-free VILLA PALM GARDEN is the best option you have.
All in all Palm Garden offered the best stay we had so far in the wonderful island of Bali, everything just gels together so perfectly to creat a relaxing and inviting atmosphere that we sure will not forget any time soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback or your stay at Kayu Mimpi and Palm Garden.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the design of the villas and the service of our staff.
It was lovely to meet you all and learn about your amazing cakes, or rather works of art.
See you again soon
Vanessa and the Cool Bali Villas team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bfinedine...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a luxurious, clean, spacious and beautifully maintained holiday villa! Pair that with wonderful staff (Mr Wee, Aunty Uni and Aunty Kedek) and all the amenities you could ask for, and you're in for a great holiday experience. We were two families with two boys each, ranging from 1-8years old. We requested for a pool fence to be erected and this was done to a great standard. The rooms were larger than I had expected, and the bathrooms are quite grand. There is plenty of space for your suitcases and hanging room and shelves in the bathrooms, therefore not having to clutter your room with your luggage. Being able to shower under the stars is a liberating experience; and no, mosquitos weren't an issue with the open bathrooms (this was a concern of mine). Lovely pool was big enough for us all and well maintained. Having many areas to sit and relax was great, and perfect for the kids too. Breakfast was great and the ladies were always happy to help with any requests. We were lucky enough to stay in for a few nights and enjoy the delicious spread of local cuisines cooked by Aunty Ari. Great, fresh food for an equally great value. We met with the owners Vanessa and Mal for a drink at the villa and told them how happy we were. This villa is perfectly located away from main traffic, close to many restaurants, massage places and the beach. It is perfect for families. We'd return without hesitation. Thank you Vanessa and Mal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your excellent feedback, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Kayu Mimpi.
It was great to meet you all and hope that it won't be too long until we meet again,
All the best
Vanessa, Mal, Wi, Arie & Kadek
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcollyer
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fabulous villa, awesome staff - a 10 out of 10 luxury holiday experience. Great location walking distance to beach, restaurants and bars, but still very private and quiet.
We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return.
Owners Vanessa and Malcolm very friendly and extremely helpful. Terima Kasih!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Terima Kasih Banyak to you for your great review. Our staff will be really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your 10 out of 10.
Best wishes
Vanessa, Mal, Arie, Kadek & Wi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bell3000
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deserves more than 5 stars!”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Outstanding. An eighty year old Javanese villa reconstructed in Sanur. Three large bedrooms, ensuites, walk in wardrobes, outside showers, marble floors from North Africa, and Ari, who cooked us an endless supply of corn fritters, a local staple, and authentic Balinese dishes on request. Lunch by the pool? A driver who collected us from the airport, and took us to various bars and restaurants around the island during our stay. Nothing was any trouble. "Hi Vanessa, The lights aren't working over the wardrobe in our bedroom". Thirty minutes later the maintenance man arrives and replaces the bulbs. Trips to Ubud to the markets to learn about local produce, and then a cooking class, a real Balinese experience. Two hour massages by the beach, a French Bakery, authentic Balinese food, bars and beach all within a few minutes' walk.
We were treated like rock stars from start to finish, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Wow, that is just fantastic!! We are delighted to receive your glowing review.
I hope you get to come back again soon, at the very least for Arie's corn fritters
Best wishes from us all
Vanessa & the Cool Bali team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie m
Adelaide SA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Villa Kayu Mimpi for 5 nights in July 2016. On our arrival at Gang 1 Jalan Sudemala we were confronted with the inability of our vehicle to get up the gangway. Not a big deal, we just walked our suitcases down the lane. Arriving at the front entrance we were immediately happy. What a stunning villa. The large open living are with the stunning javanese timber was awesome. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. I was forced to have my first outdoor shower experience this trip but was fine. The bathrooms were stunning. The pool was not huge but certainly large enough for the 5 of us. Wi the house Managers was helpful and friendly. He didn't visit each day but called to be sure all was ok. House staff were present but in the background which did not disturb us at all. Cleaning and beds were made daily. Breakfast provisions were left for day one which was lovely. Quite a few motorbikes up and down the gangway during the day but not enough to disturb. The smaller Suzuki vans fit down the gangway if you want a car all the way to the door. So do the green bemos. Would happily return on our next trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Jackie for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first outdoor shower in Bali. Wi, Arie and Kadek will be happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to meet you next time,
best wishes
Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa, superb service and excellent location”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here June 2016. We had been looking at Villas for weeks, after several friendly emails with the owner, Vanessa , opted for this one, so,glad we did.

There were not enough sun beds for all of us and so she arranged for more. We were picked up,from the airport by a friendly member of her team. The Villa is down a narrow alley close to places to eat and the beach. It was a quiet place to relax.

The three bedrooms are superbly appointed, beautifully decorated and with air conditioning, it was the first time in our travels we have found a remote control,that worked. It was great to have a shower outside. We had no mosquito bites whilst there, just to be sure we purchased some mosquito coils and sprayed the rooms at night, the beds do not have nets.

Why were introduced to Wi the villa manager and he had great English and was able to advise on places to visit and sort a reliable, safe and affable driver, Kadek. We had a hole day with Kadek who designed a route to incorporate the sights we wanted to see and felt safe with his driving.

We were also able to have a couple of ladies who had the loveliest smiles and cooked Dinner for us at very reasonable cost. We had planned to,eat out every night but once we had tasted the food prepared by Arie And Kade we ate in almost every evening. Breakfast was also prepared at a time to,suit us and tailored to what we preferred. We had rides on elephants and frolicked up under a waterfall as wells as visited rice fields and coffee plantation.

There were thoughtful touches all,around, from Safes in the rooms, torches to navigate the 50 yards or so to the end of the alley and some coffee table books on history and places to see in Bali. The Wi Fi was reliable and fast. There is a landline I the Villa and a phone which proved handy later.

It was our Wedding Anniversary whilst we were there and they organised a beautifiul personalised cake which was much appreciated and did not last long! Arie also gave us a hand written card, another lovely touch.

We had stayed in Seminyak in 2015 and felt quite threatened when crossing the road but no concerns in Sanur, be aware pavements in both locations can be very uneven, we took the torch in the evening to help. We felt Sanur was a far friendlier place for all, if you wanted to do some designer shopping it was only a short taxi ride to Seminyak.

We took,some USD to,pay for the elephant trip and this worked out well, as we arrived the day after the Brexit vote and plummeting pound. There is a large supermArket called Hardys within walking distance and we withdrew cash from ATM, our first direct cards worked, beware there may be charges by your bank.

One evening we used their driver to take us to Potato Head club, unfortunately even though we arrived at 17.30 we needed a reservation. The driver quickly recommended and took us to the club W almost next door, and indeed it turned out a far better place compared to our last visit to PH.

Towards the end of the Holiday a couple of up us, despite not drinking the tap,water and being careful got what locals call 'Bali Belly' Fortunatley beside the telephone was a list of useful,numbers and we arranged for Dr Ari to,call at the Villa, he came within the hour, spoke great English and gave us medication on the spot which helped. The cost was also reasonable.

The holiday seemed to zoom by and we felt very sad and said tearful farewells to the new friends we had made and vowed to,return soon.

My family enjoyed all aspects of our stay and would wholeheartedly recommend This property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and superb condition of the Villa
Liked least: Pool a little small but would be fine for small children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Wow Graham, than you so very much for your review. It is brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Arie, Kadek and Wi will be delighted to know that they are doing a good job.
I am sorry we didn't get to meet, I hope that you will be able to come back again one day,
Best wishes to you and your family
Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing