We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Massage experience at the Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Massage experience at the Spa”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went there for a massage based on reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Excellent Lumi Lumi massage at Kamuela Spa, very calming and relaxing atmosphere. Focussed on the job and not wasting time with chit-chat. Great value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Kamandalan,

Thank you for your review regarding AUM spa and glad to know you enjoyed our Lomi Lomi spa package, next holiday to Bali you may try stay with us and can choose between Private pool villa or private JAcuzzi Suite, will be glad to welcoming you in future time.

Cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    208
    33
    13
    13
See reviews for
134
433
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first time staying in Sanur and so I was quiet lost with where to stay. I stumbled across the Kamuela online and what a find it was... from the moment we arrived we knew we had found the perfect place for us.

The suite rooms are huge and very modern. Easily the biggest hotel room I have every stayed in. We didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi on the balcony, perhaps next time. Oh and the peppermint shower gel is divine!

What makes this place so great are the staff, everyone has a smile, says hello and is just incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank-you to Ayu and her team for making our stay so peaceful and relaxing.

The location is in south Sanur, it's quieter than the area around Hardy's, but still so easy to walk/taxi up to the north area. Breakfast is included in the price and it is delicious! Possibly the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. Not a buffet in sight - it's all order off the menu.

The spa within the grounds is amazing! We took advantage of the complimentary foot massage and it was so good that we booked in additional massages straight away. Slightly more expensive than what you would pay on the street, but soooo worth it!.

We found Sanur in general to be more affordable than other areas of Bali (Seminyak/Legian). We would be hard pressed to find a place like the Kamuela in Seminyak for the same price.

We only stayed for 3 days and I felt this didn't give us enough time to really explore the area. We will definitely stay longer next time and the Kamuela will be the place for us again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneylogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Courtney,

Thank you very much for this fantastic review, this will be help other guest describe how beautiful your stay before they decide to booked the suite or villa, next stay you must try our one bedroom villa which complete with private pool, dining area, outside shower, Ayu and all staff sent big hug and we will glad to serve you again in the soonest time.

Cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed 11 days at the Kamuela Sanur. This was our first attempt to book on line and we were a little worried. No need. Our suite was spacious and very clean, the bed and pillows very comfortable. The staff were always smiling and happy to help us in any way. The cool drink on arrival was very welcome. The pool was great and the complimentary afternoon tea was a nice touch. The restaurant Caramel, was situated by the pool, a lovely setting. The meals were delicious and I was well catered for being a vegetarian. Breakfast, which was included, was also great. A special mention to Puspa and Kariani , Adi and Agung, who were so helpful and obliging.
Their local knowledge was invaluable.
We are looking forward to returning to Bali and we know where we will be staying for another relaxing holiday as the Kamuela is central to everything, beaches, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Stuart,

Thank you very much for your stay and great review regarding our suite room, then very happy to know our staff serve you with well, will be glad to serve you again in the soonest time.

Cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The front desk staff welcomed us nicely upon our arrival. Nice small garden and clean swimming pool behind the restaurant. We stayed in villa with a private pool. When we opened the traditional wooden door, we felt love it. The kitchen is spacious, near to private pool. Clean and big bathroom, too. Great! Overall, Kamuela offers great place to stay and yummy food.
Definitely will come back to Kamuela.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Ej Bajay,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and then your great review regarding your stay, happy to know you enjoyed your stay our one bedroom pool villa, will be glad to serve you again in the soonest time.

Cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I didn't stay at this property, but used their spa most days while I was in Sanur. The spa was tranquil, semi-open to the outside and well equipped with 2 treatment rooms. I had a lomi-lomi massage and out of all the treatments I'd had during my 16 days in Bali, this therapist was the first to put me in the zone. I immediately booked another lomi-lomi massage in a couple of days time which turned out to be a different therapist and therefore a different experience - not as good as the first. I also had a 2 hour pamper-treat which included a one hour facial - that turned out to be slightly disappointing - a lot of time spent lying on the table with product on my face and the therapist out of the room - she could have been doing my feet or hands or scalp while the facial product was drying - didn't feel like good value for money.
Overall, I thought the spa was very well priced with a Balinese massage costing around $NZ13.00.
Although you can get cheaper massage and body therapies out on the street - the spa offers a quiet, cool, relaxing atmosphere with trained professional therapists and for me, being able to walk right next door to my hotel was a bonus.
We checked out the rooms at this hotel and it will be on our priority list for our next visit to Sanur, although I did notice that the pool loungers start to get packed away around 3pm when the area turns into restaurant tables for afternoon tea/evening dining!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Margy,

Thank you very much for your best review regarding our AUM spa, very glad to know you enjoyed it much, next time visit to Bali you must try stay with us, we have one bed room villa complete with private pool and huge suite room complete with Jacuzzi, will be glad to serve you in the soonest time.

cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is our fourth time in Bali and third visit to Kamuela Sanur. Last time we came to Bali we tried other locations and it ultimately didn't meet our expectations, so this time we wanted to come back to something that was familiar.

We stayed in Villa 2 for 8 days and felt instantly relaxed and at home when we arrived; all the things we'd loved about Kamuela were still there, right down to many of the staff who had looked after us so well previously, including Weti. The restaurant and food is pretty good, drinks are ok, service is wonderful, ambience of the property is great, spa is pretty good (more on that later) and the villa, room and pool were lovely. We also noticed that Sanur itself is looking cleaner and tidier all around, as are many parts of Bali.

Some of the things we didn't like so well were out of the control of Kamuela, but worth mentioning. The biggest thing was the noise - something we'd experienced during our last stay when we were on the opposite side of the property. We had mating cats screeching all hours of the night and the constant noise of large motorbikes going up and down the drive beside our room all night (apparently the shift workers from the hotel next door) - luckily I travel with ear plugs, but still had some restless nights sleep. During the day we had kids in the villa next door screaming while jumping in the pool and kids at the restaurant and mail pool area during the day and evening when we were trying to have dinner. I understand that not all these families were actually staying at the resort, which made it very difficult and uncomfortable for the staff when guests complained about the noise and disruption - after all, we come to a small property like Kamuela to relax, not deal with noisy visitors. I also noticed that there was a phone ringing in either a villa next door or the spa nearly all day - not a big deal, but the constant noise was annoying.

I had a couple of lovely and relaxing massages at the Spa and they were very well done. I added a facial to the second one to make a package that was meant to last two hours and didn't enjoy it. A regular facial cannot reasonably be extended to last an hour - I spend quite a bit of time just lying on the table waiting for someone to come back and it was annoying and uncomfortable. Also, having my face pulled all around the place like it was made of rubber was neither relaxing nor therapeutic (and doesn't help keep the wrinkles at bay!), it was just uncomfortable. I will stick with massages in future - it really was lovely.

In addition to eating at the restaurant, we had a BBQ at our villa on our last night and that was lovely. The only other thing we really did was a car trip into Jimbaran with a driver from Kamuela that was also interesting. Otherwise, it was really all about relaxing by the pool.

Overall, it was a great experience and Kamuela benefited from our getting other comparisons to less enjoyable places last time. They still need to do a bit of painting and maintenance to keep the place looking good, but their excellent and loyal staff, great service and lovely property mean that we will come back when we can. If they added a Fitness Room (even a small one somewhere) this place would be perfect!

Another note about the new airport; it's larger and prettier, but less efficient than ever. They are now bringing in huge numbers of tourists because they can accommodate more planes, so the wait times are totally ridiculous, coming in and out. Be prepared for a long, impractical and frustrating experience at the new 'improved' airport.

Room Tip: The single room pool villas are all configured slightly differently, with some getting more sun by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Sarah,

Thank you very much for your third stay with us and treat Kamuela Sanur as your Bali home and all staff here as your family, apologize for some annoying situation during your stay, very appreciate you understand this beyond our expectation due to the noisy happen in our neighbor hotel, many time I already do negotiable with them and asking for more respect to neighbor, but some time this hard situation still happen, thank you again for your kind understand and will be glad to meet and serve you again in the soonest time.

cheerss

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We booked some months before we arrived and the contact from the hotel throughout was excellent! I would strongly recommend booking direct with the hotel and they beat all other internet agency prices.
We stayed in villa 4 for 10 nights, the villa was stunning! The pool and kitchen area is great and the bathroom with the outdoor shower is perfect!
The staff were present, attentive and faultless! The location makes it easy to get anywhere from the beach to bars & restaurants.

We had room service on several occasions and the food was great and well priced.

We used the hotel transfer service to get to and from the airport which was comfortable and relaxing after lots of travelling?

The only negative part was the breakfast, well presented upon request daily, however 1 thing was always wrong or cooked differently to the previous day. Poached eggs were ordered every day and one day amazing the next inedible.
Overall amazing and we will return! Great value for money!
Tips,
Get the villa it's worth it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel1982D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela S, General Manager at Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Daniel,

Thank you very much for your great review during your stay and very happy to know you enjoyed it and our staff serve you with well, your suggestion regarding breakfast will be very usefully for us to improve our service in the future, will be glad to serve you again in the soonest time.

Cheers

Rihendra Putra
sanurvm@kamuelavillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
2,149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.3 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur

Property: Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur
Address: Jl. Cemara no. 33, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamuela Sanur, formerly known as Aston Legend Sanur, is nestled in peacefully quiet Sanur, featuring six private villas with one, two and three bedrooms set in immaculate walled gardens. Each villas has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge area with a gourmet kitchen, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamuela Villas and Suite Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamuela Sanur Hotel Sanur
Aston Sanur
Sanur Aston
Kamuela Villas And Suite Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing