We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We are a family of four. Two adults and two children(3 and 5 years old).
We stayed at Pondok ayu for 6nights in december 2013, and are so happy with our stay.
Friendly and servicminded staff. Very nice and clean rooms and pool was perfect for us.
Brekfast was also also great and lunchmenu had meny options to a nice price.
Massage and driving service was also excellent.
Thanks for a very nice stay, Ola, Astrid, Kristian and Linda from Norway

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
176
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked Pondok Ayu due to it's reviews, size and cost. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back. We stayed all in the same room with our two boys aged 3 and 5, at first we were a little unsure of this, but the boys were so tired at the end of each day, they crashed into bed whilst we sat outside with a drink. Getting into Sanur was easy, as there was nearly always a driver on hand to take you in, if not a taxi was called. I felt very safe here, and my boys were happy to play in the alley and say hello to the local children passing for school each morning and afternoon. It is a real little haven in the craziness of Bali. All the staff were very friendly and the rooms were immaculate. The cost of beer and soft drinks and laundry was exceptionally reasonable compared to other places we stayed too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnawertheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

In oktober 2013 we stayed at Pondok Ayu for 8 days. This was our first time here and it will certainly not be the last. The warm welcome was just the begin of a great time. The appartement was comfortable and very clean. The friendly and helpfull staff made us feel at home. Delicious breakfast every morning and Made makes the best fried noodles we ever had. Thank you Gede, Made and the rest of the staff for our great stay at this little paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here with our 3 kids, we were all in the same room and there was enough room for us to feel very comfortable with the kids catered for with roll out bed and a mattress on the floor. The staff are really welcoming and helpful and our kids had a great time interacting with staff and other guests. It was especially special for our daughter who turned 13 while we were staying and staff and guests gave her a cake - great memories for her.

I was concerned we wouldn't get a room when I booked 6 months earlier due to the number 1 position on TA - always give them a try as they do get cancellations. Thanks everyone at Pondok Ayu for such a great experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank daveloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Previous reviewers have said enough to justify the #1 rating of this lovely little establishment. I think we can solidify it.
Our flight was changed about one month before coming to Bali, resulting in us having to come a day earlier. Naturally, Pondok Ayu was fully booked so we couldn't stay there on our new arrival day. Would you believe that the manager Gede came to pick us up at the airport, delivered us to another hotel, and picked us up there the next day! How can you beat that level of service!
If you want to stay in a comfortable little inn in paradise, away from the tourist crowd, and receive tremendous personalized service, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb_Bennett, Owner at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you, it was our pleasure to make your arrival in Bali pleasant & relaxing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is our fourth trip back to beautiful Pondok Ayu! We have stayed at many other small hotels but
None compare to this fantastic little gem. Rooms are spotless and spacious. Breakfast & the lovely meals are second to none. The staff are amazing you really feel like your part of the family.
Thank you Gede, Made, Putu, kadeck , Wyan & Ketut for a lovely holiday.
Janine & Steve
Perth
WA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If its peace and quite, 100% cleanliness, luxury with a homely touch of décor, and friendly service you are after, this is for you. Linen changed EVERY day...now that is amazing. Great breakfast served in the dining room and good food at their restaurant by the beach. Transport arranged to go to the beach if the walk is too much for you. We are so thrilled to have tried out Pondok and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We had the suite, which made us feel like royality. But will probably opt f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The Millers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 5 (2011-2016) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur
Pondok Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing