We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Pondok Ayu for 8 nights in June, first time stayed in Sanur we normally stay in kuta but will be back at Pondok next yr .. Loved the staff very friendly and would do anything for you..
Rooms were nice and clean and was great just sitting there watching kids swim in the pool...
Loved also having massage by the pool.
Thanks again to all the lovely staff at Pondok ayu ...

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

This place is wonderful. We had a week staying in the suite- fantastic value, the staff are very good. Going out to sanur in the evening was easy, a lift was provided by the hotel to get into sanur and a taxi back was easy and never cost more than about £1.50.

The only thing that I would add is that to get into sanur from the hotel ( and get to the beach) a very busy bypass has to be crossed. It was never an issue for us but if you are new to Indonesian traffic then it will be an eye opener!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Another wonderful stay. The rooms are spotless and the staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble. We love the communal dining table for breakfast as you get to talk to the other guests and get ideas of what or where is good or not. It makes your stay very personalised. We had no trouble with 2 kids crossing the bypass and wont stay anywhere else. It is a home away from home. The pool and surrunding gardens are tended to daily. Thanks to Gede, Made, Putu, Kadek, Wyann and Noongar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmmaJperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed in Pondok Ayu and would go back tomorrow! Clean and friendly, small boutique style. Very reasonably priced. Communal breakfast area where you can exchange stories and get/give advise to others on Bali. Lovely pool area very clean and cared for. The only negative would be that you have to cross a busy busy road to get to the beach. But this does mean it's very quiet at night.

Room Tip: try little bird cafe - cheap and amazing food in Sanur itself about a 10 minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a beautiful 10 days at this wonderful small boutique hotel. So pleasant, clean and comfortable with fabulous staff and service. Very reasonably priced. We took our 8 year old daughter and went with another family with two kids, what a perfect setup! The kids could splash around in the small pool while the parents lounged around. The rooms were a good size and very pleasant and clean. Not right on the beach but a pleasant walk through the suburb, past assorted shops and restaurants. So much nicer than busy Kuta/Legian. We will definately be back. Thanks to Gede, Made and staff for your wonderful service and hospitality. Lisa x

Room Tip: The large villa (with family room) is a little more but would be worth it for a bigger family or tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paramau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Excellent choice for a stay in Sanur. Large rooms. Excellent service. We loved the communal breakfast area. Gives you a chance to communicate w/ other hotel guests.
Hard to get a reservation since it is a small hotel but I felt that the staff went out of there way to make it happen. Thanks to them for that.
The hotel is a little out of the way from the commercial area which has some advantages (quiet nights) and some inconvenience (having to cross the by-pass road being the worse)
I would also recommend Sanur to any Bali visitor. cool vibe here. Not as frantic as Kuta or Seminyak but more soulful than Nusa Dua. Good food, excellent shopping. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in Sanur. Stay At Pondok Ayu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThierryRoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We chose to stay at Pondok Ayu after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Needless to say we weren't disappointed! It is only a small hotel, however that means the staff have more time to dedicate to looking after the guests.

The rooms themselves are exceptionally clean and well serviced and equipped with everything you could require. The pool area was a private little oasis in the Sanur suburbs, much better than trying to swim in the surf.

Breakfast each day was delicious, and actually filled me up! Great selection, and enjoyed the company and conversation of the other morning guests

It is a little away from the beach/main shopping stretch, however we loved that. By arrangement with Gede or staff you could get a lift, but we enjoyed the walk. We did however line up some trips for dinner and eventually to the airport. It was the final stop on our holiday, and we couldn't have wished for any more.

We can honestly say that we will be back :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KecilScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.4 mi away
Prime Plaza Suites Sanur - Bali (Formally Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Samata
The Samata
#4 of 79 in Sanur
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 6 (2011-2017) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur
Pondok Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing