We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and we were very comfortable.The room is very clean and in a cozy setting. The bed is particularly good. The staff at check-in and those involved in room service are excellent and friendly. The Indonesian breakfast was very good. The hotel was also well located, not too far from the beach. We had a great and relaxing time at Pondok Ayu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Pondok Ayu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Pondok Ayu was our last hotel before returning home and it wasnt the cheapest or the most expensive place during our stay but it was by far the most homely and relaxed place we stayed. It felt incredibly easy and intimate and it was so lovely to get to know the friendly staff and the other guests. Our two year old daughter loved finding the vegemite at the breakfast table after two weeks of not seeing it anywhere!! The grounds are beautifully kept and the suite was huge and very clean. I doubt you could get better value anywhere else.
Barb helped us out with an issue we had at the airport and this goes to show that the service goes beyond ones expectations and for this reason you feel more like part of a family rather than a tourist in Bali.
Thankyou All at Pondok Ayu. we will return longer next time.
Rebecca Tony and Amber

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in August on my own after spending a week in Ubud. it was a lovely place to relax and laze around the pool. All the staff were very helpful and charming. The accomodation is very spacious and clean and it seemed like I was having a luxury break at an affordable price. I selected this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and was very pleased with it, booking was very straightforward and prompt via email with the owner. If I decided to go back to Sanur I would definately stay here again as I couldn,t fault it. The breakfasts were good and it was nice to meet other guests and though it is not right in the centre it is not too far to walk down to where all the shops and restaurants are, also you can order food from the staff and there is a stocked fridge which was very reasonably priced. Very happy with my short stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyjane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we were so happy with the fantastic service and more than luxury rooms .large and so comfortable-the staff are so helpful and so very efficient ,all you have to do is request and its done -so good have been back one day and have already booked for next year,prices more than reasonable- we had a great time cant say enough about the friendly atmosphere- all so easy
fantastic

Room Tip: all rooms are good , no noise ,all have fridge a/c and comfort to the 10th degree
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dyral m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just got back from 10 days at Pondok Ayu. Made and Gede and all the staff are warm, friendly, happy and are a strong part of the Pondok family who provide a very personal service to their guests. Breakfast each morning was beautiful with the opportunity to catch up with other guests and chat about shopping, attractions and local restaurants. The pool was well maintained and many a day was spent lazing by the pool with a good book. Our room was great and we spent the last night in the villa which made our trip even more special. Prior to leaving every staff member came and saw us individually to say goodbye and wish us well. This truly demonstrated the kindness of the staff and the pride they have in their work. Barbara made the bookinig process easy and was ready to answer any questions I had prior to leaving Australia. My next email is to Barbara to book for next year. See you all next year

Room Tip: Room 4 was pefect but nothing would beat the villa if you can get it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Longy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stumbled across Pondok Ayu by mistake on Trip Advisor when looking for something a little different, read the reviews and thought WOW we need to try this place, so after inquriy with Barbara who was very quick and easy to deal with we booked for 3 nights as this was all that was available - but 3 nights wa better than none we just had to stay there.

We arrived at the airport and i text Gede (Barbara gave us his number to assist in locating each other which trust me helped!) He promptly replied an we found each other. Lovely airconditioned ride through the craziness of bali that we have come to love, with lovely chats with Gede the driver!

We stayed in one of the two 2nd level rooms which was lovely with aircon, king size bed, roomy bathroom the best room would be one on the groud level, but we are not complaining.

Its hard to put into words what is special about this place, we have been to bali many times and Pondok was Perfect.

There attentitiveness of every single staff member was amazing, You have breakfast included and you have this at a dining table where all guests eat if they choose, its nice to chat to others staying there and somthing that you dont get at a bigger establishment. If you needed to be dropped off anywhere Ngangah and Gede were at the ready it was no problem.
I left our washing one morning on the bed in a bag and that afternoon to my surprise it was delievered back all washed and ironed for a very small fee pretty much the same as one of the street laundrys (normal hotels etc charge hugely for this so i must admit i was a little worried)
The pool area is lovely, everything is lovely i could go on and on but i wont all i can say is Try it! Value for money AMAZING!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I enjoyed my return visit to Pondok Ayu, lovely staff, well appointed rooms and relaxing environment. However, one small drawback with this establishment is the lack of a bathroom facility for guests who are required to checkout at 12.00 pm and wait around for hours for their flight home. This happened to me recently, although I had booked over 12 months ago and requested a late checkout as my flight was not leaving until midnight. I understand in the high season rooms are at a premium, but the comfort of guests should also be a priority.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaliHaiBrightonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#2 of 78 in Sanur
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 5 (2011-2016) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur
Pondok Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing