We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pondok Ayu
Nearby Hotels
Segara Village Hotel(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prama Sanur Beach Bali(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudamala Suites & Villas(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Griya Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Sanur(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Bali(Sanur)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kejora Suites(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,000
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
382
45
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
45
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsmanager gedebreakfast tablehome away from homelike coming homefree transportrooms are largesmall hotelhidden awaybusy roadboutique hotelsecond homespent a weekten minute walkthoroughly enjoyed our stayrelaxing holidaypeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I am just finishing (sadly) a one week stay at Pondok Ayu. If what you are seeking is supreme relaxation; bend-over-backwards, personalized service; clean, well-maintained and unpretentious accommodation then this is your place! Pondok Ayu feels like a fully-serviced family holiday house - all the comfort of a family property (except that you don't have to lift a finger!).

Pondok Ayu is a little off the beaten track. Sanur is smaller and less commercial than other Bali destinations, and this is just what makes is so relaxing - you can bliss out by the pool without fretting about 'what you might be missing'.

Pondok Ayu is about a 10 minute walk from the main road of Sanur, and about 15 minutes from the beach. We loved wandering through the neighbourhood, and were glad for the exercise after a breakfast of eggs and pancakes! If we were ever weary, our host Gedde was only too willing to drive us (or a cab was about $1.20USD).

The hotel itself is five rooms (including a deluxe suite) built around a lovely pool and dining area. The hotel is ideal for family and friend groups (4 or 5 couples could book out the whole place). Meals are enjoyed around a communal table seating 10; the best bit is that no shoes (make-up/dresses etc) are required for the restaurant!

The menu is fairly simple (eggs, bacon, fruit, pancakes etc for brekkie; some Indonesian classics and a delicious club sandwich for lunch), which means you can go exploring for dinners. There's also a delicious warung just 5 minutes walk away (Warung Ponjok - must try the Ayam Kejap!).

If you enjoy the impersonal, anonymous service of a large, generic chain hotel, then Pondok Ayu is NOT for you! If you enjoy personal touches, friendliness and a feeling of 'home' then Pondok Ayu is the best by far!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

There is a few bad reviews on this hotel.. Well they are CRAZY! or just snobs!
This hotel is a real family enviroment, perfect for kids or even couples. My Now husband and i stayed there and it was fantastic. We stayed in Kuta for a few days and my hubby and i hated it! Pondok is definately a gem! They may be a small hotel, but its the experience that is great! The staff are the same and know you by name, all of them are willing to help. I got a bad sunburn and they went and brought me some cream! what hotel would do that?? They offered to get a doctor (which i declined).

Dont go there if you want to stay in a snobby la de dah hotel and be a number. Stay here is you want to be comfortable and experience a villa style holiday with great people.

Comments on some bad reviews left:

Not huge pool ???
OH my some people are nuts! - There is only a few units not a multi story hotel with 100's of people trying to find a spot in the sardine can! The pool is right out side the door of your room. No you want fall in there is a little garden inbetween with lawn for kids to play. But no tracking in a lift down to the pool to find there is too many people in there.

Dinner and Breaky table 8 setting???
UMMM did they not talk to anyone? (Geeez...explains alot about them, most likely those types that want talk to the "help") well there is no set breakky time. so go down when your ready. Want something different tell them and they will make it. I even brought some food from the shop and they made it up like a 5 star resturant! The table over looks the pool area out side. Unlike these hotels that stick you into a stuffy hot dining room to eat with
everyone else. On a set menu that usually is more for the Asian culture to eat. NO THANKS!


The hotel is set away from the husstle and busstle down a lane way - however we walk quite easy with kids (under 5) to the beach markets no probs. I suppose it depends on how lazy you are on holidays. Its a easy walk and its even easy for wheel chairs! so its not that bad, If you know bali traffic you know how to cross a road!
Been set away from the roads its very quiet and easy to relax. No constant beeping!! Sleep by the pool and not have to worry about some tourist walking through to short cut to the roads! No one else comes to the hotel so its safe and quiet!

the driver is free you just need to arrange him. there are only a few other guests in there so chances are there wont be a problem. If you text him he will even come pick you up.

TALK TO THE STAFF - they are so helpfull and english is perfect! they will; make your trip there feel awsome! They can help you with tourist information and culture. They orginise massages by the pool or in your room, You have access to a kitchen 24/7.

Room Tip: make sure you let them know you have kids as they may put you in the suite thats bigger. Costs a bit more but is worth it if you have kids, plus it has a spa for the adults.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

just spent 2 weeks with friends at pondok ayu ,very comfortable and so so friendly all our needs were met imediately with no hassles, food good, pool fantastic right on the door step ,only 5 rooms so not a lot of people to cope with always have a lounge by the pool , in house massage,manicure
and pedicure all avail and at a good price ,no skimping on luxury bath rooms are a dream, cleaned every day and spotless, bed sheets changed every day,air conditioning very modern [ have been to bali and have found some places have no hot eater or good ac]lots of hot water towels changed daily ,the driver ia adream he will drop off and pick up in sanur area ,so convienient
have already booked for next year and we will be agroup of 10
i have no reservations in telling all that the pondok ayu is a great experience in comfort and joy

Room Tip: have no tips as all taken care of all rooms are great good ac ,tv dvd all you c ould want
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyral m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a wonderful place to say. It's hard to know where to start - this small hotel is nothing short of amazing. We stayed 5 nights in the Suite, beautiful and spacious with everything you could wish for in comfort. The staff at this place are the icing on the cake - beautiful, gentle people who can't do enough for you, and always with a smile. Gede, Made, and the rest of the staff take this place to another level.
It was lovely to meet fellow guests from other countries around the breakfast table each morning - very relaxed and just like home. There
are limited Lunch & Dinner options for the days you don't want to leave the comfort of Pondok Ayu. 6 Stars!! We hope to return next year [if there's a room!]

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

First time at Pondok Ayu, we had high expectations on arrival after reading all the positive feedback online and it exceeded our expectations. Traveling with two children, the suite was awesome, lots of room, stunning marble floors and a great place to relax. Although the Pondok is very nice the staff make it. They are very warm and helpful and make you feel part of the Pondok family. Would have to be the best accommodation I have stayed at in Sanur and although on the other side of the by pass is still only 10 - 15 mins walk to the heart of Sanur and if you don't feel like walking their friendly Driver will drop you off and pick you up. Couldn't fault the Pondok at all and is a credit to the staff and owners. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews